Topic Title: Driver fail to install
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/09/2014 10:09 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/09/2014 10:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cloud_2901
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/09/2014

Graphics Card:

AMD RADEON PowerColor R9 270X

Catalyst Version:

Attempting to install latest, none able to install

Operating System:

Windows 7 64-bit Fully updated apart from IE9

CPU:

Intel i5 4440

Motherboard:

ASROCK H87M PRO4

Power Supply:

Antec 520M

System Memory:

8GB Dual-channel "Ripjaws"

Display Device:

Samsung Syncmaster 2253BW

DVI -> DVI

Issue Details:

Computer will only display when monitor is plugged into onboard graphics.

Drivers won't install, it fails to install the AMD Catalyst Install Manager. "application install: install package failure!"

Attempting to manually update drivers through the device manager and directing it to the appropriate folder also does not work, it says it can't find the drivers for my "unkown device".

I have attempted the solutions from http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-1875663/amd-catalyst-drivers-installing-application-install-install-package-failure.html with no success.

I keep reading in posts on here "you must have used a driver cleaner", initially I did not, and got this error right from the get-go. I have attempted to use one after this problem, as per the post linked above, with nothing still after plugging in the DVI cable to the video card.

Nothing displays at any stage of boot-up when plugged into video card, onboard works fine, apart from being unable to play any games...

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated, hoping I don't have a dead card and there's something I've missed..



Edited: 01/09/2014 at 10:37 PM by cloud_2901
 01/09/2014 10:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12366
Joined: 04/17/2008

Disable your on-board graphics in BIOS.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/09/2014 10:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cloud_2901
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/09/2014

The BIOS is set to default to the PCI-E slot, but still nothing but a black screen when I boot up with it plugged into the video card.

 01/10/2014 01:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4872
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: cloud_2901 Computer will only display when monitor is plugged into onboard graphics.

That means you have a faulty card. End of story. RMA it.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 05/02/2014 10:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cgceliksoy
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/02/2014

Originally posted by: Eydee
Originally posted by: cloud_2901 Computer will only display when monitor is plugged into onboard graphics.

 

That means you have a faulty card. End of story. RMA it.

 

 

hello,

i just bought the same graphics card and i have the same issues with the friend typed.what do you mean with faulty card?should i go back and change it from where i bought?

 05/02/2014 10:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4872
Joined: 12/27/2008

Everyone say they have the same issue even if they don't. Would you please take a look at the thread called "read before posting" and provide detailed info, so we can decide if it's indeed the same issue?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 05/02/2014 10:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cgceliksoy
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/02/2014

graphics card

-sapphire dual-x r9 270x aöd radeon r9 series

amd catalyst driver version,and driver history

-i dont have any installed now,history:idk but formatted 5 times so if its important im not sure but it was amd and i had ccc///vga msi r6790-pm2d1gd5/oc (this was the previous graph card)

Operating System

-windows 7 ultimate 64bit fully updated

cpu

-intel core i5-2400 3.1-3.4

Motherboard

-msi h61m-p21 b3 2xddr3-1333

System Memory

-4gb kingston 1333mhz ddr3 x2

power supply

-oemaks s-link sl-p415 sata power

display device

-lg 24mn43d

i use with hdmi cable

Issue Details

-i have read and tried everything in this forum but only display when i plug into onboard graph.i always get "application install:install package failure".i tried to install from cd and downloaded from website but didnt solve anyways.

 

any help would be nice.thank you.

 05/03/2014 01:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cgceliksoy
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/02/2014

i have fixed my problem ty anyways

Statistics
84869 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.