Topic Title: Version Compatibility Issue in 64bit Win 7
Topic Summary: new beta driver is not installing in win 7 64bit
Created On: 11/20/2013 10:34 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/20/2013 10:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TrackK
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/20/2013

here is the file attached...

 

i have xfx radein hd 6870

i did a clean uninstall of previous amd driver from my pc, ran driver sweeper also & removed every bit of previous driver. now when i run this new beta driver its giving me this error all the time...i've tried both the 32bit version & 64bit version both giving me this error in my win 7 64bit...

 

please help thanxBeta driver installation error



-------------------------

TrackK


 


 


 


Intel Core i3-3210 3.2 GHZ


Intel DH77KC Motherboard


Kingston 4GB DDR III


XFX Ati Radeon HD 6870


Cooler Master Extreme 525 X2 PS 

 11/20/2013 11:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12240
Joined: 04/17/2008

I know I don't see DriverSweeper there...If you've used that before that could be the reason, as it works fine for me. Also, you are using a HD 6870, so using the latest beta driver isn't necessary.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/21/2013 04:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

It looks like a partial download, the file is damaged, therefor windows thinks you're trying to run a 16-bit bit program. Try downloading the file with a different browser/download manager and see if that helps.

By the way, the file not having an icon on your desktop also indicates a damaged file. It should have an AMD icon.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/21/2013 05:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TrackK
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/20/2013

how can it b a damaged file when the size is same as it shown on the web for beta driver :-(...i downloaded it from three browsers, iexplorer, chrome & firefox...still same error.



-------------------------

TrackK


 


 


 


Intel Core i3-3210 3.2 GHZ


Intel DH77KC Motherboard


Kingston 4GB DDR III


XFX Ati Radeon HD 6870


Cooler Master Extreme 525 X2 PS 

 11/21/2013 05:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TrackK
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/20/2013

my frnd got xfx radeon 6790 the earlier version as compare to my card...his card managed to update successfully on beta without any single error then why not mine...i won't b able to play BF4 untill this beta installs :-(



-------------------------

TrackK


 


 


 


Intel Core i3-3210 3.2 GHZ


Intel DH77KC Motherboard


Kingston 4GB DDR III


XFX Ati Radeon HD 6870


Cooler Master Extreme 525 X2 PS 

 11/21/2013 06:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

If the file is not damaged, then windows is. It certainly does not recognize it as a valid binary.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/21/2013 08:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12240
Joined: 04/17/2008

Open a command prompt and try sfc /scannow

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/21/2013 09:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TrackK
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/20/2013

no windows cant b damaged as fresh installed yesterday...ok then i managed to find the correct file of beta driver ok...installed successfully now...still BF4 giving me this error which should be removed after having beta installed but still BF4 showing this file attached :-(

 

1 more question is do i need to install the beta standalone or do i need to install it over my existing driver previous one ????BF4 error



-------------------------

TrackK


 


 


 


Intel Core i3-3210 3.2 GHZ


Intel DH77KC Motherboard


Kingston 4GB DDR III


XFX Ati Radeon HD 6870


Cooler Master Extreme 525 X2 PS 

 11/21/2013 09:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TrackK
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/20/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion Open a command prompt and try sfc /scannow

 

Windows Resource Protection system did not find any integrity violations.



-------------------------

TrackK


 


 


 


Intel Core i3-3210 3.2 GHZ


Intel DH77KC Motherboard


Kingston 4GB DDR III


XFX Ati Radeon HD 6870


Cooler Master Extreme 525 X2 PS 

Statistics
84261 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.