Topic Title: Significant FPS drop in game after upgrade to Windows 8.1
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/28/2013 04:46 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/28/2013 04:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LegoFarmer
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/28/2013

Hello! I have recently went from Windows 7 to Windows 8.1 and I have been enjoying it; however, I have had problems with games. One example (Yet a pretty bad one) is that with minimum graphics, I could get 1,000 FPS on minecraft, and now I get 400 on Windows 8.1... I also noticed drops in Blacklight Retribution, and Planetside 2. My friend (Who has my same set up, but with an nvidia card) has not really had fps issues. Are the 13.9 and 13.11 Beta drivers just lacking full 8.1 compatability?

 10/28/2013 06:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

It's only the operating systems being different. For example, 8.x handles the CPU in a different way and have different power saving features.

Putting that aside, there's no human being who can distinguish between 1000 and 400 fps. Your issue is a non-issue.

I'd also advise you to post your and your friend's system specs as there are a million variables here we can't take into account because of the lack of information.

However, I suggest you just think about the part written in bold, and forget the rest.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/28/2013 06:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12474
Joined: 04/17/2008

The human eye sees changes in consistency, which is why movies played at 24FPS at the theater appear as fluid as a television broadcast at 60hz displayed on a 600hz plasma display, and why you can game all day long at a steady 30fps and it appears just as fluid as 60fps. Also your monitor cannot physically display even 400fps, so all you are doing is generating more heat and gaining zero benefit.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/28/2013 09:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LegoFarmer
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/28/2013

That isn't the point...The point is that I get half the fps I used to and that my fps has been bad on all my other games. If you lost have your fps regardless of if you would be able to tell, wouldn't you be concerned in the slightest? There are obviously issues.

 10/28/2013 11:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12474
Joined: 04/17/2008

Not really, because I use Vsync, and I don't care about generating more frames than I can display, I'd rather crank up the IQ enhancements and put that power to good use.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/29/2013 03:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: LegoFarmer That isn't the point...The point is that I get half the fps I used to and that my fps has been bad on all my other games. If you lost have your fps regardless of if you would be able to tell, wouldn't you be concerned in the slightest? There are obviously issues.

 

Then upgrade your OS to Windows 7 and the problem will be solved. Probably you'll get 1200 fps. Try it.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/31/2013 08:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gruia
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 10/31/2013

Yes dude, the drivers have compatibility issues.

Both WIn8.1 and  beta" drivers  are immature software.. so be patient

 

On a different note I myself use Vsync all the time, or even limit the FPS to 40 when I get the chance. THere is no point in overworking your GPu imo

 10/31/2013 11:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
oxijex
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/24/2008

Originally posted by: Eydee It's only the operating systems being different. For example, 8.x handles the CPU in a different way and have different power saving features.

 

Putting that aside, there's no human being who can distinguish between 1000 and 400 fps. Your issue is a non-issue.

 

I'd also advise you to post your and your friend's system specs as there are a million variables here we can't take into account because of the lack of information.

 

However, I suggest you just think about the part written in bold, and forget the rest.

 

 

I must be an alien Eydee as i garantee that you can feel a difference between 400 and 1000FPS on a 60Hz monitor and you can feel a larger difference on a 120Hz monitor. I bet you also say theres no difference between a 60Hz and 120Hz monitor that we cant see it anyway ???

 

Edit:

Would like to add that this has been proven around a year ago and a lan i attended where i had a similar argument with someone where and we let him play COD 2 at varying frame rate limits on a 120Hz monitor with Vsync off.  We started him at 1000 then 500 then 333 then 250 then 125 then 60 then 30. Every time he got back on and had a go he felt it wasnt as "Smooth" If we didnt possess the ability to make observations on higher frame rates he wouldnt have found a difference right ?



Edited: 10/31/2013 at 11:36 PM by oxijex
 11/01/2013 05:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: oxijex I bet you also say theres no difference between a 60Hz and 120Hz monitor that we cant see it anyway ???

 

This is a flame bait only. Sorry, I don't bite. Go and learn some physics and biology and you'll be able to answer your own questions.

 



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
85451 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.