Topic Title: AMD CCC.exe won't run
Topic Summary: CCC.exe fails
Created On: 11/17/2013 05:22 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/17/2013 05:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boesse
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/17/2013

I recently installed an MSI r9 270x graphics card into my HP Pavilion running Vista 64 bit, and have been struggling to install relevant drivers (which, apparently exist for Windows XP, 7, and 8, but not vista).

I tried installing Catalyst Control Center, and uninstalled and reinstalled .NET framework 4.5 to be sure that wasn't the problem, and just like before, a window titled CCC.exe - fatal error pops up with the message "CLR error:80004005. The program will now terminate."

How can I fix this?

 11/17/2013 06:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

You can fix it by installing XP, 7 or 8. Simple as that, Vista drivers do not exist for that card. According to AMD they may or may not make them in the future. Probably not.

In before rant: Windows 95 drivers don't exist either.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/17/2013 08:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boesse
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/17/2013

Installing windows 7 will fix it? That's pretty bad that they have drivers for virtually every other in use microsoft OS except mine, and the instructions, packaging, and box fail to mention any of this.

What about running XP as an emulator, and running XP only when I decide to do some gaming? Sorry if that's a stupid question, I'm really beyond the borders of my knowledge here.

 11/18/2013 06:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

I'd rather install a windows 7/8 trial. By the time it expires, you may start liking it or AMD just gets some vista drivers.

A virtual machine cerainly won't work as it requires hardware acceleration on the host system. That is what you lack at the moment.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
84290 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.