Topic Title: test custom clocks blackscreen
Topic Summary: 5850 wont load
Created On: 10/30/2013 02:53 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/30/2013 02:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kc613
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/30/2013

clicked test custom clocks, got test screen waited for 5-10 minutes, then i rebooted before it finished. on reboot card would not load, so i have a blackscreen. cannot use the computer now. when i took out the 5850 and another card was installed everything was normal. reinstalled 5850 but still would not load. i suppose i should have left the test finish. need help to figure this out.

 10/30/2013 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7054
Joined: 11/13/2009

Can you start in safe mode, then set the clocks back to default? 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 10/30/2013 07:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kc613
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/30/2013

not sure what you mean! with the 5850 installed there is no signal going to monitor so i cant get into the computer to do anything. if i could just get the card to load, then i would have a display to see what im doing. could you elaborate.

 10/31/2013 09:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gruia
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 10/31/2013

if the monitor doesn't turn on before entering windows.. that smells like a briked card

 10/31/2013 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kc613
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/30/2013

i'm slowly coming to that conclusion also. hard to understand why rebooting before "test custom clocks" test was finished would brick the card. i'm gonna try a few more things before i completely give up. hope someone else has some ideas.

 10/31/2013 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gruia
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 10/31/2013

checkit on another system, maybe you can sell it off

 10/31/2013 01:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kc613
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/30/2013

gonna check it on another computer shortly. would not sell a bad card, because i wouldn't want to be on the receiving end of a deal like that.

 11/01/2013 10:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4004
Joined: 01/27/2008

If if fails on the other computer, you may end up having to flash the vbios.

You'll need a computer with support for two video systems and some googling of "vbios amd flashing"



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 11/05/2013 03:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kc613
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/30/2013

installed the 5850 in another computer, which had a 5870 in it, and was functioning perfectly. so now this pc had 2 separate video systems so i could try and flash the bios in the 5850.

observations when this pc was powered on:

the cpu fan went to maximum rpm.

now there was no video signal coming out of the good card, the 5870,(back to black screen)

when the pci-e power connectors were removed from the 5850, but the card still in the pci-e slot, the video signal coming out of the 5870(good card) returned to normal. also, the fan on the 5850 was still running from power from the slot.

also noticed that when i disconnected just one power connector from the 5850, the video signal coming out of the 5870 was normal, but not when both connectors were disconnected.

the computer was not seeing the 5850, as it was not showing up in device manager, so, no opportunity to flash the bios.

looks like this 5850 is toast unless someone else has other ideas to try.

 11/05/2013 03:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Using a decent PSU, no matter what you attach to one power cable, devices on other power cables wouldn't "know" about it.

I wonder what PSUs you have in these computers.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/06/2013 09:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kc613
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/30/2013

the computer that i set up the 2 video systems on, to try and flash the 5850, has a thermaltake tr2 rx 750w. the original pc that had the 5850 in it(the card i screwed up) is running a ocz elite x stream 1200w psu. i believe both of these are decent psu's.

 11/06/2013 09:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kc613
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/30/2013

have to correct my second last post:

"but not when both connectors were disconnected" should read,"but not when both connectors are connected".

"when i disconnected just one power connector from the 5850" should read "when i disconnected just one power connector from the 5850, (either one)",

sorry for the confusion.

Hardwood and Eydee, thanks for trying to help, i appreciate it. looks like its slated for a doorstop, or whatever. lol.

Statistics
84247 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.