Topic Title: Catalyst Control Center Cannot Be Started; Can't Locate Public Key Token
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/16/2013 12:27 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/16/2013 12:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CNEK
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/16/2013

So I updated to the latest drivers for my AMD Radeon HD7950 and realised the Black Borders had come back (this happened when I first got my PC) So I went to open CCC and it gave me the error "AMD Catalyst Control Center cannot be started. There are currently no settings that can be configured using AMD Catalyst Control Center." A few hours later and I still can't find a fix that will work on my PC, so I head over to this forum and follow the instructions here. However I cannot find this 'Public Key Token' or the option to 'Sort by Public Key Token' in my window. Here is a screenshot:

 



-------------------------

http://i.imgur.com/m85uPD4.jpg

 11/16/2013 12:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

That public key token thing is for Windows XP, so forget it. The tutorial is outdated.

Your problem is that you have a driver/CCC version mismatch. You probably used express install and didn't notice that only one of the two had been updated.

Uninstall all of them, disable driver updates in windows update, and start over. Use custom install and if you don't see both the driver and CCC in the component list, don't proceed, but come back here with a screenshot.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/16/2013 01:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CNEK
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/16/2013

After i've uninstalled the Graphics Driver and Catalyst which one should I install first?



-------------------------

http://i.imgur.com/m85uPD4.jpg

 11/16/2013 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

They're both in the Catalyst package. You shouldn't install them separately.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/16/2013 02:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CNEK
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/16/2013

I uninstalled AMD Catalyst Install Manager, then used Driver Sweeper to remove the Graphics Driver. After that I rebooted, redownloaded CCC, installed it, rebooted. Opened it up and still get the error message.



-------------------------

http://i.imgur.com/m85uPD4.jpg

 11/16/2013 04:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

What's up with the component selection window?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/16/2013 05:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CNEK
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/16/2013

It had a list of around 10 things on it.



-------------------------

http://i.imgur.com/m85uPD4.jpg

 11/16/2013 06:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

Did you read them?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/17/2013 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CNEK
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/16/2013

I repeated the process and took a screen cap.

 



-------------------------

http://i.imgur.com/m85uPD4.jpg

 11/17/2013 06:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

Unticking the gaming evolved crap and proceeding should work. However, I can see 13.9 on your desktop, while you stated in the OP that you're trying to install latest drivers. Latest is 13.11b9.2.

Before you start being beta-phobic, let me tell you that it only means no WHQL signature. It's a full catalyst package.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/17/2013 06:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CNEK
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/16/2013

I unchecked it on the Beta installation and I am still getting the error.



-------------------------

http://i.imgur.com/m85uPD4.jpg

 11/20/2013 12:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CNEK
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/16/2013

*bump*



-------------------------

http://i.imgur.com/m85uPD4.jpg

 11/21/2013 04:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

There's no need to bump, especially without further info. I suggest you do a temp windows install to rule out the borked OS case.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/21/2013 12:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CNEK
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/16/2013

What further information do you need?



-------------------------

http://i.imgur.com/m85uPD4.jpg

Statistics
84274 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.