Topic Title: Catalyst Control Center
Topic Summary: Catalyst Control Center fails to open
Created On: 09/21/2013 05:46 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/21/2013 05:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mustang56
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/20/2013

After trying to install 13.9 my catalyst control center fails to open in windows. OS WIN 7 PRO 64 any ideas what could cause this.
 09/21/2013 05:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Depending on what version you came from you needed to have .Netframe 4.5 installed before using any of 13.x CCC packages.

But you didn't supply the requested info found in Sticky Read Before Posting.

Thanks



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 09/22/2013 06:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mustang56
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/20/2013

.Netframe4.5 is installed. Was using AMD 13.4 before updating to 13.9. windows 7 pro 64 bit, intel I-3570K OC to 3.9 ghz, amd powercolor 7870 1000mhz 16 gb ram gigabyte ga z77 hd3 mobo 800w psu ccc.13.9
 09/22/2013 06:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

You will need to un-install CCC 13.9 and try re-install 13.4 to back to a version that works. An option would be to try 13.9 again, but in most cases unless you need a fix found there then stay with what works. The 13.4 was a stable good release.

Follow the instruction laid out in these docs.

Un-install:

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/GPU57RemoveOldGraphicsDrivers.aspx#Win8

Install:

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/InstallCatalystDriversForWindows.aspx



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 09/22/2013 06:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mustang56
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/20/2013

Will give it a try, thanks
 09/22/2013 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mustang56
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/20/2013

Did exactly as instructed to uninstall then reinstalled 13.4. CCC still wont open. I get the box with do you want ccc.exe to make changes to this computer. I click yes then i click on catalyst control center and get nothing. My cursor and a small circle that is spinning around is all that happens.
 09/22/2013 09:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

So you un-installed via control panel and ran that driver sweeper.

What version of driver for the video card does Device Mgr say you have installed. If you have GPU-Z what CCC package does it say for Driver Package.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 09/22/2013 09:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mustang56
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/20/2013

Sorry to ask this but what would it be under? I am not computer savy if you get my drift
 09/22/2013 10:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mustang56
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/20/2013

Found it -driver version is 12.104.0.0  not sure about other stuff cant find anything that says GPU-Z or CCC pkg or Driver pkg. Found driver version in Device Mgr under Display adapters AMD Radeon 7800 series. Hope this helps.



Edited: 09/22/2013 at 10:37 PM by mustang56
 09/22/2013 10:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Download GPU-Z from here.

http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2265/techpowerup-gpu-z-v0-7-3/

 

Once you install it, launch it and  the front panel will have a Column down the left side labeled Driver Version. Should have something like:

atiumdag 13.152.0.0(Catalyst 13.9) / Win8 64

Let me what your value is.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 09/22/2013 10:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mustang56
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/20/2013

Sorry it took so long. It says atiumdag-12.104.0.0 catalyst 13.4 / win 7 64
 09/22/2013 11:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Well 12.104.0.0 is the driver for Catalyst 13.4.

The description of your problem does sound like .NetFrame 4.5 is not there, but you said it is. I will PM someone to take a look at this. So hold on, it maybe tomorrow before he replies. So check back, sorry but this don't make sense.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 09/23/2013 04:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4865
Joined: 12/27/2008

This is a very strange issue that happens to some users, but none has been able to find an exact solution that works for everyone so far. Well, there is one 100% solution, reinstalling the OS, but that's probably something people don't want to do.

Try the following method:

1. Reboot the computer.

2. Open Control Panel -> Programs and Features and locate the Catalyst Install manager. Double click it and select express uninstall all AMD software.

3. Reboot.

4. Download the official AMD Uninstall Utility. Run it and clean what remains.

5. Reboot to safe mode.

6. Use Driver sweeper/cleaner/fusion to clean whatever remains. You may use more of these programs after one another. (Note: This is a process that can harm your OS and is not recommended on a system that works fine. However, the alternative solution is reinstalling the OS, so you can do it without risking much.)

7. Reboot to normal mode.

8. Open My Computer and take a look at C:\Program Files and C:\Program Files (x86). If you find any folders with the name ATi or AMD, delete them, except if they belong to an unrealted program (Like AMD Overdrive, which is a separe install.)

9. Reboot again.

10. Download the .NET 4.5 installer and run it. If you already have .NET 4.5 installed, it will offer to repair it. Choose repair and let it run. If you don't have it, just let it install.

11. Reboot again.

12. Open Windows Update and manually check for updates. Install everything .NET related and generic windows updates you may not have. Don't forget the optional downloads section. Get .NET updates from there as well.

13. Reboot.

14. Repeat 12-13 until you have no more .NET related or generic windows updates available. Then reboot once more.

15. Download and install Catalyst 13.10 (or 13.9 if you really need that WHQL sig). Use custom install and make sure you have the display drivers and CCC listed as installable components. If not, stop here, and come back with a screenshot.

16. After the installation completed, reboot once more.

17. You're done. You have a good chance that CCC will work now.

18. If CCC still doesn't work, get your phone, call your geek frend, and ask them to come over and help you reinstalling the OS. Buy them a beer or whatever they like.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 09/23/2013 08:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mustang56
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/20/2013

Thanks to all who replied. Catalyst control is now working fine. Microsoft techs were able to fix. .NETframework was corrupt. They were able to install catalyst 13.9 and update all my drivers, chipsets, etc. Flight Simulator X Gold works great now.
 09/23/2013 11:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4865
Joined: 12/27/2008

Could you tell us what exactly MS techs asked you to do? We could use the information next time someone with a similar issue comes here for help.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 09/24/2013 05:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mustang56
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/20/2013

First off, FSX crashed at start up 13.9 doesnt work with caatalyst 13.9. I was under the assuption that everything was fine, sorry. Had to completely uninstall FSX , catalyst 13.9 , and repair the .NETframework 4.5. Then reinstalled FSX wich worked fine without any catalyst installed but reinstalled 13.4 to see if it would work and it did. FSX works fine with 13.4 not with 13.9. MS Techs did all the work. They took over remotely and fixed my windows update and the .NETframework. I then had to repair .NETframework again once i found out 13.9 screwed it up again. Will not put 13.9 on my system.
 09/24/2013 05:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4865
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: mustang56 They took over remotely

OK, this is a solution I won't ever suggest here. People can do it, if they want to.

I'd reinstall the system myself 1000 times before giving remote access to MS.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 09/24/2013 08:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mustang56
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/20/2013

Yes, I agree but my system was showing multiple error msgs and since I am not computer savy I would rather have some one else work on it. But thats just me.
 09/25/2013 11:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lestat II
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/05/2010

Originally posted by: Eydee This is a very strange issue that happens to some users, but none has been able to find an exact solution that works for everyone so far. Well, there is one 100% solution, reinstalling the OS, but that's probably something people don't want to do.

Try the following method:...

 

I followed this to the T... of course stopping at step 17 as I am my own PC tech.

I am trying to avoid a reinstallation as I do not really have the time to do so...

I did report the issue to AMD and hope to receive a helpful response soon.

Thanks for the advice Eydee. I'll try to remember to post the solution if I find one, until then I'm rolling back to a driver that works (12.4, 3 or 1) I can't remember which.

PC Specs:

CPU: AMD Phenom X4 9850 Black Edition

MoBo: ASUS M4A79 Deluxe

Memory: 2x Kingston HyperX T1 Series KHX8500D2T1K2/4G

PSU: OCZ OCZ600MSXP 600W Modular

Video Cards: 2x Sapphire Radeon HD 3870 Toxic Edition



-------------------------

"A wise man speaks because he has something to say, a fool speaks because he must say something." -Plato

Statistics
84848 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.