Topic Title: Sapphire r7 260x 2gb OC Black screen freeze problem
Topic Summary: Maybe driver problem.
Created On: 11/24/2013 02:01 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/24/2013 02:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sunnyslow
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/24/2013

I'm posting my problem here, because its related to the new beta driver too. 
I've just bougt a sapphire r7 260x 2gb oc card. My problem is after I installed the betas including 9.2 I keep get black screen freeze after I exiting a game, or launching one. Sometimes working the car properly sometimes not...  Now I reinstalled the windows, I installed only the driver without control center.... it seems working fine, however after the 3d mark launched, in the middle of the test, I got black screen freeze again. In my theory.. it somhow related to the catalyst or else gpu/vga controlling program such as the msi afterburner. So a uninstall them or not install, and now seems to I able to play games normally.
What can be the problem? Could anybody help me? 
My system specs: Phenom II x4 965 3.4 @3.6, Motherboard: MSI 870A-G54 (MS-7599) bios version 17.18. 550 chieftech psu, 6 giga ddr3 ram r7260xvga, 13.11 9.4 catalyst driver, windows 7 professional x64 

 11/28/2013 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SirRavenous
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/28/2013

Same happens to me but i got r7 250 from gigabyte. Can somebody answer us? I'm trying to return Graphic card if problem continue...

I'm using Windows 7 Pro 64 bits and computer works fine. Tried with new Beta drivers and same...

Thanks

 11/28/2013 10:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashleylai87
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 11/26/2013

Originally posted by: Sunnyslow I'm posting my problem here, because its related to the new beta driver too. I've just bougt a sapphire r7 260x 2gb oc card. My problem is after I installed the betas including 9.2 I keep get black screen freeze after I exiting a game, or launching one. Sometimes working the car properly sometimes not...  Now I reinstalled the windows, I installed only the driver without control center.... it seems working fine, however after the 3d mark launched, in the middle of the test, I got black screen freeze again. In my theory.. it somhow related to the catalyst or else gpu/vga controlling program such as the msi afterburner. So a uninstall them or not install, and now seems to I able to play games normally. What can be the problem? Could anybody help me? My system specs: Phenom II x4 965 3.4 @3.6, Motherboard: MSI 870A-G54 (MS-7599) bios version 17.18. 550 chieftech psu, 6 giga ddr3 ram r7260xvga, 13.11 9.4 catalyst driver, windows 7 professional x64



Originally posted by: SirRavenous Same happens to me but i got r7 250 from gigabyte. Can somebody answer us? I'm trying to return Graphic card if problem continue...

I'm using Windows 7 Pro 64 bits and computer works fine. Tried with new Beta drivers and same...

Thanks




Have you guys try the 13.10WHQL drivers?

You can download 13.10WHQL here http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Windows+7+-+64

Just scroll down a bit at that site to find 13.10WHQL.

 11/29/2013 11:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3508
Joined: 03/01/2009

Id be more then happy to help anyone if they would read the big sticky, use its format, and fill out what is asked of you.  @ OP what card were you useing before you bought the 260x?



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 11/30/2013 06:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SirRavenous
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/28/2013

Originally posted by: Vantharas Id be more then happy to help anyone if they would read the big sticky, use its format, and fill out what is asked of you.  @ OP what card were you useing before you bought the 260x?

 

 

This is a new computer, clean install.

 11/30/2013 08:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sunnyslow
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/24/2013

I'm using a hd7770 ghz edition.. but I reinstall windows, and install the first beta driver.. it seems solved the problem...there isnt any black screen, but the memory stuck at 1650 mhz

 12/01/2013 10:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gruia
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 10/31/2013

I suggest you guys try the manufacturer drivers. The betas were not made for 260x )

People have been compalining since its release and they didnt address the issue.

we're the unlucku ones

 01/09/2014 08:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ToDoWaldi
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/09/2014

Hi.

I also have problems with black screen system freezes after which I have to reset my computer.

This is my system:

Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-H87-D3H

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1230 v3

SSD: Samsung SSD 840 Evo Series  250GB

Memory: 16 GB RAM

PSU: be quiet! Straight Power E9-CM 480W

Graphics: ASUS R7 260X-DC2OC-2GD5 DirectCU II OC

The black screens seem to be completely random.

Sometimes I have like three black screens a day and sometimes none for about 3-4 days. Already tested my memory with memtest86+ for about 15 hours, no errors.

Also tried different drivers: 13.12, 13.11 Beta, ASUS Manufacturer Drivers, Driver from Windows Update.

But none of them worked without black screen.

Is this still a driver issue or is it a hardware problem with the graphics card? Should I send my card back for replacement or wait for another driver release?

Can I somewhere see a crash log or something of the drivers?



Edited: 01/09/2014 at 08:55 AM by ToDoWaldi
 01/11/2014 02:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Screwloose
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/11/2014

I'm using a Sapphire R9 290 and it is doing the same thing. Tried  every "Remedy" I've found so far and none have worked.

 01/11/2014 06:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Chills
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/11/2014

Every time the problem of "Display driver has stopped working and has recovered" occurs, with the new (everything after 12.10) CCC the pc freezes and gets a bsod. With 12.10 and earlier there would only be a black screen flasing a few times and then the pc recovers without much issues.

 

I have a Radeon HD7770, which I noticed someone else in this thread has as well.

 01/14/2014 07:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ToDoWaldi
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/09/2014

bump?

 01/20/2014 04:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gruia
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 10/31/2013

have you tried the msi old drivers?

 02/09/2014 05:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WebsGhost
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 02/01/2014

hi guys

i got my pc a few weeks ago and i have the same video card

i'ts good for games but in the begining i had some issues with the BSOD

coz of the VIDEO_TDR_ERROR

i was able to resolve it with a help of some topic in the sticky on the forum

now i have this F**ing thing with the black screens (i have connected 2 screens to my pc)

and i have this thing not when the card is playing in some game, but for exemple when i wuch some video or somthing like that.

i have the most update drivers (not beta version)

have windows 7 64 bit SP 1 (updated)

it's make me nuts guys !

 

 02/09/2014 05:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: WebsGhost hi guys

 and i have this thing not when the card is playing in some game, but for exemple when i wuch some video or somthing like that.

  

Try using software rendering instead of hardware. In IE goto tools>internet options>advanced. Firefox and all browsers have similar settings.

Also, make sure you have disabled 'desktop composition' in the game exe file.

 TDR Issues in the FAQ section



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 02/09/2014 at 06:30 PM by stumped
 02/09/2014 10:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sparkedfire
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/06/2007

I have this problem too with an XFX brand card.  The issue is intermediate and can occur in a game, general Windows tasks or, most commonly, on a web browser.

 02/10/2014 07:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
talesw
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/10/2014

I have the same problem and I have same mobo Gigabyte GA-H87-D3H with i5 4440 and vga is Sapphire R7 260X 2GB OC GDDR5.

 02/12/2014 05:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WebsGhost
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 02/01/2014

Originally posted by: talesw I have the same problem and I have same mobo Gigabyte GA-H87-D3H with i5 4440 and vga is Sapphire R7 260X 2GB OC GDDR5.

 

 

hi, i have the same mobo and the same CPU with the same card !

i gave it to the pc store when i got it for them to find the problem

 

will update when they will tell me what is the problem

 02/12/2014 05:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WebsGhost
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 02/01/2014

Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: WebsGhost hi guys

 

 and i have this thing not when the card is playing in some game, but for exemple when i wuch some video or somthing like that.   

 

 

Try using software rendering instead of hardware. In IE goto tools>internet options>advanced. Firefox and all browsers have similar settings.

 

Also, make sure you have disabled 'desktop composition' in the game exe file.

 

 

 

 

 TDR Issues in the FAQ section

 

 

hi, and thansk for youre help, the problem is happening when my pc is in idle and not when it's loading games or something...

 

i gave it to the store for chaeking since they told me that i  have 3 years of garanty

 02/12/2014 10:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
talesw
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/10/2014

Originally posted by: WebsGhost
Originally posted by: talesw I have the same problem and I have same mobo Gigabyte GA-H87-D3H with i5 4440 and vga is Sapphire R7 260X 2GB OC GDDR5.  

 

 

 

 

 

hi, i have the same mobo and the same CPU with the same card !

 

i gave it to the pc store when i got it for them to find the problem

 

 

 

will update when they will tell me what is the problem

 

 

Ok, I will wait your reply, thanks!

 02/14/2014 08:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WebsGhost
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 02/01/2014

Originally posted by: talesw
Originally posted by: WebsGhost
Originally posted by: talesw I have the same problem and I have same mobo Gigabyte GA-H87-D3H with i5 4440 and vga is Sapphire R7 260X 2GB OC GDDR5.    

 

 

 

 

 

   

 

hi, i have the same mobo and the same CPU with the same card !  

 

i gave it to the pc store when i got it for them to find the problem  

 

   

 

will update when they will tell me what is the problem  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ok, I will wait your reply, thanks!

 

 

Hi guys - updates i got my card back yesterday.

in the store they said that the didn't found any problems at all, when i said that they need to check about this problem in this current forum they said that "we know that people say nonsense in those forums" what made me very mad !!

any way ufter that i called their call center and one of the costumer services guys talled me that he have the same card, and he installed older driver and that just fixed the problem and he downloaded the driver from Sepphire and not from AMD.

so i have tryed this to.

here is the download link if you have Windows 7 64 bit SP1 (if you have any other OS just pick it from the list of the "Operation system"):

BEFORE YOU INSTALLING THE NEW DRIVER PLEASE UNINSTALL ANY OLD VERSIONS OF YOURE DRIVER !

Link: Sapphire Drivers

Under the "Select Operation System" you need to press on the "+" that say's "Graphic Card Driver"

and download this one:


Oct 25, 2013 Catalyst V13.10 WHQL driver for Win7 , Win8 and Win8.1  Windows 7 64-bit  V13.10 WHQL 237 MB

for me it's working 1 day and still no f**cing black screens, i'll wish it'll stay like that.

 

please update if it helped you too



Edited: 02/14/2014 at 08:19 AM by WebsGhost
Statistics
85563 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.