Topic Title: AMD stopped supporting Windows Vista 64bit?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/07/2013 04:44 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/07/2013 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Spinello
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/07/2013

I have bought a HD7870 recently to upgrade my system for BF4.

The only drivers i can use are 13.4 on my OS while others can use 13.9+ and play with optimalizited driver's.

Could you please explain to me why? or are you guy's still working on 13.9+ for vista systems?

I personally don't see windows 7 as (€86,-) a worthy upgrade, let allone windows 8/8.1 ''the tablet OS...''

Would rather spend my hard earned money somewere els.

Regards, Mike

 11/07/2013 05:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Spinello
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/07/2013

I remember reading the spec's of my card to see if it would be viable with my machine.

I found it again =

AMD Catalyst™ graphics and HD video configuration software

  • Software support for Windows 7, Windows Vista and Windows XP
And under System requirment's=
  • 64-bit operating system highly recommended
With other word's i always aspected it to be fully supported including new driver's.
 11/07/2013 06:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Spinello Could you please explain to me why?

Because AMD has limited resources and Linux support now is a matter of life and death (long live Iron Maiden), so they moved Vista resources to Linux resources. Vista is expendable as almost no one uses it. Linux is a growing market which may explode soon. If it does and AMD misses it, it can be fatal. Valve has already voted for Intel+Nvidia for their hardware, which must be a pain for AMD.

This is only a theory of mine, don't take it as official or anything.

Windows 7 can be acquired for free in many ways. For example, there's a free trial which you can use. Its trial period is way longer than what these CODs and BFs have as gameplay value.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64



Edited: 11/07/2013 at 07:12 PM by Eydee
 11/07/2013 07:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Spinello
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/07/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee
Originally posted by: Spinello Could you please explain to me why?

 

Because AMD has limited resources and Linux support now is a matter of life and death (long live Iron Maiden), so they moved Vista resources to Linux resources. Vista is expendable as almost no one uses it. Linux is a growing market which may explode soon. If it does and AMD misses it, it can be fatal. Valve has already voted for Intel+Nvidia for their hardware, which must be a pain for AMD.

 

This is only a theory of mine, don't take it as official or anything.

 

Windows 7 can be acquired for free in many ways. For example, there's a free trial which you can use. It's trial period is way longer than what these CODs and BFs have as gameplay value.

 

 

So basiclly i bought a product after seing the spec's on amd's website, but because amd can't handle the workload they shove me in a corner as not important?

Ins't a 12 years long loyal customer like me important?

It should say on the box and on there website that its only supported for Windows 7 / 8 otherwise.

Then at least i could have look furter for other card's.

As copy / pasted earlyer even Windows XP should be supported for this card.

So to force me to buy a product i don't want and shouldn't need, is absurb to say the least.

I payed just as much for the card as a windows 7+ user yet they get way better preformance then me, how is this fair?

 

 

 

 11/07/2013 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

You'd be right if there were no drivers at all. However, there are. 13.4 for example. Support doesn't mean eternal support. I woud also be happy to have Windows 95 drivers for my 6850. I'd love to play around with trying to get it to work. Still, no eternal support for me, no eternal support for you or anyone.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/07/2013 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Spinello
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/07/2013

Well with these driver's its the same as not having driver's...

They recommended a 64bit OS, so i could understand them not fully supporting 32bit's OS like XP.

 

How can you recommend something and then just not supporting it?

64bit OS is 64bit...

Why didn't they write Recommend 64bit windows 7 or higher

for example.

My point is there was no indication what so ever they would stop the support for my 64bit OS.

If i would have known this befor i wouldn't have bought this graphic's card.

As you might understand i am a very unhappy costumer now.

i bought a product for quite allot off money that i can't use to it's fullest.

Would have gotten the same performance with a cheaper product, since the driver's aren't good anyway.

In the 12 years i am useing amd hardware i never had this problem and could always instal the latest driver's.

Hence the reason i always stayed with AMD, i was very satisfied with there support and the speed of there support.

Now i have a brand new product again but this time i am not supported.

 

 11/07/2013 08:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

To cut the long story short, your card was released last year. Maybe earlier, I can't remember. Vista support stopped a few months ago and it's not even official (yet).

You cannot read about it on the box as all the witches of AMD were out holding a seance when the boxes were manufactured. The Future Telling Department was also closed and all the crystal balls were packed up in the attic because there were no money to maintain them.

I hope that helps. There are also cards from all manufacturers that were released close to the EOL of a cetain OS. People were crying because of Win2k, people are (still) crying because of XP, and yes, though only a few, but there are vista supporters as well.

 



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/07/2013 08:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12240
Joined: 04/17/2008

Answer me this: why didn't you just buy an ancient HD 3870? It is the minimum required video card. You are just using the minimum required OS, EA themselves tell you to use 7 or 8. So why is it you upgraded your video card to the recommended specs and not your OS, and then you are complaining?

Vista does only have a sub 6% market share, and has been "superseded" three times (even though it's the same damn OS with new coats of paint.) If you were using an XBOX and you had to upgrade to the XBOX One to play BF4, would you be complaining about EA not supporting the XBOS?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/07/2013 08:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Spinello
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/07/2013

Fair enough. they could update'd the site.

or learn from there previos error's and give a heads up in advance?

but thats ignorant of me tho think a big company's customer's support like amd would actually learn from there mistake's.

 

Well i am of to piratebay. thanks anyway.

 11/07/2013 08:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Spinello
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/07/2013

Because i dislike windows 7, and windows 8.. don't even get me started about that piece off *****.

The minimal OS for a game doesn't mean *****.

between vista and windows 7 is like 1fps diffrent's?

But that's my opinion.

 

 11/07/2013 09:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12240
Joined: 04/17/2008

Skip the soft drinks, candy bars, and fast food for a month and buy Windows 7.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/08/2013 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hammey
Grinding Levels

Posts: 179
Joined: 05/09/2012

Hi I remember the old days when Nvidia released new driver's they claimed you would get a 50 % increase of performance from your card LOL we all know that is not possible but most thought it was just great. I run 2 7870's in one of my systems I play crysis 3 farcry 3 and many other games with no problems and good performance. I am useing the driver's from 19/12/2012. I will update these driver's if I ever have a problem and not before. Just because there are newer driver's does not mean they will help you if you are having no problems.



-------------------------
MSI Mpower Max, I7-4770K, MSI GTX 780 Lightning, G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB DDR3-2400, 2X Kingston HyperX 3K 480GB , 1Tb Raptor, Creative ZXR Sound, 1000 watt Coolermaster Single 80 amp Rail, G700s Mouse, Z5500 Speakers
 12/23/2013 05:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
therocker
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/23/2013

So, am I understanding my "still under warranty" Dell 435t will be having a tough time ? LOL...  GPU needs replaced and the 4870 Radoen has been out of build too long. So Dell will be sending me a equal or upgraded replacement, which should be an AMD ATI card. I've looked and there are some options, but I know my 4870 card has not really had any updates for a couple years. The replacement card should be here before or just after the 25th, Merry Christmas, LOL... I may need to post in another topic area or start one for my needs. System is almost 5 years old, got it 2 weeks before the Win 7 OS went public. Should have done some research prior to purchase. I usually am up on things, but at the time life had priority. LOLAnyone have any suggestions ? Other than the obvious purchase of Win 7 or 8...

-------------------------
Dell Dimension 8400 Workstation - asus 775 Pentium IV - 4GB ram - HIS HD 4670 - Creative Audigy SE - 5.1 100wt - Win XP 32 bit ( 10 yrs old and still working great ) Dell Studio XPS 435t - i7 920 Sandy - 12 GB ram - Visiontek 4870 HD - 2.1 100wt. Vista 64 bit/ Dell XPS 8500 - i7 3770 - 32GB ram - GTX 660 - 2.1 200wt. - 24" U2412M / Next - Broadwell K - own build ...
 12/23/2013 07:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

My infamous tutorial might help you out. Though it's not official in any way, but it works.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 12/24/2013 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
therocker
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/23/2013

Thank you fpr your reply. Feels like a present from Santa .  And just at a glance nice work around, great job !!! BM'd and will help when given time. I find these things fun , lol .

-------------------------
Dell Dimension 8400 Workstation - asus 775 Pentium IV - 4GB ram - HIS HD 4670 - Creative Audigy SE - 5.1 100wt - Win XP 32 bit ( 10 yrs old and still working great ) Dell Studio XPS 435t - i7 920 Sandy - 12 GB ram - Visiontek 4870 HD - 2.1 100wt. Vista 64 bit/ Dell XPS 8500 - i7 3770 - 32GB ram - GTX 660 - 2.1 200wt. - 24" U2412M / Next - Broadwell K - own build ...
Statistics
84261 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.