Topic Title: Unable to Update to 13.12 Drivers !
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/11/2014 10:27 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/11/2014 10:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gh0st47
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 11/03/2012

Hey guys bought new 280X Toxic , so here what I did updating and upgrading.

1) I used Program and Features , AMD Catalayst Install Manager Express Uninstall ALL AMD Drivers. 
2) Restart PC , boot up all fine ( But I have MSI Afterburner , so I went and check it shows Catalysts 12.11 )
3) Shut down PC , remove my old HD 7870 , installs new R9-280X Toxic
4) Donwload latest Drivers from AMD Website , 13.12
5) Express Install
6) Restart PC , boot up all fine.
7) Check CCC still shows Catalayst 12.11 same goes for MSI Afterburner
8) Download 13.12 from Sapphire Webpage , and just Install it without uninstalling the Drivers , was able to Install , restart PC , boot up fine. 
Still shows Catalyst 12.11....

What's going on ?? What I did wrong ??  First time I got such a ridiculous problem with updating Drivers...

Step 1 - 7 it's what I did following this site , I've asked many people they said this is the best method , my friend used this too , but they were able to get to 13.12

http://www.overclockersclub.com/guides/cg_installing_drivers_amd/ 

 01/11/2014 10:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7068
Joined: 11/13/2009

There are many posts in the forum about that. It is a know error...it generally reads out the driver number you had before installing them. You have the correct drivers. It's cosmetic so don't worry be happy.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/11/2014 11:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gh0st47
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 11/03/2012

Do you have 13.12 running now ?

Cause , look  at it , if it's PREVIOS , it's showing 12.11 , a freaking old driver . my previous Driver was 13.9... 

That's why it's worrying me...also I thought 13.12 have this new feature 
PowerTune on the Overdrive section ??

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/graphics/2013/10/24/amd-radeon-r9-290x-4gb-review/12

Or is this for only 290 and 290X ?? If so Im such a dumbass expecting this feature on my card then... 

Anyways I did a comparison with my friend with his 13.12 Drivers it seems everything matches , does that mean Im fine ??

Driver Packaging Version
13.251-131206a-165817C-ATI

Catalyst Version ( EXCEPT THIS , THIS MY FRIEND SHOW 13.12 ) 
12.11

2D Driver Version
8.01.01.1360

2D Driver File Path /REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/ControlSet001/Control/CLASS/{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0002

Direct3D Version
9.14.10.01001

OpenGL Version
6.14.10.12618

AMD Catalyst Control Center Version
2013.1206.1603.28764

AMD Audio Driver Version
7.12.0.7717

 01/11/2014 11:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7068
Joined: 11/13/2009

Yes you have the 13.12 drivers. You can do a forum search and find a few posts about it, one of them tells you how to change the numbers yourself..if it bothers you.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/11/2014 11:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gh0st47
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 11/03/2012

I think Im hearing a slight coil whine from my GPU is it normal ? 
Not frequeshly high pitch ( unless producing 2000 - 3000 FPS yes that will have high pitch even with my HD 7870 )
But now during load there's a soft sort of coil whine sound I think it's coil whine from the 8P Power Socket section of the GPU , I have to put my ears next to the GPU to hear it though I cant hear it if Im sitting on my chair about 1 Metres away only 

Statistics
84280 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.