Topic Title: Report to AMD Developers !
Topic Summary: regarding OpenGL driver fail
Created On: 09/18/2013 12:05 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/18/2013 12:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
12oad
Peon

Posts: 17
Joined: 09/17/2013

Issue Details: Recent Graphics drivers seem to be incompatible with OpenGL v.1 & v.2, not sure about v.3. Running any openGL application will cause massive CPU load along idle GPU, in worst cases - crashes,errors,etc. However applications with OpenGL v.4, not sure about v.3 .. are running GPU based, fine and smooth. Old versions of OpenGL dont even trigger the Core/Memory Clocks, they stay default in x16 v.1.0. mode.  

pictures of furmark openGL test:

http://imageshack.com/scaled/800x600/27/76w5.jpg

http://imageshack.com/scaled/800x600/138/ksa4.jpg

http://imageshack.com/scaled/800x600/405/gn9w.jpg

note: newer versions of OpenGL works fine

_________________________________________________

gpu: 7850hd 2gb, saphire, not overclocked.

driver: 13.10 beta (9/5/2013). Tryed before 13.4 (5/29/2013), and previous versions

OS: Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1 by Ctrl Soft (NOW). Also tested WinXP x32 Game Edition 2010, WinXP x32 SP2 by ZverCD 2008. I stay with Win7 because i get the best performance overall

My Settings: Vsync,TrippleBuf,AA,AF,PostProcess - ALL OFF. The game itself has a configuration, that's configured by me for optimal performance.

Motherboard: Biostar A960A3+ ATX  

 small notice: mobo has pci-e x16 v.2.0, but the card is pci-e x16 v.3.0

http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/mb/introduction.php?S_ID=575#dl

PowerSupply: Xilence XP580 , 580w

 http://comp.md/ru/psu-xilence-xp580-12-r3.html

Display Device: Dell P1130, 20" CRT, max refresh rate 160hz

Application & Games: Cryzis 2,3 , Risen2, Path of Exile,Witcher2 etc ..were running at High/Ultra without issues,very smooth. But OpenGL games like QuakeLive or Quake3Arena have horrible performance

CPU: AMD FX-4100 Quad Core , 3.60ghz. Not overclocked.

Motherboard Bios version: default,from instalation disc that came with MB

System Memory Type: 1x4gb DDR3, 1600mhz

Additional Hardware: sata II HDD 80 gb,onboard sound and lan, newest drivers.. Average person's hardware...

Additional Details: No viruses because installed a fresh Windows on a formatted hard drive. DPC Latency shows without any yellow/red spikes 100-150microseconds as it should in win7. BiOS is loaded at optimal settings(default)



Edited: 09/18/2013 at 01:38 PM by 12oad
 09/18/2013 03:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

The OpenGL drivers have been problematic for about 1,5 years. The best workaround we use is copying the atioglxx.dll file from Catalyst 12.1 to the application directory of those programs that have issues (e.g. Neverwinter Nights).

However, 12.1 doesn't seem to support your card, it's too new, so you're a bit out of luck here. (You can try it though, the worst that can happen is that it won't work.)

I suggest you report the issue to AMD (posting on the community forum isn't that), and tell all your friends with the same problem to do the same.

Issue reporting form here.

Beta issue reporting form here.

Provide as much information as you can when filling out the forms. Don't expect an answer, it doesn't work that way. If you need that, contact AMD Customer Care directly. There's a Contact AMD link on the botton of each AMD webpage, and you can find additional information in the stickies.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 09/18/2013 04:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
12oad
Peon

Posts: 17
Joined: 09/17/2013

Eydee , thank you . I've noticed a lot of "openGL issue threads" around AMD Forum. Will i get banned if i quote your message and post it in every "opengl issue thread" in order to make more people to Report issue ?

 09/18/2013 05:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: 12oad Eydee , thank you . I've noticed a lot of "openGL issue threads" around AMD Forum. Will i get banned if i quote your message and post it in every "opengl issue thread" in order to make more people to Report issue ?

 

It would be spam, so yeah, it would be worth of at least a big warning.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 09/25/2013 06:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
12oad
Peon

Posts: 17
Joined: 09/17/2013

They actually replied to my report in mail form, and told me that i didnt update my windows, thats why i have troubles ))) mkay.. i will update it just for fun,to see what will they answer then =)

-

I was thinking of alternative to 7850hd from Nvidia side, f.e.: GTX 480 , but the power consumption is 100w bigger :/ ..otherwise i'd change my 7850hd for GTX 480 



Edited: 09/25/2013 at 06:41 AM by 12oad
 09/25/2013 09:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xaon
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/25/2013

Hello,

 

I'm French and I use Google translation.

 

Catalyst: 12.9 + 12.10

 

I have the same problem with a HD7850 2GB (factory overclocked) on RollerCoaster Tycoon 3.

 

It is unplayable, earthquake pictures, saccade

 

PC formatted twice to test.

 

No problem: Catalyst 13.4

 09/25/2013 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
12oad
Peon

Posts: 17
Joined: 09/17/2013

So i installed the famous 13.1 driver for 7850 hd wich was supposed to solve the problem... Nope, didnt solve nothing. Great :')

 09/25/2013 05:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: 12oad So i installed the famous 13.1 driver for 7850 hd wich was supposed to solve the problem... Nope, didnt solve nothing. Great :')

 

I said 12.1, not 13.1. And only using that single file. It also doesn't support your card, so try it at your own risk.

I suggest going the route the tech guys said. Update windows and then install 13.10. See if it works then.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
85378 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.