Topic Title: Catalyst Control Center not properly switching graphics cards
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/13/2013 08:34 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/13/2013 08:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ryonin
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/12/2013

I bought an Inspiron 15r SE (Inspiron 7520) last month, and it have two video cards, an Intel HD Graphics 4000 and an AMD Radeon HD 7730M. The CCC was suposed to switch graphics cards when a program that needs the Radeon card (and have been properly configured to High Performance mode), but it doesn't happen if have already lauched a program in power saving mode (namely any internet browser). Therefore, I must restart the computer if I want to check my e-mails and then play something. I have CCC version 2012.0806.1156.19437.

What should I do?

BTW, adding a way to permanently switch video cards would be neat...

 10/13/2013 09:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7277
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Ryonin I bought an Inspiron 15r SE (Inspiron 7520) last month, and it have two video cards, an Intel HD Graphics 4000 and an AMD Radeon HD 7730M.  What should I do?

BTW, adding a way to permanently switch video cards would be neat...

AMD has no input as to how your LAPTOP works/performs/functions. Contact your laptop manufacturer for instructions. You must have missed the LAPTOP forum, so search for it and read some of the similar posts there. You could also use the Dell laptop user forum for advice on how to use only the discrete graphics.

 http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=448&flcache=1634213&entercat=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 10/13/2013 07:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Don't bother with laptop forums. The solution is easy. Uninstall your current drivers and install OEM drivers instead. Those are made for your laptop and know how to switch graphics on it.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
86466 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.