Topic Title: R9 270x Not Decting
Topic Summary: Just installed, AMD auto detect won't pick it up
Created On: 12/20/2013 04:03 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/20/2013 04:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aanders50
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/20/2013

Graphics Card
- XFX Radeon R9 270x
-no overclock, all default

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
- Just installed the driver from the website, V 13.251.0.0

Operating System
- Windoes 8.1 64bit

Issue Details
- Just installed a new PSU and GPU today, the GPU was the r9 270x and psu is a 550W Thermaltake.
- Got everything securely hooked up and machine started up fine. However the CD drive will not read the AMD install disk, and when I try running the AMD autodetect it does not find anything either.
- I ran CPU-Z and it says just the "200 series" so I am assuming it still cannot find the 270x



Motherboard or System Make & Model
ASROCK H61M-HVS, uATX
- Chipset: Intel H61 


Power Supply

- Thermaltake Smart Series SP-550PCBUS 550W ATX 12C 2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply
 
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153172


Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
- Currently 1 HDMI hook up to a 42 or 46 inch insignia TV

Applications and Games

N/A

CPU Details
-Intel Core i5
- Speed: 3350P (3.10GHz)
- LR 3 Cashe Per CPU: 6MB
-CPU Socket Type: LGA 1155
-CPU 64 bit quad core processor max turbo frequency 3.3GHz

Motherboard BIOS Version
- Not sure, it is fully updated to ASROCK's current version though

System Memory Type & Amount
- 2 sticks of 4GB DDR3

Additional Hardware
N/A

Additional Details
-Everything in my machine (hardware-wise) is still default except the PSU and GPU I put in today: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883227443

-CD drive also won't show the install disk for the drivers...not sure what is going on there.

While this sits here I am going to redo all the connections of cables and make sure they are snug 

Updates:
CD was unplugged, got that going however I had to run the CD in compatability mode and the folders seemed to only have files up to win7...so I am not even sure if I should be using this. The version as it installs says 0.8.00.0915 as well, should I go back to the V12 off the website? 
Regardless, AMD auto-detect still finds nothing 



Edited: 12/20/2013 at 04:27 PM by aanders50
 12/20/2013 04:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

r BIOS > North Bridge Configuration, and set [Dual Graphics] to [Disabled].



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 12/20/2013 04:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aanders50
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/20/2013

Originally posted by: WMudrockJr r BIOS > North Bridge Configuration, and set [Dual Graphics] to [Disabled].

 

 

How do I do this? Sorry I am new to this whole thing.

 

EDIT: I found two folders.

North Bridge and South Bridge
I went under both and neither had a dual card disable feature.
They has this..
 



Edited: 12/20/2013 at 05:01 PM by aanders50
Statistics
85431 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.