Topic Title: Install package failure error
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/26/2013 09:54 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/26/2013 09:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aldebrandt
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/26/2013

Hey,

After installing the 8.1 update for windows, I had an "underscan" problem. I was told it could be fixed in the catalyst control center,but I was unable to open it. Thinking the install was corrupt, I wanted to do a clean install of CCC and my graphics card driver. The problem though, is that the installation always fail with an "install package failure" error. Now I can't get my graphics card to work, having no driver for it installed, and I'm a bit desperate.

Here are my computer specs :

Windows 8 64-bit

Intel core i-7 processor

Radeon HD 7500, but presently running on the basic microsoft one

Thanks for the help

 11/27/2013 04:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: aldebrandt do a clean install of CCC

How exactly? It looks like you corrupted your OS with some driver sweeper application.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/27/2013 12:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aldebrandt
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/26/2013

I did use a driver sweeper application, but only after having tried many other things that would supposedly fix my problem.

More info : Looking up on the event viewer, I see there's an error 1723 with msi, and that's before sweeping the old driver.

 

 11/27/2013 12:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

You never before used it on that system? Not even years ago? Something did corrupt your windows installer database.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/27/2013 01:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aldebrandt
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/26/2013

Never used one before! I got my pc in March 2013 and never had the need for one before.

Thanks for your time

edit : I've used sfc /scannow, and it didn't detect anything wrong.



Edited: 11/27/2013 at 01:56 PM by aldebrandt
 11/27/2013 02:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

The msi database is not a system file, so sfc won't find anything. The only solution I know of is reinstalling windows. I'm sure the problem is fixable (so you may want to contact M$ support), but I've never seen it myself, so I never had the chance to debug it. Without that, I cannot invent a solution unfortunately.

If you happen to be a geek, you may want to debug it yourself. What files, registry entries etc. it tries to reach, what function call fails etc. You may even hunt it down.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/28/2013 03:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Destroyer99
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/22/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee You never before used it on that system? Not even years ago? Something did corrupt your windows installer database.

Leaving left-over driver entries to interfere with NEW ones -- what could POSSIBLY go wrong? Lol...



-------------------------

i5 2500K @ 4.4GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 | 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz | Sapphire R9 290 | Corsair TX 650w | Mushkin Chronos Deluxe MX 120GB SSD | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty | ASUS 23" 1080p | Windows 8.1 Enterprise 64-bit

 12/19/2013 10:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
spikes525
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 02/27/2013

did you resolve your trouble

Statistics
85760 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.