Topic Title: Force maximum performance clocks
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/18/2014 11:18 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/18/2014 11:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CustardInc
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/18/2014

I'm running a windforce 7950 clocked at 1000MHz out of the box, with no further overclocking, using Catalyst version 13.12. I've been trying to get my GPU to run at max clock speed, because when I'm using it any game (other than CSGO) it clocks itself at 900MHz max, and I feel like I'm not getting the performance I should be. I went to the help section on CCC but it must be outdated, because it tells me I can force max clock speeds by doing the following

'Right-click the Control Center system tray icon in the Windows® system tray (taskbar notification area), point to 3D Settings > Force Maximum Performance Clocks, and then select one of the following:'

But the option isn't there, if someone could tell me how to force max clock speeds, that'd be awesome

 01/18/2014 02:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

That option is only there for laptops. You can force max. clocks with 3rd party software (maybe Afterburner, Radeonpro, ATT etc.) or by editing the BIOS.

However, think about it: is it really worth it? Yes, you'll have 342 fps instead of 339, your epeen gets larger. Still, there's more power consumption, more heat, risk of bricking the card etc. The card downclocks itself because of

1. overheating

2. idleing (slow CPU, crappy console port etc.)

3. outdated bios (ask the manufacturer)

4. etc.

 



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/18/2014 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CustardInc
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/18/2014

Overheating isn't a problem, I run the fans at 35% and it stays around 70deg celsius and the clock speed doesn't vary depending on temperature, my CPU isn't bottlenecking anything and I'm not playing any crappy ports, I doubt my bios is outdated. Also yes, until mantle comes out, I can't run BF4 as well as I should be able to

Statistics
85510 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.