Topic Title: CCC OverDrive Not Taking Effect Until I Open CCC?
Topic Summary: It seems the only way to make the overclock take effect is to open CCC.
Created On: 10/02/2013 02:47 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/02/2013 02:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Caribou007
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 10/02/2013

Running FurMark, the frequencies for my VGA card are reported to be stock.  However, OverDrive is enabled in CCC.  By opening CCC, the frequencies immediately change to the overclocked configuration.

System Information:

Windows 8 32-bit

Sapphire Radeon HD 3850 512MB (AGP)

Catalyst 13.1 Software Suite

System Services Disabled:

AMD External Events Service

AMD Fuel Service

Startup Items Disabled:

CCC

I tried enabling these Services and the startup item, restarting and repeating the test.  And had the same problem.

Are any of these services explicitely needed for CCC OverDrive to automatically apply higher frequencies, or am I looking in the wrong place?

Thanks very much for your help.

 10/04/2013 04:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Caribou007
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 10/02/2013

bump

 10/05/2013 11:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Caribou007
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 10/02/2013

bump

 10/07/2013 05:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Caribou007
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 10/02/2013

bump

 10/08/2013 06:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

You have an unsupported config and you even messed with it.

Solution:

1. Upgrade to Windows 7.

2. Install latest legacy package for your video card.

3. Don't touch services and related stuff.

 

It'll work.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/17/2013 03:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Caribou007
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 10/02/2013

I set the services back to automatic, enabled the startup item, uninstalled all AMD software and reinstalled 13.1.

Still having the same problem.

 10/17/2013 04:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Because the card is still not supported under win8 and will never be. Especially the AGP version.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/17/2013 05:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Caribou007
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 10/02/2013

Thank you for trying to help, but everything you say is wrong.

 10/17/2013 06:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

http://www.anandtech.com/show/5775/amd-hd-2000-hd-3000-hd-4000-gpus-being-moved-to-legacy-status-in-may



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/17/2013 02:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Caribou007
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 10/02/2013

Just because they're on a "legacy" update schedule doesn't mean that they shouldn't work.  Do you want to help me or do you just want to sabotage my thread?  Please have some respect for others who do not have the same hardware as you do- everyone deserves help with their problems, not just you.

 10/21/2013 01:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Caribou007
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 10/02/2013

bump

 10/21/2013 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Don't bump threads, you creep. Seriously. Read the rules, then GTFO.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/21/2013 03:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Caribou007
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 10/02/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee Don't bump threads, you creep. Seriously. Read the rules, then GTFO.

 

Originally posted by: Caribou007
Originally posted by: Eydee
Originally posted by: Caribou007 What's going on, AMD?

 

 

 

Does the word legacy ring a bell?

 

 

 

Seriously. You threw out a lot of money for the tablet OS which you could have spent on a newer video card.

 

 

 

If you didn't, because you're a pirate, that's not AMD's problem.

 

 

 

If you're one of the 0.5% who got it from MSDN/Technet/universtity etc., well, sucks to be you. If you happen to be a developer, you should have plenty of money to upgrade.

 

 

 

 

Are you stalking me now?  Leave me alone you creep!  Seriously.  Do not talk to me again.

 

 

Hey - what did I say?  Do not harass me.  You are going to get yourself banned from this forum.  If someone tells you they don't wish to be bothered by you, in real life or on the internet, you leave them alone immediately.  Stop bothing me.



Edited: 10/21/2013 at 03:59 PM by Caribou007
 10/21/2013 04:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

There is no driver support for the Radeon HD3000 Series (AGP included) on Windows 8.  Therefore, the configuration is not supported.  That's the official AMD message I can offer.

Can the community offer any work-around available?  Maybe.  That's what the forum is for, and with this in mind I am content to leave this thread open for now to see if anyone else has any suggestions or advice.  However, I'm asking you (Caribou007) not to needlessly bump the thread.  It is possible that no one will have any further advice or suggestions for you.  At that point, you need to let it be, or move on to another avenue of support.  For example, another forum.

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 10/21/2013 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Caribou007
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 10/02/2013

Originally posted by: Marc@AMD There is no driver support for the Radeon HD3000 Series (AGP included) on Windows 8.  Therefore, the configuration is not supported.  That's the official AMD message I can offer. Can the community offer any work-around available?  Maybe.  That's what the forum is for, and with this in mind I am content to leave this thread open for now to see if anyone else has any suggestions or advice.  However, I'm asking you (Caribou007) not to needlessly bump the thread.  It is possible that no one will have any further advice or suggestions for you.  At that point, you need to let it be, or move on to another avenue of support.  For example, another forum.

 

;Marc

 

 

Hello Marc.  Another forum?  Actually, as per the release notes for Catalyst Software Suite 13.1 and Beta 13.4, Windows 8 is supported.



Edited: 10/21/2013 at 05:00 PM by Caribou007
 10/21/2013 04:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Well I will help you even if you are a little on the rude side. 

Read this and move on.

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/catalystlegacywin8.aspx



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 10/21/2013 05:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Caribou007
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 10/02/2013

Originally posted by: WMudrockJr Well I will help you even if you are a little on the rude side. 

 

Read this and move on.

 

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/catalystlegacywin8.aspx

 

. . . Thanks . . .

I fail to see how I have been rude, especially considering the behavior of others on this forum, specifically Eydee who I had to report twice.

What am I supposed to be reading here on the webpage for the older 12.6 driver?

Do you have any information as to why CCC Overdrive will apparantly sometimes work and sometimes does what I described in my original post?

Another thing I noticed is that CCC reports the frequencies when idle as they should be (lowered significantly), while GPU-Z reports them differently, (as the performance mode).



Edited: 10/21/2013 at 05:12 PM by Caribou007
 10/22/2013 09:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

Originally posted by: Caribou007

Actually, as per the release notes for Catalyst Software Suite 13.1 and Beta 13.4, Windows 8 is supported.




Please clarify.  You have a HD3000 AGP and want to use Windows 8.  Therefore, you need to find a driver that supports that graphics card with your OS.  Right?

Stating that Catalyst 13.1 and 13.4 support Windows8 is only half the battle!  Am I missing something in the release notes?  Double-check.

Catalyst 13.1 Release Notes:
/supports Windows 8, but no where do I read support for HD3000 Series

Catalyst 13.4 Release Notes:
/link currently broken for release notes, but since I published them, I reviewed my hard-copy.  It's the same as 13.1.  It supports Windows 8, but no where do I see HD3000 listed as supported.

Thank you, WMudrockJr, for that link to that other article to help Caribou007.

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.



Edited: 10/22/2013 at 01:19 PM by Marc@AMD
 10/22/2013 01:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Caribou007
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 10/02/2013

Originally posted by: Marc@AMD
Originally posted by: Caribou007

 

Actually, as per the release notes for Catalyst Software Suite 13.1 and Beta 13.4, Windows 8 is supported.

Please clarify.  You have a HD3000 AGP and want to use Windows 8.  Therefore, you need to find a driver that supports that graphics card with your OS.  Right? Stating that Catalyst 13.1 and 13.4 support Windows8 is only half the battle!  Am I missing something in the release notes?  Double-check. Catalyst 13.1 Release Notes: /supports Windows 8, but no where do I read support for HD3000 Series Catalyst 13.4 Release Notes: /link currently broken for release notes, but since I published them, I reviewed my hard-copy.  It's the same as 13.1.  It supports Windows 8, but no where do I see HD3000 listed as supported.

 

Thank you, WMudrockJr, for that link to that other article to help Caribou007.

 

;Marc

 

Well are you responsible for removing the Latest AMD Catalyst™ Drivers for Radeon™ HD4000, HD 3000, and HD 2000 Series link from the AMD Graphics Drivers and Software webpage?  Because the easiest way for me to do what you asked would have been to simply direct you to to that article, where you would have found links to Catalyst Software Suite 13.1 and Beta 13.4, and, the information:

"This article applies to the following configuration(s):

Hardware:

AMD Radeon HD 4000 Series
AMD Radeon HD 3000 Series
AMD Radeon HD 2000 Series
AMD Radeon HD Series AGP
AMD Mobility Radeon HD 4000 Series
AMD Mobility Radeon HD 3000 Series
AMD Mobility Radeon HD 2000 Series"

However, that link is now gone.  And the old url I had saved now redirects to an error page.  So how can we access those resources now- including the Catalyst Software Suites and Hydravision Packages?

As an additional reference, I can refer to this article which is almost exactly the same as the article I previously mentioned, (including having drivers supporting the HD 3000 AGP), except this article has a few differences:

 

  • Instead of having Catalyst Software Suite 13.1 and Beta 13.4, it has a more recent version, 13.9; published a week ago- October 15
  • Although this version is more recent, and it still supports Windows Vista and Windows 7, Windows 8 support is missing from this version, even though it is the more recent OS, (Why release new drivers for legacy hardware and continue to support old OS but drop support for newest OS?)
  • The Helpful Links menu is missing from the upper-right of the article, including the link for Previous Drivers and Software.  This link, had it been present, should direct to a page with all the previous articles containing Catalyst Software Suites and Hydravision Packages for the Radeon HD4000, HD 3000, and HD 2000 Series, including the article that would normally be reached in the Latest AMD Catalyst™ Drivers for Radeon™ HD4000, HD 3000, and HD 2000 Series link, which is now missing from the AMD Graphics Drivers and Software webpage, which I talked about above
So, I hope that my efforts here helped.  But attempting an answer to your question actually brings up many other questions.  Where are the old AMD Catalyst Drivers for Radeon HD4000, HD 3000, and HD 2000 Series Articles?  More importantly, how can we access the Catalyst Software Suites and Hydravision Packages that the articles contained links to?

 

 10/22/2013 03:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

On the back-end of support.amd.com, a recent significant change took place.  I am a part of AMD's Global Customer Care, and we (as one input) are uncovering a number of broken links and issues that need addressing through the support.amd.com portal.  I'll take what you have given, and will pass it along to the right people to investigate. 

I will say that with the changes that took place on the back-end, the plan was to remove a host of old Catalyst Drivers.  Specifically which ones? I don't know. 

Looking at the one of the links you gave:
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop/legacy?product=legacy2&os=Windows+7+-+32

The opening references Linux (!?!), but then below it all seems to refer to Windows.  Don't think that's correct at all.  I got to that page by working through the Driver Selection Drop-Downs for an HD3000 Series PCI-E card on Windows 8 64-bit.  Quite frankly,  it may be a mistake that the drop-downs even offer that as a driver.

Bottom-line: it will take some time for things to get fixed. 

What's the best I can really suggest to you at this point?  I would stick with the driver WMurdrockJr linked to, and don't count on an HD3000 Series (AGP, especially) graphics card functioning well (if at all) on Windows 8.  Also, if a driver is available for it, it will most certainly be offered "As-Is" so any issues you run into, are not supported by AMD.

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

Statistics
84141 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.