Topic Title: Vista Drivers (install 13.9 according to EA)
Topic Summary: drivers for vista (HD6090)
Created On: 11/04/2013 08:42 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/04/2013 08:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
superjude
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/04/2013

Hi

I’m running Vista 64 with a HD 6090 card, I’ve just bought Battlefield and it’s moaning about my drivers being out of date – saying I should be running 13.9, but as far as I can tell 13.4 was the last release for Vista.

 

However EA are saying this on their website: 

While AMD doesn't have Windows Vista drivers past version 13.4, Vista users can actually install and use the Windows 7 version 13.9 drivers on their Vista system. (https://help.ea.com/article/troubleshooting-info-for-battlefield-4#amd)

I’ve tried installing the Win7 drivers (following the advice on EAs website), but I can no longer run CCC and the game continues to chastise me for not having up to date drivers – suggesting that I have 13.1 installed!

 

Firstly is the advice which EA are giving valid or sound (if so any clues as to what I’m doing wrong?)? Also are there plans to release updated drivers for Vista or does the 13.4 release from earlier in the year mark the end of the road...?

 

 Thanks in advance.

 

 11/04/2013 09:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: superjudeif so any clues as to what I’m doing wrong?

Listening to EA. AMD knows better what its drivers are compatible with.

Workaround (if you don't want to spend money/permanently upgrade):

1. Download Windows 7 Enterprise trial from Microsoft

2. Install into a separate partition

3. Use it for BF4

4. Reinstall every 3 months



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/04/2013 03:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sentsucht
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/04/2013

I have the same problem. And the same question: will the new drivers for Windows Vista?

 11/05/2013 05:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: sentsucht I have the same problem. And the same question: will the new drivers for Windows Vista?

 

You forgot the verb. Will they do what? Exist? Hardly.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/05/2013 05:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
petarpav
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/04/2013

Don't know who EA/DICE use for there testing but it is really bad completely unplayable game atm.

The statement is definately a false one but the game run fine on my vista system using 13.4, that stupid message does get annoying.

Would suggest to install Window7 on a seperate partition for dual boot and use Win7 for BF or simply upgrade to Win7.

 

Statistics
87657 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 9 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.