Topic Title: catalyst fails to load
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/12/2013 09:52 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/12/2013 09:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
scully
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/12/2013

I updated my driver to to the beta, to do this i was told to start the pc in safe mode and use the amd removal tool, then re-boot into normal windows and install the new driver.

all went well until after the install and it asked for a re-start, which i did.

the pc failed to reboot after then, it kept flashing a blue screen and i was forced to restore my system from an older restore point. 

since then i cannot get into the catalyst panel, it just fails to appear. 

its a 6700 1 gig hd card and the current driver is 12.104.0.0

its win 7 home with 4 gig of ddr3. should i uninstall the software or just reinstall the software over the top?

 09/12/2013 08:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: scully i was told to start the pc in safe mode and use the amd removal tool

Whoever suggested that, find them and slap them in the face. Then try to fix the mess. If nothing helps, an OS reinstall will.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 09/13/2013 08:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
scully
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/12/2013

yes i have slapped them lol, was it wrong to use the amd removal tool? i have managed to restore my system and i downloaded the latest version (not beta) and used that to uninstall, then i restarted and re-installed. it seems to be working now!

was it because i did it in safe mode or was it the amd removal tool that caused the problem?

 09/13/2013 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

I wouldn't use it even if it's official, unless I have no other choice. I'd never run it in safe mode, that's a bit too close to suicide. System file protection is not running then and some of the AMD driver files are protected system files coming with the OS. Remove them and probably some registry entries too, and your system is broken.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 09/13/2013 09:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
scully
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/12/2013

ok now i have an issue with teh overdrive function!! WTF! amd suck! your software is crap! i click the overdrive software and accept the terms and it dissapears all together!! no options or clock displays? now my fan is stuck at the speed i set it and i cant change it!! AAAAAUGH!!! do i have to reinstall this crap again?????

 09/14/2013 10:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

I'd reinstall the OS at this point and avoid using driver cleaners in the future.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
84140 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.