Topic Title: BSOD on Windows 7 Embedded
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/21/2013 10:40 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/21/2013 10:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jakob
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/21/2013

I see frequent BSOD when running c:\Windows\System32\clinfo.exe on Windows 7 Embedded. I don't see any BSOD on a regular Windows 7 Pro.

 

My setup is as follows:

GPU: AMD Radeon HD 7850 PCIe 2BG AES

CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-3615QE

RAM: 4GB

Catalyst Version: 13.9

Driver version: 1268.1 

OS: Windows 7 Embedded Standard 64 bit (Build 7601) Service Pack 1

 

The GPU has no screen attached, since it's only use for computations.

I don't see the BSOD with the Catalyst Version 12.4, but every driver since has the problem.

To reproduce the BSOD I use a small script that runs on Windows startup. It executes clinfo.exe and then restarts the computer. Normally I see a BSOD within the hour, but sometime i takes longer (I've seen approximately 8 hours).

 

Best,

Jakob

 

 11/21/2013 05:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Best if you stick to 12.4 then. Not that you use the rig for gaming.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/22/2013 02:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jakob
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/21/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee Best if you stick to 12.4 then. Not that you use the rig for gaming.

 

 

I wish I could. There is a another problem with the 12.4 driver though.

 

The 12.4 driver will not spin the GPU up when there is no display connected to it. I use the GPU for computations only (OpenCL), and when it is headless the GPU clock and the GPU memory clock only run on 10%. And it is not an option to put at screen on the GPU. Thus I need a newer driver that will spin up without a display.

 

Best,

Jakob

 11/22/2013 05:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

GPUs don't spin, they're soldered in place. If you mean the clock speeds don't rise, there are tons of utilities to change them.

However, your problem is not using the cards for what they're meant to be used. You should be using FirePro or FireGL cards for this, Radeons are for gaming.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/22/2013 06:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jakob
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/21/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee GPUs don't spin, they're soldered in place. If you mean the clock speeds don't rise, there are tons of utilities to change them.

I'm not able to change the clock speeds with Catalyst unless I have a display attached to the GPU. Can you point me in direction of any other tools. A quick Google search didn't come up with anything.

 

 

Originally posted by: Eydee However, your problem is not using the cards for what they're meant to be used. You should be using FirePro or FireGL cards for this, Radeons are for gaming.

Well, I didn't choose the card.

 

Thanks,

Jakob

 11/22/2013 08:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: jakob I'm not able to change the clock speeds with Catalyst unless I have a display attached to the GPU. Can you point me in direction of any other tools. A quick Google search didn't come up with anything.

MSI Afterburner is one widely used tool for setting up clock speeds, fan speeds and stuff like that.

I have also found an interesting article -- which suggests you are seeing a feature, not a bug -- here. Do anything at your own risk though.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
86422 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.