Topic Title: Problem with ZeroCore and Logitech SetPoint
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/25/2013 07:20 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/25/2013 07:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PJP
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 09/19/2012

Graphics Card

Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 1GB GDDR5

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
13.9

Operating System
Windows 7 x64 SP1

Issue Details
The graphic card won't enter to the ZeroCore mode unless I do end proccess SetPoint.exe

Motherboard or System Make & Model
Asus P8B75V

Power Supply

Enermax NAXN 450W

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
Samsung P2270

Applications and Games

Logitech SetPoint 6.61.15

CPU Details
Intel Core i3 3220

Motherboard BIOS Version
ASUS BIOS 1501

System Memory Type & Amount
Kingston HyperX Genesis 4GB *2



Edited: 10/25/2013 at 07:32 AM by PJP
 10/25/2013 09:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Looking at some screenshots, it has a fancy appearance, probably it's using some hardware accelerated graphics api (D2D for example) do draw its window and controls. Ergo it does use the GPU.

However, if the issue remains when this application is minimized/hidden, it suggests it doesn't release resources as it should and still holds on to the graphics api (and the GPU) for no reason.

I'd open it with the dependency walker and see what api it uses. Running a profiling on it would give some insight as well. Then I'd have something to contoct Logitech support with.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/25/2013 03:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PJP
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 09/19/2012

It's hidden and I reported it here too:

http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Mice-and-Pointing-Devices/SetPoint-Problem-with-ZeroCore-on-AMD-7-series-graphic-cards/td-p/1115549

Statistics
84257 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.