Topic Title: 5th R9 280X doesn't work!?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/29/2013 09:10 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/29/2013 09:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
numenyan
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/29/2013

I plug 5 Gigybytes R9 280X graphics cards on Asrock H81 PRO BTC

The 5th card shows problem in devices and it doesn't work.

I use win 7.0 x64 and try the latest Catalyst driver 13.12 still have this problem.

Anyone plug 5 or 6 R9 280X on 1 motherboard and works correctly?

How can I resolve this problem? Is this the driver problem?

 12/29/2013 10:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1458
Joined: 07/13/2009

It would not surprise me if AMD only had support for four cards, having not anticipated people wanting to waste time and money generating fake currency.

You can report the bug to AMD, but I wouldn't hazard any guesses about whether or when it would be fixed.

I'm assuming, of course, that you've verified each card and slot individually, so that it's definitely down to the number of cards.

 

 12/29/2013 01:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
spyre
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 9121
Joined: 09/14/2007

If you had bothered doing any kind of basic research you would have seen Crossfire only supports a maximum of 4 GPUs. There are no plans to go higher than that since 99.9999999% of people wouldn't need it.

 12/29/2013 07:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1458
Joined: 07/13/2009

If you had bothered reading and doing a minimal amount of research on the hardware in question, you'd know that he's not trying to use Crossfire at all, but simply five graphics cards for GPU number crunching (albeit useless and wasteful, if it's fake currency mining).

 

 

 12/29/2013 09:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ibrennan
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/29/2013

Came across this thread on google, I'm having a very similar problem.  Although I haven't tried Windows yet, I'm having a similar problem with the H81 PRO BTC & 6x 280x GPUs on Linux.  The last thing I tried was actually VMware ESXi, which I can't even get to install unless there are 4 or less GPUs installed.

I'm pretty sure the problem is related to the ASRock BIOS lacking any settings for MMIO.  Other ASRock borards have an option for "Low MMIO Align" and I'm not sure why this one is lacking that.  I have a support request into ASRock, I'm sure it will be a bit until I hear back due to the holidays...

 12/31/2013 06:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BertMajor
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/31/2013

I can use 5 GPU using an MSI GD65 Z77A motherboard with the latest 13.12 catalyst drivers and windows 8.0, however, I would like to run six R9 270's...

The sixth card is shown in the device manager but it gives me an error message with an exclamation mark saying windows has disabled it because it is not behaving correctly. I'm pretty sure it's a driver issue. I know some people have had luck running 6 GPU's using different drivers, but I've tried many different ones without any success - must be something specific to my system's build.

I hope AMD fixes this problem considering it's cards have been selling out lately to people who are using them to mine. Cryptocurrency has caused AMD's stock to go up.

 12/31/2013 07:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

I wonder why people call it a driver issue when something that is not intended to work (aka not supported) doesn't work. I bet 800 cards don't work together either and that's not a driver issue.

Radeon cards are made for gaming, not for bitcoin mining. If you need that, get a few Tesla cards.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 12/31/2013 07:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12657
Joined: 04/17/2008

Seems like FirePro cards would be better since they can do double precision floating point calculations at full speed instead of 1/8th.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/31/2013 07:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Aren't those based on the X1xx series and moved to legacy/extinct?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 12/31/2013 08:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12657
Joined: 04/17/2008

You're thinking FireGL.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/31/2013 08:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ibrennan
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/29/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee I wonder why people call it a driver issue when something that is not intended to work (aka not supported) doesn't work. I bet 800 cards don't work together either and that's not a driver issue.

 

Radeon cards are made for gaming, not for bitcoin mining. If you need that, get a few Tesla cards.

 

 

lol to all of this, no

 12/31/2013 08:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: ibrennan

 

lol to all of this, no

 

Understood, Mr. CEO of AMD, lord of all Radeons. Surely it's based on your word, not AMD's...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 12/31/2013 10:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3509
Joined: 03/01/2009

I wish AMD would cripple fake money at a driver level.

That way there cards would be up for what they are actually worth, not 100+$ more. 

 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 12/31/2013 11:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12657
Joined: 04/17/2008

Fake money will cripple itself as it gets unprofitable to generate the same way Bitcoins have, and as more governments crack down on cryptocurrencies. I don't see how people make a profit from them once they spend over a grand in hardware and, what most people don't, the electricity costs, which are quite high in the Winter and Summer, and the highly variable nature of the market. Then when you cash them in you have to hope the government doesn't learn about it and slam you with a huge penalty for undeclared income. Also you have to pray the bottom doesn't fall out of the market and you lose everything in a matter of seconds.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/12/2014 02:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gh0st47
Nerfed

Posts: 55
Joined: 11/03/2012

Anyone notice his trying to do 5-Way Crossfire and not to mention on a H81 Mobo ?? H81 !? LOL ! ! THIS IS A GOOD JOKE GUYS ! !

Statistics
86405 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.