Topic Title: Dell UP3214Q and XFX R7 260x
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/04/2014 07:00 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/04/2014 07:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LV-426
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/04/2014

Hi,

I've been trying for hours now but it does not work the way I want it.

Hardware (my Office Rig):

Asus P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K, 16GB Ram

XFX R7 260X Core Edition, specs say it supports Displayport 1.2 which is why I ordered it, the old GTX 650 did not have a DP connector

 

Monitor 1 Dell U2713HM connected via DVI (which works fine on the 260X)

Monitor 2 Dell U3214Q connected via DP and set thje Display Settings to DisplayPort 1.2 enable (this is available in the monitors menu)

 

Software

Windows 7 64 Pro

Catalyst 13.12 and 13.11beta 9.5 tried both with the same result (does not work the way I want it)

 

Issue I have, the Dell UP3214Q is only driven with 1920x2160@60 and I have only found a way to get to 3840x2160 but with 30hz which I do not like.

If I set the Display Settings in the monitor  to "Displayport 1.2" disable, I can get the display to show 3840x2160@30, but I do not want that.

 

I can rule out the cable(s). I tried a DP to DP and DP to miniDP, both with the same issues on the 260X. Both cables work on my second rig here (with a GTX780) and show the full 3840x2160@60

 

Properties of "My Digital Flatpanels" in the Catalyst shows me:

Display name: DELL UP3214Q

Maximum reported resolution 1920x2160

Maximum reported refresh rate 60 Hz

Multi stream transport capable: Yes

 

Is there someone who knows a way to get that panel working with 3840x2160@60 with a 260X?

Let me know if you need more information

Thanks in advance

 

 01/29/2014 02:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hclarkx
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/16/2014

Do you still have this problem?  Let me know if you do and I'll go into more detail.  For now though, I have the UP2414Q and have it working at 60 Hz refresh (though it sometimes slips back to 30 Hz).  The DP 1.2 can work in 3840x2160 at 30 Hz or two side-by-side monitors (the two halves of your 3840x2160) in MST mode with each being 1920x2160 at 60 Hz.  If uninstalling the driver in Device Manager and re-starting does not get you into the dual monitor MST mode (sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't for me) then use Eyefinity in CCC to set your 3214Q up as two monitors each at 60 Hz (use Windows Screen Resolution and Advanced Settings to see the 60 Hz mode and set the refresh at 60 Hz.  Eyefinity won't show with just the 3214Q monitor connected if the driver picks up the monitor and goes to 60 Hz automatically.  But, you have two monitors and so Eyefinity should be visible.

In my experience the AMD drivers (all recent ones) are not very stable with 3840x2160 monitors and your settings may not stick.

Also, set up the U3214Q first, get it working correctly, then connect the second monitor and add it via Eyefinity.  I wasted a week before learning this trick.  I also gave up on the second monitor until AMD is better able to handle the 3840x2160 res monitors.

 02/09/2014 05:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LV-426
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/04/2014

Sorry for the late reply.

 

I have three kinds of problems, depending on which Catalyst I use.

 

Mid January I found the AMD_13.30_RC3_Win8.1_Win8_Win7_Jan13_2014 for download, and installed them over the 13.12 officials which only gave me 1960x2160@60.

Looks good at first (full res, yay) but feels kind of laggy in desktop mode. Checking for refresh rate, 30Hz, ah great.

 

Better than 1920x2160 over the full display. Half the refresh rate, but for desktop, you'll get used to the lag.

 

Today I tried the 14.1 Betas, hoped for a better result, but yea well, did not work.

3214 displayed the right half of the 3840x2160 full screen, the 2713 does not display anything. Try to adjust something in CCC when the windows is opening in the left half of the screen and you can't see it

 

Finally I managed to get the 14.1 removed and got back to the 13.30 RC3 which provide full res on both monitors. Only 30Hz on the 3214 but well.

 

I'm waiting for the next official WHQL Drivers, try them, although I do not expect them to work.

 

3 Versions 3 results, funny. Maybe the next WHQL gives me the the signal on my 2713 back

Statistics
84280 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.