Topic Title: Catalyst 13.11 beta 7 crashes sequentally 2 time a day then works fine without crashes
Topic Summary: Catalyst 13.11 beta 7 crashes sequentally 2 time a day then works fine without crashes
Created On: 10/29/2013 06:49 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/29/2013 06:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Istee
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/29/2013

Hello Guys !

 

I have a problem with the new catalyst driver 13.11.I'll know its a beta driver, but it not works fine for me.

Motherboard: Asus M5A78LM LX V2

2x4 GB Kingston HYperx Beast Edition Ram

Sapphire Radeon HD 7790 Dual-X OC 1 GB VGA

AMD FX 8120 Processor

Cooler Master 600 W PSU

Windows 8.1 x64 after Windows 7 x64

It works perfect with the 13.9 catalyst but the 13.11 beta 7 crashes the pc sequentially 2 times, then works fine. After the crash must be the pc restarted. I don't want to use the 13.9 driver while Batman: Arkham Origins has FPS problems with it. Formerly used win 7 x64 and the problem was the same. Can u help me to solve this problem or pls send my problem with the driver developer team for a solution? Sorry for the language mistakes, and thanks for helping me !



Edited: 10/29/2013 at 07:30 AM by Istee
 10/29/2013 10:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

First you need to post more details. About your system, about the bsod error codes and circumstances how the whole thing happens. Unfortunately you'll find no one here with mind reading abilities.

Read the sticky called "read before posting". It is there for a reason.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/29/2013 12:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Istee
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/29/2013

Eydee: Thank you for your response ! And here is the data:

Graphics card:

Sapphire Radeon HD 7790 Dual-X OC 1 GB DDR5

1075MHz/1600 MHz This is the factory clocks.

Catalyst:

Now im using 13.11 beta 7 before this, i used 13.9 thats works fine.

OS:

Now: Windows 8.1 x64 Enterprise

Before: Windows 7 SP1 x64 Pro

Issue details:

The 13.11 beta 7 not working perfect. Its not application specific. I'll turn on the pc than the OS starts working, clicking the firefox or the office, or any other app itt freezes and restarts automaticaly. When the OS turns on after the restart and want to run any applications freezes again and restarts automaticaly. Then the OS loads and works anything fine, all the day. I don't know what is the problem but, that was the same problem with the 13.11 beta 7 in win 7 and win 8 too. The 13.9 catalyst didn't make this freeze. Virus not detected to the system and the database is up to date. All the system is clean, ill installed it for 3 days ago.

Motherboard:

ASUS M5A78 LM LX-V2 All driver up to date.

Power Supply:

CoolerMaster 600W

Display Device:

Samsung BX2335 1920x1080 resolution DVI connected

Apps:

Randomly isgust;

CPU:

AMD FX 8120 3,1 GHz with Corsair Hydro h55

Turbo Key tuning in games. That is 4 GHz.

Motherboard BIOS version:

Don't know version numbers but the latest.

Memory:

2x 4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast Edition DDR3 1866 MHz Dual Channel

Additional Hardware:

Samsung 320 GB SATA HDD with the OS

IDE RAID card ITE 8212 with a Seagate barracuda 80 GB 7200 RPM

Samsung DVD-RW

2 x 8 cm System cooler Revoltec blue LED

Additional Details:

The system is full clean. Didint have any viruses. The VGA was tested with 3d mark and uniengine and works fine. The other devices workks fine too.

Any ideas?

 

 10/29/2013 02:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Still no info about the BSOD. It's critical information. Please turn off automatic reboot and take a photo of the next one. Then post it here. Make sure it's readable.

 

To turn off automatic reboot on BSODs:

Control Panel -> System -> Advanced System -> Advanced -> Startup and Recovery settings -> Untick automatically restart -> Click OK.

 

 

(Note: this is something that shouldn't be ticked by default, but M$ is stupid. This is the same stupidity that still drives them to hide file extensions by default...)



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/29/2013 03:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Istee
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/29/2013

I'll disabled the automatic restart, as you wrote it the previous post. Then my PC makes the freeze, and it was a black screen, and here comes the joke he restarts.... Dont know while he restart when then restart is disabled. Can not see any of bsod code or memory fail code or anything to be localize the problem source. :S

 10/29/2013 03:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

That seems to be a dead motherboard or PSU then. The latter is more likely. Otherwise it wouldn't restart but show a blue screen with error codes that indicate the reason and circumstances of the crash.

Borrow a PSU from a friend and try the computer with it.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/29/2013 03:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Istee
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/29/2013

To the windows event log ill get this, for the last freeze. This can help you to localize?

 

- System
- Provider
[ Name] Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
[ Guid] {331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}
EventID 41
Version 3
Level 1
Task 63
Opcode 0
Keywords 0x8000000000000002
- TimeCreated
[ SystemTime] 2013-10-29T19:32:46.864135000Z
EventRecordID 1993
Correlation
- Execution
[ ProcessID] 4
[ ThreadID] 8
Channel System
Computer Cerberus
- Security
[ UserID] S-1-5-18
- EventData
BugcheckCode 0
BugcheckParameter1 0x0
BugcheckParameter2 0x0
BugcheckParameter3 0x0
BugcheckParameter4 0x0
SleepInProgress 0
PowerButtonTimestamp 0
BootAppStatus 0
 10/29/2013 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

It also suggests the same thing I said.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2028504

See scenario3.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/29/2013 04:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
urejt
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/29/2013

I tried 13.11 on my Windows 8.0 "shared" version. I have asus 7790. Strange, new, red program in corner stopped working. After reboot i got blackscreened. Fortunatally i got my windows recoved thx to choice window when i can start win8 or linux. Then i installed fresh solid drives which works fine now. 

 10/29/2013 11:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

Approaching the limit  of the power supply...cpu pushed uses ~164w + 7790 @249w per Anandtech test + HDDs + memory + fans + +...getting there....jus sayn.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 10/30/2013 01:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Istee
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/29/2013

I think its not the psu. The 13.9 catalyst didn't make the problem only the new 13.11 beta 6 and 13.11 beta 7

Calculated the PSU this is the result, all the devices in my PC:

PSU wattage calc

 10/30/2013 04:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

If it's the PSU, it's not its wattage causing the problem but the fact that it may be broken. That's why I suggested borrowing one. You don't spend money for no reason but get to test it anyway.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/30/2013 06:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Istee
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/29/2013

Ok, i borrow one, and test my config with it. If the PSU is the source of the problem, then its go to warranty improvement. It's only 3 months old...

 10/30/2013 11:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

Well, if its not broken, you're using 422 watts JUST for the cpu and gpu.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 10/31/2013 05:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Istee
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/29/2013

Yesterday i borrowed a PSU. It's a Chieftec 750 W. The problem was the same. Black screen and the system restarts sequentally 2 times. Now i'm deleted the 13.11 beta driver and installed the 13.9 . Now it works fine. I'll wait for the final 13.11 catalyst, the beta is not for an opportunity for me Thanks for helping me, and have a nice day Guys !!!

 10/31/2013 08:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gruia
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 10/31/2013

Yes its the drivers )

I had too much confidence in AMD myself. Tried everything but changing the drivers. But its them who ***** things up

Next time you're having problems switch them back fast.. who knows what damage they can do

 10/31/2013 05:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JawCrusher
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/31/2013

Nonsense.

One difference => crash. Difference = driver version.

Reverting driver version => No difference = No crash => difference = crash

I have exactly same problem. There is no problem with other versions including 13.11 Beta1. After that Beta7 and 8 crashes. Beta 7 was crashing with err code related with Northbridge. But Beta 8 refuses to give any info while crushing.

I installed Beta7-8 on Win8.1 X64 and Win8 X64.

 



-------------------------

2x7790
A10 5800K
A85X

 10/31/2013 06:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JawCrusher
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/31/2013

Altering NB voltage to 1.375 extended the crashing periods.



-------------------------

2x7790
A10 5800K
A85X

 10/31/2013 08:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Istee I'll wait for the final 13.11 catalyst

If you take a closer look at the release cycle, you'll notice that it doesn't work like that. There won't be a 13.11. We'll most likely get a new WHQL driver next year only.

Everyone stick to whatever works for them.

 

NB voltage: placebo



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/01/2013 01:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
orangenod18
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/01/2013

I have the same issue with the Beta 6-8 drivers. I have the same GPU Sapphire 7790 1GB Dual-X.

The 13.9 and 13.11 before beta 6 has no errors. So i can confirm that its a driver issue?

The only reason i installed the Beta 6-8 is for Arkham Origins optimization but everytime i play a game(Batman Origins, DOTA 2 & NBA 2k14) for like 15-20 minutes the "Display driver stopped responding and has recovered" keeps popping up and makes the game sluggish to 20 FPS, re-launching the game don't fix and only a system restart only fixes it.

I'm now going back to 13.9

Statistics
85448 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.