Topic Title: Catalyst Control Center : Not starting/installing
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/28/2013 01:33 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/28/2013 01:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mr.Compooper
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/28/2013

I had 13.9 full package installed and working fine and was able to use CCC no problem. Then out of the blue one day after a month or so it decides to spit out this message "AMD catalyst control center cannot be started. There are currently no settings that can be configured using AMD Catalyst Control Center". Also it does not show up in the list of installed programs :s

I've tried the following in SafeMode to try and remedy the situation to no avail :

1) Uninstalling CCC software using both CIM and manually with Windows.

2) Deleted all folders pertaining to ATI/AMD in program files, program files (x86) and user sub folders.

3) Deleted remaining software and drivers using both device manager and DDU (Display Driver Uninstaller)

4) Cleaned registry keys using RegCleaner and RegEdit. Then ran a scan + repair using the same software + CCleaner.

5) Deleted leftover driver files from AMD/ATI in C:\Windows\System32\drivers

6) Rebooted in normal mode and reinstalled CCC.

I've also tried reinstalling NetFrameworks (all versions), and Visual C++ Redistributables (all versions). Older versions and the 13.11 beta give the same problem so its not package specific. That public key fix that is often suggested does not apply to me as I never had that key. I'm totally lost and want to make sure I'm not missing anything before I cave in and do a dreaded reinstall. Thanks in advance.

SYSTEM : Radeon 6870 HD, Windows 7 64bit Ultimate ed.



Edited: 10/28/2013 at 01:43 PM by Mr.Compooper
 10/28/2013 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

User error. First you let windows update overwrite your drivers, then you killed your own system with those cleaner utilities. Now you'd just better off reinstalling it or grab processexplorer and processmonitor and also the dependency walker and start debugging. You may find the missing/corrupted registry entries/files in a matter of weeks.

So registering with that user name was useless. You cannot protect software from user stupidity. Ever.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/28/2013 03:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mr.Compooper
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/28/2013

User stupidity? No offence but don't be judgemental, that is what I would consider stupidity. I'm not a complete noob at computers. I did not let Windows override *****, dom't know what you are talking about. The system was already screwed before I used those utilities whch I've used for years without a problem might I add. I thought I might as well try them after attempting to resolve this problem for days. Its easy to bash such software as being bad but its not really. It gives a complete list of all the dll which you can indivdually check for removal. I used it before installing 13.9 and it worked fine. Then something must have happened a month or so down the road and CCC refues to install/launch. Matter of weeks seems a long time, I guess I'll have to reinstall Windows. Thanks for the reply anyway. Oh the last install attempt of the CCC suite gave me some warnings and a log :




 
    -UI
    10/28/13 12:20:40
    install
   
 
 
   
     AMD Radeon Graphics Processor
     Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    
     0x6738
     0x1002
     0x3100
     0x1682
     0x030000
     0x00
   
   
    
     Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    
     0xaa88
     0x1002
     0xaa88
     0x1682
     0x040300
     0x00
   
 
 

    AMD Catalyst Install Manager
   
    8.0.915.0
    20


    AMD Display Driver
   
    13.152.1.8000
    90


    HDMI Audio Driver
   
    7.12.0.7716
    1

 
 

    AMD Catalyst Install Manager
    Succeed
    8.0.915.0
    20


    Microsoft Visual C++ 2012 Redistributable (x86)
    Succeed
    10.0.30319
    9


    AMD Display Driver
    Succeed
    13.152.1.8000
    90


    HDMI Audio Driver
    Succeed
    7.12.0.7716
    1


    Microsoft Visual C++ 2012 Redistributable (x64)
    Succeed
    10.0.30319
    9


    AMD Catalyst Control Center
    Succeed
    2013.1008.932.15229
    150


    Microsoft .NET Framework 4.5
    Succeed
    4.5.50709
    49

 
 
 
 
 
 
    Hardware information
    Existing packages
    Packages for install
    Packages for uninstall
    Other detected devices
    Error messages
    Name
    Manufacturer
    Chip type
    Device ID
    Other hardware
    Download packages
    Success
    Fail
    Vendor ID
    Class Code
    Revision ID
    Subsystem ID
    Subsystem vendor ID
    Catalyst™ Install Manager
    Installation Report
    Final Status:
    Version of Item:
    Size:
    Mbytes



Edited: 10/28/2013 at 03:36 PM by Mr.Compooper
 10/28/2013 03:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Unless you did disable AMD driver updates in Windows Update before you installed the first AMD driver on the system, it is a user error. (Not knowing how a system behaves by default is hazardeous.) Or Microsoft's error. It's a matter of point of view. To be honest using Microsoft products is a serious user error as well. (One I'm guilty in as well.) If only those damn games used something other than directx...

To cut the long story short, it is how I said. The system autodowngraded your drivers, that's why CCC won't work. You probably reinstalled Office or MSE or whatever that forces MS Update on you without asking and turns on all auto updates including drivers... I don't know. Maybe auto updates were enabled already and now they just pushed some new (really: old) version that got higher priority than your already installed drivers.

1. Reinstall windows.

2. Launch windows update, check for updates.

3. Right click on the AMD driver on the list and select hide.

You no longer have to face this issue again. At least until you install another system, that is.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/28/2013 03:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mr.Compooper
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/28/2013

I didn't recently install any Microsoft Software. Windows update is not automatic on my system, I have to manually install everything. After uninstalling the 13.9 drivers, Windows update prompts some 2011 drivers for manual install but I deny them. Not looking forward to half a terabyte  of programs to reinstall but I guess its a good thing to format your computer every once in while anyways. Just frusturating that there is no other way about this. Thanks for the help.

 10/28/2013 05:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

PM sent to you, OP.

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 10/30/2013 01:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
colargol
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/26/2013

Hi all, following Windows update from 8 to 8.1, five HP Pavillion 15-e030-so from our students facing drivers conflicts and not working properly. Case has been investigated with HP, which has no solution though a user group is trying to work with Intel to solve Intel/AMD graphic drivers conflicts after updating to 8.1. Maybe some of your problems are related to the same root cause.

https://communities.intel.com/thread/45727?tstart=0

At this point of time no reply from Microsoft nor from AMD and the number of case reported on several PC manufacturers growing. Be aware that the vast majority of users are simple user and not computer Geeks and that issue must be solved by the ones who have the knowledge. We need help from you guys to get million of machines back to work.

 10/30/2013 04:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Intel has no money for some SSL certificates?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/06/2014 12:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ettan2012
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/02/2014

Originally posted by: Mr.Compooper I had 13.9 full package installed and working fine and was able to use CCC no problem. Then out of the blue one day after a month or so it decides to spit out this message "AMD catalyst control center cannot be started. There are currently no settings that can be configured using AMD Catalyst Control Center". Also it does not show up in the list of installed programs :s

 

I've tried the following in SafeMode to try and remedy the situation to no avail :

 

1) Uninstalling CCC software using both CIM and manually with Windows.

 

2) Deleted all folders pertaining to ATI/AMD in program files, program files (x86) and user sub folders.

 

3) Deleted remaining software and drivers using both device manager and DDU (Display Driver Uninstaller)

 

4) Cleaned registry keys using RegCleaner and RegEdit. Then ran a scan + repair using the same software + CCleaner.

 

5) Deleted leftover driver files from AMD/ATI in C:\Windows\System32\drivers

 

6) Rebooted in normal mode and reinstalled CCC.

 

I've also tried reinstalling NetFrameworks (all versions), and Visual C++ Redistributables (all versions). Older versions and the 13.11 beta give the same problem so its not package specific. That public key fix that is often suggested does not apply to me as I never had that key. I'm totally lost and want to make sure I'm not missing anything before I cave in and do a dreaded reinstall. Thanks in advance.

 

SYSTEM : Radeon 6870 HD, Windows 7 64bit Ultimate ed.

 

i tried exactly same than you did, but *****!

ive tried also lots of "AMD Catalyst center solutions" but no one helped me out from this *****!!

next screen card for me is surely Nvidia because they use .exe with Nvidia control panel and AMD Catalyst Center doesnt work anything!!

after 13.9 driver updates this problem occured for me :/

please, why next driver versions cannot be without this framework ***** ?

 02/06/2014 09:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Ettan2012 next screen card for me is surely Nvidia because they use .exe with Nvidia control panel

I'm sorry to hear AMD uses a jpg for CCC instead of an exe. I guess I'm switching to the green side as well...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/13/2014 11:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ckarpys
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 02/13/2014

Originally posted by: Marc@AMD PM sent to you, OP.

 

;Marc

 

 

I'm having the same problem. CCC won't install. Can AMD make the sollution public?

 02/17/2014 07:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ettan2012
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/02/2014

Originally posted by: ckarpys
Originally posted by: Marc@AMD PM sent to you, OP.

 

 

 

;Marc

 

 

 

 

 

 

I'm having the same problem. CCC won't install. Can AMD make the sollution public?

 

yeap, indeed, no anymore Frameworks, exe could works better!

 08/21/2014 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ckarpys
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 02/13/2014

I still have this problem.

 08/22/2014 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EnragedN3wb
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/22/2014

Originally posted by: Marc@AMD PM sent to you, OP.

 

;Marc

 

 

This is completely disgraceful... Not making solutions to a problem public knowledge is extremely bad form... You should be ashamed of yourself.

If this is how AMD does business,  I don't even care about the problems I've had with Nvidia. I will take my  business back to them.

 08/22/2014 07:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ckarpys
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 02/13/2014

I just want drivers to work.

Statistics
87436 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.