Topic Title: AMD Driver or OpenCL issue with Adobe Premiere and Photoshop - Lag/Crash
Topic Summary: Using R9 290s Graphics Accelleration in Premire and Photoshop cause these apps to lag and/or Crash
Created On: 12/31/2013 09:27 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/31/2013 09:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sack
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/26/2013

System

2 x Gigabyte R9 290 (crossfire disabled)
AMD GPU Driver: 13.12
Windows 7 64 bit
i7 2600K @ 4428Mhz
Asus p8z68 Deluxe (latest Bios)
8GB RAM
ASUS VG236H 23" 3D LCD x 3

Premiere Pro CC

I've been making videos in Premiere Pro for the past year with no problem, and this is my first attempt in the last month, having just re-formated my machine, installed CC and updated Graphics cards (from 2 x GTX 580s with which I had none of the below problems).
 
If I create a sequence, create a new 'Black Video' item, drag it to the timeline, then slide the playhead over the video, Premiere Crashes. Tried the same with just an imported JPG, Premiere Crashes.

If I just create a new project in Premiere. Wait for 20 sec, no crash. Import a jpeg to my project (no sequence created, didn't try and preview the jpg or anything), about 2 seconds later, Premiere Crashed. Looks as though by importing a jpeg, Premiere would crash as it tried to display the preview (in the project tab).

Temporary Fix

I went into my project settings (file > project settings > general) and changed the 'Video Rendering and Playback' from 'Mercury Playback Engine GPU Accelleration (OpenCL)' to 'Mercury Playback Engine Software Only'. Videos and Jpegs now playback fine, Premiere does not crash.... it would be nice though to use GPU accelleration of the R9 290s, but as much as I like my games, it's tempting to go back to the GTX 580s as I do a lot with the Adobe suite

Photoshop

I do a lot of professional digital painting, I noticed when using my Wacom Intuos5 (I usew the Cintiq 24HD with GTX580 at work), there was heaps of lag in painting with a standard brush. If I just did a slow stroke, the 'paint' would be lagging behind the brush 5-10mm onscreen.

I tried setting the 'Use Graphics Processor' down to Normal and Basic, and it got worse. I turned 'Use Graphics Processor' off completely which resulted in no real discernible lag, feels very natural as it did with the Nvidia cards. However, because this is turned off, I loose any GPU 'accelerated' advantages like animated zoom, 3D etc.

Temporary Fix

Turn 'Use Graphics Processor' off in preferences.



-------------------------

i7 2600K @ 4428Mhz | Asus p8z68 Deluxe | 8GB RAM | 2 x Gigabyte R9 290 | X-Fi Ti | 5TB | Silverstone Strider 1500W | SilverStone FT02B Fortress | Win7 64bit | ASUS VG236H 23" 3D LCD x 3 | Logitech G19 KB and G9 Mouse

 12/31/2013 10:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Do other OCL programs work? (Like the demos in GPU Caps Viewer.) Just asking because Adobe has never ever written a stable program.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/01/2014 02:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sack
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/26/2013

Hi, just downloaded and ran some OpenCL demos with no problem.

While I appreciate what you say about Adobe software (having been in the publishing and design industry for 20 years), the CC suite was pretty flawless with the Nvidia cards.... I'm still running my GTX 580 at work and graphics accelleration works fine. I have posted this info on the Adobe forums also.



-------------------------

i7 2600K @ 4428Mhz | Asus p8z68 Deluxe | 8GB RAM | 2 x Gigabyte R9 290 | X-Fi Ti | 5TB | Silverstone Strider 1500W | SilverStone FT02B Fortress | Win7 64bit | ASUS VG236H 23" 3D LCD x 3 | Logitech G19 KB and G9 Mouse

 01/01/2014 05:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

I'm pretty sure it's not the same code running on the two brands. It never is.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
86429 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.