Topic Title: Windows restart doesn't work with AMD 7790 and 13.9 catalyst (but ok with 13.4)
Topic Summary: Windows issues with 13.9 catalyst and HD 7790
Created On: 10/03/2013 12:07 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/03/2013 12:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
picturaw
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/03/2013

Issue summary : Windows restart (the Windows reboot function) doesn't work with the AMD 7790 and WHQL Catalyst 13.9. But works fine with the Catalyst 13.4.

 

Hi,

I have some Windows issues with my 7790 AMD and the latest WHQL catalyst 13.9.

Last week I discovered some issues when I decided to restart Windows. After I click restart, Windows closes the session but doesn't restart. The screen stays black and the computer is still running. So I have to push on the reset button to see the computer restarts. This is not systematic but occurs 3 of 4 the cases I decided to restart. If I decide to shutdown there is no problem.

As the windows installation was not too recent I decided to re-install Windows from scratch as I guessed It should resolve this problem. So I reinstall Windows from my Windows 7 SP1 DVD (which is SHA1 ok). I installed the graphic driver (the last WHQL AMD Catalyst 13.9), I rebooted the system. The reboot was ok. But the next restarts were not.

I have restarted the computer half a douzen times and for most of them it didn't restart.

I decided to uninstall the catalyst suite and reinstall the 13.4 one. I restarted the system half a dozen times and every time the restart was successfull.

I then uninstall the catalyst suite and reinstall the 13.9. I restarted the computer 3 times and for all these 3 times there was an issue : windows closes the session, the screen goes black but the computer dosen't restart.

As there is nothing else installed on my computer, I really think that the 13.9 catalyst is problematic with the HD 7790. Does someone else could check this with this card ?




What is plugged to the computer when I experimented the issue :
My PS/2 keyboard, a USB mouse, a monitor on DVI, a Ethernet modem

My computer :
Windows 7 SP1 x64
Asus P8Z68 Deluxe with the latest 3603 bios
Intel 2500K @stock
2x8Gb DDR3 12800 (fine with memtest86+)
AMD HD 7790 @stock (1000/1500)
Crucial M4 SSD with the latest 070H firmware
Seasonic G-series 550

 



Edited: 10/08/2013 at 08:29 PM by picturaw
 11/02/2013 05:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dmax02
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/02/2013

i also experienced this problem after installing amd 13.9 catalyst for my asus HD 7790 OC..

 11/02/2013 07:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7852
Joined: 11/13/2009

This is a peer-to-peer gaming forum. Nobody here can fix your issue. On each driver download page is a "ISSUE REPORT FORM". That goes directly to AMD technical support. So, open the 13.9 driver download page, scroll to the bottom, and fill out the form.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 11/15/2013 09:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bsim500
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/10/2013

Originally posted by: picturaw Issue summary : Windows restart (the Windows reboot function) doesn't work with the AMD 7790 and WHQL Catalyst 13.9. But works fine with the Catalyst 13.4.

Exactly the same here. In fact I've found 13.9 to be filled with bugs using a 7790 card. These include:-

1. If you use the Overdrive feature to OC, it ends up doing the opposite and locking the card in at 300Mhz even under load in some games & benchmarks (eg, Furmark).

2. Random "CCC failed to load" errors when booting up.

3. As you say - randomly just locks up into a black screen when rebooting (but always shuts down when "Shutting Down").

Don't know if anyone else has these, but I've gone back to 13.4 which had none of the above bugs on mine.

 11/15/2013 02:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gruia
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 10/31/2013

we should all try to contact Reviewing sites.

I don't see anohter way to grab AMDs attention

Statistics
88929 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.