Topic Title: Active Displayport problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/07/2013 06:43 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/07/2013 06:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geogan
Nerfed

Posts: 74
Joined: 05/24/2010

Is there any known problems with displayport and the latest beta drivers does anyone know?

Can anyone confirm they can use 13.11 beta 8 with a DVI monitor through an ACTIVE displayport adapter?

I'm having severe problems still trying to get working 7990 through it's displayport outputs to DVI monitor using active displayport adapters. I thought it was broken adapter so I bought a new one - Sapphire Eyefinity approved one - and it is behaving in exactly the same way. Screens going on and off and Eyefinity completely failing. Also 3DMark failing too when it starts test saying display had changed.

This is what happens when I try and run the 3DMark Firestrike benchmark when the Radeon HD7990 card is connected to the Dell monitor using an Active Mini-displayport to DVI adapter.

Notice the Catalyst Control Centre says Displayport for the monitor connection.

Using ATI 13.11 beta 8 drivers but happened in previous driver versions too.

As soon as test starts the monitor loses video signal and goes to power save mode - Firestrake returns to Windows with failure error about display changing.

AMD 7990 Active Mini-Displayport Adapter problem (YOUTUBE VIDEO)

This is what happens when I try and run the 3DMark Firestrike benchmark when the Radeon HD7990 card is connected to the Dell monitor using a PASSIVE (non Active) Mini-displayport to DVI adapter.

Notice the Catalyst Control Centre says DVI for the monitor connection.

Using ATI 13.11 beta 8 drivers but happened in previous driver versions too.

Monitor does NOT lose video signal and go to power save mode - Firestrake returns as normal without error about display changing.

AMD 7990 Passive Mini-Displayport Adapter no problem (YOUTUBE VIDEO)

NO OTHER CHANGES BETWEEN THESE TWO RUNS ONLY SWAPPED ADAPTER IN TO CARD

 

 

Causes more severe problems in Eyefinity mode. With games set to the full size in their preferences. As soon as you commit the change this is what happens...

Dear Ester Game example

Dear Ester

Battlefield 4 Game example

Battlefield 4

ps. also noticed in Afterburner that the second GPU sometimes gets stuck at 99% all the time until reboot. This is NOT a glitch because the temps go up and the power socket meter shows the power at the time is about 370W when it normally idles about 270W.



-------------------------

Coolermaster HAF932, ASUS Rampage II Extreme, Core i7 920, 6Gb Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 2000MHz 7-8-7-20, Radeon HD7990 6Gb, 240Gb OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, WD Green Storage, Acer X243 24" x 3, Dell 2407WFP x2, Dell 2408WFP, Tagan BZ 800W Full Modular, Windows 7 Pro 64bit



Edited: 11/07/2013 at 07:02 PM by geogan
 11/08/2013 09:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sleepwalker359
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 12/13/2009

Hi, Geogan the passive adapter should be good enough,I got 7990 and I'm running eyefinity two dvi monitors and one Displayport monitor no active adaptors used. These are the adaptors I'm using 1 DVI to HDMI, 1 mini displayport to full size displayport, 1 mini displayport to DVI



-------------------------




  1. W7/pro(64)-i7-3930k unlocked/ Asus Rampage IV Extreme/ 32GB DDR3 1600/SapphireRadeonHD7990 6G/ Gigabyte GV-R7970C-3G/ 256gb OCZ Vector/1TB WD/ Corsair AX1200i/CM-HAF X





Edited: 11/08/2013 at 09:29 PM by Sleepwalker359
 11/09/2013 10:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geogan
Nerfed

Posts: 74
Joined: 05/24/2010

Originally posted by: Sleepwalker359 Hi, Geogan the passive adapter should be good enough,I got 7990 and I'm running eyefinity two dvi monitors and one Displayport monitor no active adaptors used. These are the adaptors I'm using 1 DVI to HDMI, 1 mini displayport to full size displayport, 1 mini displayport to DVI

 

 

Yes but you have one Displayport monitor so you don't need an active adapter. I DONT have a Displayport monitor so i do need an active adapter as one of the outputs. 7990 can only output 2 legacy (non dp) outputs.

So you have no issues in Eyefinity then? What driver version are you using exactly - the latest 13.11 beta8 or beta9 is it?

 



-------------------------

Coolermaster HAF932, ASUS Rampage II Extreme, Core i7 920, 6Gb Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 2000MHz 7-8-7-20, Radeon HD7990 6Gb, 240Gb OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, WD Green Storage, Acer X243 24" x 3, Dell 2407WFP x2, Dell 2408WFP, Tagan BZ 800W Full Modular, Windows 7 Pro 64bit

 11/09/2013 01:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sleepwalker359
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 12/13/2009

Yes I just notced you don't have a displayport monitor sorry,   right now I'm using 13.6 beta2 because of the problem with the second gpu being stuck at 100% load with the newer drivers, not worth the trouble trying a work around.I will just wait and see how the new drivers work for everyone and wait till the bugs are fixed.Wait I see AMD released a new driver on 11/07/13   13.11 beta9.2, I will try this one and let you know how it works,I can always roll it back to 13.6 if I want. I thought the newer cards didn't need a displayport monitor for eyefinity,I've bought  my Dell monitor for my 5970 when the card was new, because people were having lots of trouble with active adaptors, so forgive me for assuming you didn't need an active adaptor. Boy I'm I GLAD

I just tried 13.11 beta v9.2  eyefinity works ok, but it still has the same problem with 2nd gpu. Once it's activated it jumps up to 100% load and stays there,so it's back to 13.6 beta2  C.O.D. Ghosts runs fine with 13.6 , just the intro and  loading new levels is a little choppy .



-------------------------




  1. W7/pro(64)-i7-3930k unlocked/ Asus Rampage IV Extreme/ 32GB DDR3 1600/SapphireRadeonHD7990 6G/ Gigabyte GV-R7970C-3G/ 256gb OCZ Vector/1TB WD/ Corsair AX1200i/CM-HAF X





Edited: 11/09/2013 at 04:47 PM by Sleepwalker359
 11/09/2013 06:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geogan
Nerfed

Posts: 74
Joined: 05/24/2010

Originally posted by: Sleepwalker359 Yes I just notced you don't have a displayport monitor sorry,   right now I'm using 13.6 beta2 because of the problem with the second gpu being stuck at 100% load with the newer drivers,

 

I just installed 13.6 beta 2 to see if it might be a driver problem. The same thing happened in 3DMark with the active dp adapter to Dell monitor - bombs out at start of run with loss of signal and message about display resolution changing. So either this 7990 has a broken DP output somehow, or it is not compatible with these active adapters I have. If I could get a real dispplayport monitor I could try it with a real mini-dp->dp cable and see what happens but it means me actually BUYING a monitor to debug someone elses FUVKUP.

 

 



-------------------------

Coolermaster HAF932, ASUS Rampage II Extreme, Core i7 920, 6Gb Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 2000MHz 7-8-7-20, Radeon HD7990 6Gb, 240Gb OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, WD Green Storage, Acer X243 24" x 3, Dell 2407WFP x2, Dell 2408WFP, Tagan BZ 800W Full Modular, Windows 7 Pro 64bit

 11/10/2013 04:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sleepwalker359
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 12/13/2009

Actualy dispayport is the correct way to do eyefinity, the active adaptors are a work around buying a displayport monitor,so you have to be willing to solve problems when they come up.I'm sure they will come up with a fix,cause your not the only one with this problem.Try rolling it back to the drivers that worked last for you.I found the best way to down grade is to,have your driver ready disconnect from the internet, then open device manager and unistall and delete the drivers from each gpu. Then use the AMD cleaner utility, and install the driver of your choice after a restart.Restarting your pc is always a good thing. Cheers



-------------------------




  1. W7/pro(64)-i7-3930k unlocked/ Asus Rampage IV Extreme/ 32GB DDR3 1600/SapphireRadeonHD7990 6G/ Gigabyte GV-R7970C-3G/ 256gb OCZ Vector/1TB WD/ Corsair AX1200i/CM-HAF X





Edited: 11/10/2013 at 05:50 PM by Sleepwalker359
 11/10/2013 10:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1349
Joined: 07/13/2009

What other monitors do you have?  Have you tried using one of those with the adapter, and leaving the Dell connected directly?

It certainly sounds like some kind of a hardware problem, though whether it's the card, the adapter, or the monitor (flaky DVI might throw the adapter), I wouldn't hazard a guess.

 

 11/11/2013 08:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geogan
Nerfed

Posts: 74
Joined: 05/24/2010

I have 3 24" Acers. The same thing happens them. This is why I thought it was an Eyefinity problem at first because the displayport adapter was connected to one of the side Acers and I was only seeing the problem when going into a game in Eyefinity - so the side monitors would then fail because of the problem and Eyefinity would go haywire because it appeared the monitor was being removed/added continuosly to the system.



-------------------------

Coolermaster HAF932, ASUS Rampage II Extreme, Core i7 920, 6Gb Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 2000MHz 7-8-7-20, Radeon HD7990 6Gb, 240Gb OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, WD Green Storage, Acer X243 24" x 3, Dell 2407WFP x2, Dell 2408WFP, Tagan BZ 800W Full Modular, Windows 7 Pro 64bit

Statistics
84906 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.