Topic Title: R7 260x and low fps in WoW. suspecting driver problems
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/14/2013 01:15 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/14/2013 01:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skoozar
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/05/2008

I replaced a HD5750 with a R7 260x (2 GB). I am getting lower fps with the R7 in World of Warcraft.

My frame rates for the HD5750 was from 40-60 fps.  I think its a driver issue. I tried the 13.11 beta drivers and I got about 24 fps. I tried 13.10 and the fps increased to about 30-40 fps.


What version of drivers are being used that work good with WoW? I would like to try them out.

XFX R7 260x (2 GB)
13.11 beta, 13.10
Windows 7 64 bit (fresh install)
Issue Details:  Low fps in World of Warcraft. Settings set to default 'High'
Dell 8100 XPS studio
i7 2.8 mhz
8 GB

 12/14/2013 05:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gruia
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 10/31/2013

its not about a specific application. monitor you clocks

I'm pretty shure it limits your clock to something atrociuous.

Drivers are a pain. You should find one on the manufacturer site, and keep bugging them with providing a working one. AMD DOESNT GIVE 2 *****

 12/14/2013 05:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Just ignore the soap.

 

I think wow should give you hundreds of fps, as it's an ancient game. If it doesn't, it must be CPU limited. There's no way wow can max out a 260x and struggle at 24 fps.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 12/14/2013 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Soulbender
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/14/2013

Eydee you are wrong,i just ran into same problem with r7. 

It has really really bad drivers(i blame new catalyst control center), causing clocks to lock in place, especially the memory clock locks at 150mhz. Causing you low fps ingame, pretty much any game. Also new drivers are causing Recovery error, BSOD, etc.

I thougt it was faulty gpu but then i found out that if you delete the drivers and control center everything runs smooth and without crashes. 

And after some time i found working Catalyst pack provided by Sapphire ofc.

So skoozar,

1. completely unnistal ati software from program manager in control pannel.

2. restart computer

3. then go to this link

http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/product_index.aspx?pid=2040&lid=1#

4. select win 7 x64 and press submit

5. press + and download this pack 

Catalyst 13.20 WHQL Win7/Win8 driver for R7 260X series

after drivers are installed try running wow or other games, reply if this was helpful to you. 

Good luck,

Soulbender

 

 12/14/2013 10:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gruia
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 10/31/2013

@soulbender question, is your memory clock stuck at maximum also?

 12/15/2013 04:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Soulbender
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/14/2013

It is spiking from 150mhz to max, if i run a game it runs on max. Core clock on the other hand varies from 300-1150. 

That memory its still not perfect but games run really smooth so i dont bother with it

 

 

 12/15/2013 05:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Clocks are handled by the BIOS, so I'm not sure how it could be a driver issue. Go and contact the manufacturer of the card, explain the problem and ask for a BIOS update.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 12/15/2013 11:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skoozar
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/05/2008

That did it!

The sapphire drivers worked.  I am now hitting an average of 75 fps in WoW.  I haven't had the time to check other games, but more confident they will work fine.

Also, I would have never thought of going to another manufacturers site. Nice job!  

Thanks Soulbender

addendum: played some more today and hit 35 or so fps, with occasionally hitting way higher.  So annoying.  (but, some of its WoWs fault, its always been finicky)



Edited: 12/15/2013 at 09:36 PM by skoozar
 12/16/2013 05:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Soulbender
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/14/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee Clocks are handled by the BIOS, so I'm not sure how it could be a driver issue. Go and contact the manufacturer of the card, explain the problem and ask for a BIOS update.

 

 

Catalyst control center handles the clocks also, in this case it is preventing memory clock to go past 150mhz. (causing many issues)

If it was a bios problem, different driver + ccc wouldnt solve this problem.

And since so many people have problems with the newest drivers where they changed ccc, i can guarantee you that its faulty driver+ccc.

 12/16/2013 07:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Soulbender

 

And since so many people have problems with the newest drivers where they changed ccc, i can guarantee you that its faulty driver+ccc.

 

So many = 3 out of hundreds of thousands? o_O



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 12/16/2013 04:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gruia
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 10/31/2013

hey soulbender

https://www.asus.com/Graphics_Cards/R7260XDC2OC2GD5/#support

asus seems to have newer drivers for us. I'm scared to try

do you want to give it a go?

it might be the same driver

 12/18/2013 08:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gruia
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 10/31/2013

Dec 18, 2013    AMD_Catalyst_13.12_W7_W8_WHQL    Windows 7 64-bit    V13.12    242.76 MB

 

new driver for Sapphire !

 

I'm still not willing to try it )

 01/31/2014 04:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TrueSgt
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/31/2014

i did what he said to take the sapphire drivers and it worked after i installed them but i shut my computer off and turned it back on to play when i got home and its stuck at 300mhz core clock again.... what is going on im so confused

 02/10/2014 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nicholaix
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/10/2014

I am having same problem. Yikes what a pain in the a@@.

I have tried the drivers at the site you mentioned but didnt help me.

 

 03/23/2014 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rbreid2004
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 03/23/2014

i tried them noticed higher framerate at shrine. i guess only time will tell. i wish i would of spent that money on a nvidia card. bought a brand new asus essentio in febuary upgraded the power supply , and bought this card to get it up to gaming specs. i hope this works, only time will tell.

it sucks because this is all brand new equipment im even running a solid state drive. 1500 dollars just to crash playing world of warcraft. if this dont fix it im done with ati products.

 03/23/2014 06:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rbreid2004
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 03/23/2014

it was ok till i played with memory setting, i lowered it to 150 and it froze the computer. which means its definatley something on ati's part. i uninstalled catalyst control center and its running fine in wow. they just have something wrong with ccc i think. ill reply again if it freezes up but it has to do with the oc settings and drivers in ccc 

 

 

 

 03/24/2014 01:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rbreid2004
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 03/23/2014

played wow and raided most of last night without an incident. i am beginning to think its something to do with the oc features of catalyst control center, i removed ccc and everything is fine.

 

 03/24/2014 08:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: rbreid2004 it was ok till i played with memory setting, i lowered it to 150 and it froze the computer. which means its definatley something on ati's part. i uninstalled catalyst control center and its running fine in wow. they just have something wrong with ccc i think. ill reply again if it freezes up but it has to do with the oc settings and drivers in ccc 

 

 

 

CCC enabled does not mean your overclocked. It works fine if you leave the memory and gpu settings alone. All you are doing when you enable Overdrive is allow the timings to increase/decrease within its design parameters. The problem comes with unsmart people playing with the sliders when they have no idea what they are doing. Just enable it...and leave the rest alone except for power slider and fans.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/24/2014 10:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rbreid2004
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 03/23/2014

Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: rbreid2004 it was ok till i played with memory setting, i lowered it to 150 and it froze the computer. which means its definatley something on ati's part. i uninstalled catalyst control center and its running fine in wow. they just have something wrong with ccc i think. ill reply again if it freezes up but it has to do with the oc settings and drivers in ccc 

ive had this problem for over a month now, and its not considered unsmart to find the cause of the problem. with just the driver and no ccc there is no issue. the only unsmart thing i did was buy this product. and im stuck with it until i can fork out another couple of hundred bucks for a different card. it does the same thing regardless of what you do when ccc is installed. if you install ccc then unininstall it you still have the driver and it works fine. you just have to do without the percs that you spend 175 dollars on a card to begin with.  they just havent figured out how to make this a working card under win 8.1   im running a new asus essentio with an i7 4770 third gen processor 16 gi of memory 750 watt power supply and a 250 gig ssd for the master drive. the problem is not the consumer, its the junk card i just bought. if i was the only one here claiming there was a problem i might buy that but its obvious that we are just victims of a bunk video card. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CCC enabled does not mean your overclocked. It works fine if you leave the memory and gpu settings alone. All you are doing when you enable Overdrive is allow the timings to increase/decrease within its design parameters. The problem comes with unsmart people playing with the sliders when they have no idea what they are doing. Just enable it...and leave the rest alone except for power slider and fans.

 

 03/24/2014 11:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 804
Joined: 01/05/2013

Good point, stumped.

 

On second thought...you can leave the power slider alone, too.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

Statistics
85541 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.