Topic Title: I really messed up
Topic Summary: I cannot log into my computer, because the keyboard and mouse won't work
Created On: 01/18/2014 12:12 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/18/2014 12:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mbar57
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/18/2014

I need to preface this with the old I'm a newbie.  I've been having trouble getting the Overdrive and Catalyst Control to play nice.  So I decided to uninstall and start over.  I started the process and walked away, when I returned my main display was black so I couldn't do anything.  Here's where I screwed up, I restarted the computer!!( please don't tell me how stupid that was) So now when I get to the Windows password screen, I have no keyboard or mouse.  They work in the bios, but as soon as Windows boots they shut off.  I think it's a driver issue but I really don't know.  I have the AMD A10 5800k on a MSI FM2-A75MA-E35 mobo, with two 8 gb DDR3 1600 Kingston memory module.  I'm really stuck!! Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you, Michael

 01/18/2014 12:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12233
Joined: 04/17/2008

Press F8 during boot and select Last Known Good Configuration and use System Restore. If that doesn't work, use Safe Mode and System Restore. If you disabled it, just reinstall the latest drivers or the drivers from your motherboard's CD. I suspect you uninstalled the USB driver which AMD stubbornly refuses to remove from the express uninstall.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/18/2014 02:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Getting an older PS/2 mouse and using it while you reinstall USB drivers may also help.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/18/2014 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mbar57
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/18/2014

WOW!! Thank you so much.  I had tried everything except the f8 button, my disk drive wouldn't work either.  The restore worked, I'm up and running again.  Now I just have to look around here and figure out how to make overdrive and catalyst work together and I'm golden.  I wish there were a way to repay you, I seriously doubt you'll be needing my help with anything so just know that the new guy appreciates the help without being told how dumb he is.

 01/18/2014 02:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mbar57
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/18/2014

Sorry edy!! I didn't see your post in my elation.  Thank you, I did actually try every, mouse and keyboard I have, and couldn't get anything to work.

 01/18/2014 04:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12233
Joined: 04/17/2008

The AMD AHCI driver is also selected by default on the Express Uninstall, which causes a BSOD on boot. Never choose Express Uninstall.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/18/2014 05:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: black_zion The AMD AHCI driver is also selected by default on the Express Uninstall, which causes a BSOD on boot. Never choose Express Uninstall.

Rather never use the AMD AHCI driver. Use the one the motherboard manufacturer provides.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/18/2014 07:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mbar57
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/18/2014

O.K. guys.  We need to slow down here a second This ACHI driver, what is AHCI?  And how do I go about using another one?  And as for overclocking with the overdrive, I can't change the voltages for the memory, but it has everything in my BIOS locked so I can't adjust anything in there.  Not that I really want to mess with the memory because every time I have the system crashes.  I mean if I change one # it crashes.  would I be better off just getting rid of the overdrive and trying to figure this out in the BIOS?  Is there a good thread or site or something I can go to that explains what all the #'s in the memory mean and how to go about overclocking? 

 01/18/2014 09:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12233
Joined: 04/17/2008

AHCI - Advanced Host Command Interface, it's a way for SATA drives to increase performance. You can do a search for "new overclocker" guides to give you a good start, but always do it in BIOS and go slowly.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/18/2014 10:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mbar57
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 01/18/2014

Thanks zion, I know that dealing with inexperienced people can be really frustrating, if I'm being a pain in the ass just tell me and I'll back off. I was just trying to get into the bios using the run msconfig way that you had described in another post. I wound up booting up without any updated drivers. I'm a moron lol.  But ant way this overdrive has my uefi bios all locked to auto.  I figured out why I kept getting black screened.  I had reset my bios and went back in and did my standard stuff like turn off the spread spectrum and I put my memory at 1600 because it defaults to 1333 and that's what was giving me the issue.  So I have to figure out how to get my bios to let me back in?!? I don't know.  Thanks for everything, you've been a great help.

Statistics
84249 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 9 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.