Topic Title: Custom Resolutions & Image Scale, Settings in CCC Drivers.
Topic Summary: I want the Custom Resolutions and Screen Scale to be Stretched Fullscreen
Created On: 01/18/2014 06:19 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/18/2014 06:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toxsickcity
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/18/2014

Hi there,

 

I need to make some custom resolutions become stretched fullscreen instead of scaling it to be displaying on the center of my screen with black borders.

I have tried many resolutions and only 1 resolution will scape properly. (2560x1440) this will display beautiful on my 4k.

 

But other resolutions have borders. I think the 2560 is a well known resolution and that's why it scales correctly. But to force it on my screen it needs to be set as a custom resolution by adding it to registry.

Hardware I have tried..

R7 240 2GB, R7 250 2GB, 7790 2GB, R9 270X 2GB

And my current 280X

I have tried on both my i7 LGA 2011 & my Richland apu systems

both have this issue

I have tried with all beta 13.11's and 13.12

 

Advanced info:

I have a 4k tv displaying 2160p

I have setup custom resolutions via regeditor in the DALNonStandardModes

simply adding the resolutions allows the resolution to be used on the pc.. Eg

Hex values

25 60 14 40 00 00 00 00 will create a resolution in the control panels of 2560 x 1440

I want resolutions like

3360 x 1890

3200 x 1800

2880 x 1620

2560 x 1440 (Displays perfectly)

the other resolutions show black borders and not fill the desktop area

how can I fix this or how can i force the resolutions into fullscreen stretched

 

thanks



Edited: 01/29/2014 at 08:18 PM by toxsickcity
 01/24/2014 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OldMan68
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/24/2014

Hi,

I don't really know your hardware, but I know, that digitally displays are sourced "pixel per pixel". So I think, the only way to stretch might be in the displays themselves...

 

Only suggestions... hope it can help

 

OldMan



-------------------------
The mostly mistakes are in front of keyboard ;-)
 01/29/2014 08:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
toxsickcity
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/18/2014

Hi..

 

Thanks for the reply.

It is a possibility that it is Dependant on screen tech.

But I had a gtx660ti and for a while I kind of remember the screen scaling being more advanced.. 

 

I hope AMD reads these forums and allows some kind of fix to allow this to happen as 1080p looks crap on my 4k TV.

 

It needs to be a resolution above 2160p to get descent looking scale. The TVs 4k to 1080p converter sux so I depend on the graphics card to scale an image above 1080p

 

I love 4k but my 280X is taxed too much at this resolution

 

Please please please AMD make custom screen resolutions and screen scale at 2880x and higher. Please also add some more advanced settings.

 01/30/2014 01:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 325
Joined: 11/27/2012

You should look into LAV Filters and madVR...  And even ReClock.

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 01/30/2014 06:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nikkel
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/17/2013

Try to see if its not the screen itself you can set...?

Dunno if it applies to 4k monitors as well but I know some lcd/led panels you can set to its native full setting on the display itself... 

Statistics
84684 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.