Topic Title: Windows 8.1 crashes (VIDEO_SCHEDULER_INTERNAL_ERROR)
Topic Summary: Newly installed Windows 8.1 crashes with latest drivers for HD6870
Created On: 12/05/2013 05:40 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/05/2013 05:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Omega81
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/05/2013

Graphics Card
- AMD Radeon HD6870.
- No overclocking was done.

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
- Catalyst Version 13.9. Driver packaging Version 13.152.1.8-131008a-163824C-AT.

Operating System
- Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit
- This is a newly installed OS, the problem did not occur in Windows 8 64-Bit.

Issue Details
- The crashes happens randomly when i watch videos on Youtube or live streams on TwitchTV.
- The computer freezes for a second or 2 and immediately crashes, showing the windows 8 blue screen with the Bug Check String: VIDEO_SCHEDULER_INTERNAL_ERROR.
- BlueScreenView software shows Bug Check Code 0x119 caused by driver watchdog.sys. Additional drivers in stack: atikmdag.sys, atikmpag.sys, dxgmms1.sys, watchdog.sys.

Motherboard or System Make & Model
- Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H

Power Supply

- Enermax Liberty 400W (6 years old).


Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
- 22 Inch BENQ E2200 on DVI
- 42 Inch Panasonic TH-L42E30M on HDMI

Applications and Games
- I'm using Internet Explorer 11 on Windows 8.1.

CPU Details
- Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz, 3430 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s).
- No overclocking was done.

Motherboard BIOS Version
- BIOS Date: 03/09/12 21:06:40 Ver: 04.06.05

System Memory Type & Amount
- G.Skill DDR3-1600 PC3-12800 4096MB x 1 CL 11-11-11-28 1.5V (F3-1600C11D8GNT)

Additional Hardware
- 6 Internal Hard drives: 2x 500GB WD Raid 0 (OS), 1x 500GB WD, 3x Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ.

- 2 External Hard drives: 1x WD MyBook 1TB via USB2, 1x Transcend StoreJet 1TB via USB3.


Additional Details
- This is a newly installed OS due to problems i had with my previous Windows 8 OS, not related to graphics at all.
- I have tried the beta 13.11 driver but it made my display corrupted (green snow on screen). I did not find in AMD's website any previous drivers for Windows 8.1 64-Bit.

- The default windows display driver caused other issues so i had to install the driver from AMD.

 12/05/2013 05:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Omega81
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/05/2013

Here are 4 Dump files i've uploaded to my SkyDrive: https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=565B227BBA662BD9%21105

 12/05/2013 10:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4282
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Omega81 I'm using Internet Explorer 11 on Windows 8.1.

That might be an issue. IE is known to be the second worst browser in the world (after Steam) and has an outdated flash player. Flash was my first thought when I saw your thread.

So, first thing to do: Try a browser, and with up-to-date flash.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 12/06/2013 06:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Master Looter

Posts: 370
Joined: 08/21/2011

 

Maybe not root cause,but 400w psu?(mine (overkill?)from xfire tryout).



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 oem

 12/06/2013 06:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Omega81
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/05/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee
Originally posted by: Omega81 I'm using Internet Explorer 11 on Windows 8.1.

 

That might be an issue. IE is known to be the second worst browser in the world (after Steam) and has an outdated flash player. Flash was my first thought when I saw your thread.

 

So, first thing to do: Try a browser, and with up-to-date flash.

 

Thanks for your quick reply. Aren't all browsers use the same installation of Flash? I will try Chrome for a few days though to test, thanks!

 12/06/2013 06:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Omega81
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/05/2013

Originally posted by: goodplay  

 

Maybe not root cause,but 400w psu?(mine (overkill?)from xfire tryout).

 

I doub't the PSU has anything to do with this issue, It's is running fine for 6 years now :-) 3 of those with the graphics card! thanks for the suggestion though but unfortunately i do not have a different PSU to test with.

 12/06/2013 07:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Button Masher

Posts: 268
Joined: 11/27/2012

ROTF LMAO....  400W PSU...  6years old...  I think I just pee'd myself...  It's a wonder you haven't fried everything in your box.

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:


CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 12/06/2013 09:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Omega81
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/05/2013

Originally posted by: QB the Slayer ROTF LMAO....  400W PSU...  6years old...  I think I just pee'd myself...  It's a wonder you haven't fried everything in your box.

 

 

 

QB

 

Laugh all you want, it's the Enermax Liberty 400W and it proves to be a monster PSU still after all these years. Well worth its cost...

 12/06/2013 08:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Master Looter

Posts: 370
Joined: 08/21/2011

What F vers.bios(ga advised me to update to F15q(for win 8/8.1)).Also just noticed a few new mobo driver updates(going to download shortly(read release notes first)).

There is an article in ga forum on how to update bios.



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 oem

Statistics
81000 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.