Topic Title: Monitor Sleep issue
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/19/2014 02:43 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/19/2014 02:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AcIvI
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/19/2014

Hi

Since Driver 13.11Beta and now with 13.12 I have a strange problem with my Radeon HD7970 and the two monitors.
I'm using Windows 8.1 x64, but I had the same problem with Windows 8 x64.
The energy options are set to turn off the monitors after 15minutes.
Sometimes this works like a charm, but more often one monitor turns off and the other one stays on and shows some strange pattern, which changes all the time
Here's a picture of this pattern: 
https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=298033BFFD625399%211091

As said. with 13.9 this didn't happen.

With 13.11Beta or 13.12 it happens in 3 out of 4.

Can somebody tell me where to look, or how to change this?

 

Here are my details:

 

Graphics Card
Sapphire HD 7970 3G GDDR5 PCI-E (21197-00)

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
13.12, 13.11Beta several versions, 13.10 don't remember which.
13.9 worked and all previously also

Operating System
Windows 8.1 x64
also tested with Windows 8 x64

Issue Details
as writen above

Motherboard or System Make & Model
ASUS P9X79 Deluxe

Power Supply

Seasonic X-660 (SS-660KM Active PFC F3) 660W

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
2 Dell U2712
both contected with Minidisplay to Displayport Adapter and DisplayPort cable


It would be nice to solve this issue without downgrading to 13.9.

Thanks for your suggestions and help

 02/01/2014 04:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AcIvI
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/19/2014

No one? No Suggestions?

Am I really the only one with this problem?

 03/14/2014 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hcallesis
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/14/2014

I've had the problem crop up twice in the last few months. It's so far in between I can't tell what the two occasions might have had in common. The only difference is in my case monitor #2 still shows the desktop but flashes. I'm able to interact with the desktop enough to close whatever windows might be open on that monitor, and since I have my taskbar on monitor 2 as well I can close windows open on the other monitir as lone as they don't require interaction to do so. Today though I did experience a BSOD after closing the windows I could and trying a CTL/ALT/DEL to see if I could close down cleanly that way as I have a virtual machine window open on monitor 1 and couldn't interact with it to close it. The BSOD mentioned the video driver but I don't remember the exact words.

Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit, Catalyst suite 13.12, driver 13.251, 2D driver 8.01.01.1360, PowerColor 7970 3GB 1100MHz core, 1425MHz memory, 2 24" monitors set to 1920x1080 attached via DVI (2 connectors on card)

 03/14/2014 05:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wunoone
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/14/2014

need help

?

any1here

 03/14/2014 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wunoone
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/14/2014

10minutes: N0response

IF

any1sees this:

 

WHITE  SCREEN

upon opening.

N0 start-up menu.

N0thing . . .

 

0nly access is

evidently

clickPOWER off'n'on

till

accidently

?

trick'd into 0pening

GatewayScreen

 03/14/2014 10:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4883
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: AcIvI No one? No Suggestions?

 

Am I really the only one with this problem?

 

Suggestion:

Control panel -> Power options -> Chenge plan settings -> Turn off the display -> Never

Control panel -> Power options -> Chenge plan settings -> Put the computer to sleep -> Never

You know, this is on the list to do right after OS install... Unless is't a mobile phone... But if it is, what are you doing here?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 03/16/2014 04:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SirDavid255
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/16/2014

I've had this problem while playing BF4. After 15 minutes of gameplay it'd just put my monitor to sleep mode without it being able to wake up though.

Best of luck.

 07/16/2014 05:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fxv300
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/16/2014

Hi, my monitor does not recover from sleep mode. When I wiggle the mouse the front LED turns blue from amber and I can see the display backlight but no content. I press keys on kb but no display.When I remove the Display Connector from the GPU (Sapphire Dual-X Radeon R9 270X OC 2GB GDDR5 Graphics Card with Boost) and plug it back in the display returns. The display connection is via Display Port.This never happened in w7 64. I recently moved to W8.1 about a month ago and the problem has been consistent since then whenever I turn sleep on for the monitor. When you wake the monitor up the amber button turns blue but display is blank. I have removed Catalyst and re-installed (v14.4) but problem still exist.
As this never happened in W7 I suspect it is a drivers issue.
Any advice greatly appreciated.
Frank
http://sites.google.com/site/tecchie2011/

 



-------------------------

ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX
AMD 1100T 6 Core 3.3Ghz 16G Ram W8.1 64 Bit , MS Office 2010
DVB-S (AzureWave AD-SP400)...Cooler=Corsair Liquid Cooler HD60
Monitor=ZR24w
Sapphire R9 270X 2G DDR5



Edited: 07/16/2014 at 05:51 AM by fxv300
 07/17/2014 03:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fxv300
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/16/2014

Hi, I installed 14.7 yesterday and have had mixed results. With the timer set to 1 minute I could see it going to sleep and have successfully woken up the system BUT not every time , sometimes it works and sometimes it does not ....kinda similar to what I had before so this may not be the fix. Anyone else experienced this ?>>

When the video does not show I can fix by unplugging the video cable and replugging and this will restore the video to the monitor.>>



-------------------------

ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX
AMD 1100T 6 Core 3.3Ghz 16G Ram W8.1 64 Bit , MS Office 2010
DVB-S (AzureWave AD-SP400)...Cooler=Corsair Liquid Cooler HD60
Monitor=ZR24w
Sapphire R9 270X 2G DDR5

 07/22/2014 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fxv300
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/16/2014

ANy from AMD care to comment /offer advice ??



-------------------------

ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX
AMD 1100T 6 Core 3.3Ghz 16G Ram W8.1 64 Bit , MS Office 2010
DVB-S (AzureWave AD-SP400)...Cooler=Corsair Liquid Cooler HD60
Monitor=ZR24w
Sapphire R9 270X 2G DDR5

 07/22/2014 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slavearm
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/18/2014

Same issue... been having this in crossfire for months now.  So sick of these stupid AMD driver issues.  Crossfire on 280s has been nothing but a pain in the butt for the last 7 months I have had it.  Never  had so many problems with graphics adapters in my life.



-------------------------
 07/23/2014 02:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fxv300
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/16/2014

What is the point of having an AMD forum if the AMD Tecchies ignore it....all you have to say is "This is a known issue" etc and that you will try and provide a fix not just ignore your customers.  Not good.

 



-------------------------

ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX
AMD 1100T 6 Core 3.3Ghz 16G Ram W8.1 64 Bit , MS Office 2010
DVB-S (AzureWave AD-SP400)...Cooler=Corsair Liquid Cooler HD60
Monitor=ZR24w
Sapphire R9 270X 2G DDR5

 08/02/2014 03:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fxv300
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/16/2014

I am experiencing a crash when I boot up, then after a few seconds 14.7 is in system tray. Seems to work but should I worry?

 

Driver version : 14.20.1004-140709a-173735E

Any sign of a fix for the Monitor sleep issue ?

 

 



-------------------------

ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX
AMD 1100T 6 Core 3.3Ghz 16G Ram W8.1 64 Bit , MS Office 2010
DVB-S (AzureWave AD-SP400)...Cooler=Corsair Liquid Cooler HD60
Monitor=ZR24w
Sapphire R9 270X 2G DDR5

 08/04/2014 03:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fxv300
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/16/2014

The silence is deafening !



-------------------------

ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX
AMD 1100T 6 Core 3.3Ghz 16G Ram W8.1 64 Bit , MS Office 2010
DVB-S (AzureWave AD-SP400)...Cooler=Corsair Liquid Cooler HD60
Monitor=ZR24w
Sapphire R9 270X 2G DDR5

 08/04/2014 08:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jigzaw
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/29/2014

After trying use all the window os fixes for this for years, I did stumbled on a setting on the CPU voltage vis a vis with the CPU NB voltage onf my fx6300 and 6350 on Win 7 64 bit home. I was trying to undervolt  these processors and discovered it affects the the wake up state of the pc and video. The PC may be on but  the video is didn't get out of the state. Usually on your default CPU voltage move to the next increment and check if it resolves the matter when you invoke sleep and wake. If it still doesn't wake increase the next voltage increment on CPU NB. I found results usually fixes the problem after 2 incremental voltage increase. I then decrease the cpu voltage to point it works both ways. Hope this works for you unless your OS  is really bug at the registry level. That is o hard to figure out.

Regards and good luck

 08/05/2014 04:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fxv300
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/16/2014

Thanks for the reply, but the issue is definetly OS related or video drivers. I dual boot this unit W7 64 and w81 64.....W7 does not have a problem.

The weird thing is that it is not consistent, one day it works then it fails to load. When it fails I pull out the video cable from the GPU and replug it and away it goes...back to working.

 



-------------------------

ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX
AMD 1100T 6 Core 3.3Ghz 16G Ram W8.1 64 Bit , MS Office 2010
DVB-S (AzureWave AD-SP400)...Cooler=Corsair Liquid Cooler HD60
Monitor=ZR24w
Sapphire R9 270X 2G DDR5

 08/05/2014 12:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SORM
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 05/18/2014

Has same issue, use this link to report issue.

 08/05/2014 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4014
Joined: 01/27/2008

I can't believe this nonsense still happens. I upgraded my computer #1 to win8.1 and cat 14.4 whql and now it won't enable the monitor when returning from sleep mode.

It was fine with Vista and cat 12.10. Has anyone had an 8.1 catalyst version that is problem free in this regard?

 



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 08/05/2014 01:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fxv300
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 07/16/2014

yes my gut feeling is that it is a software issue as my system works ok on w7.

But fails on w8.1 with 14.4 and now 14.7



-------------------------

ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX
AMD 1100T 6 Core 3.3Ghz 16G Ram W8.1 64 Bit , MS Office 2010
DVB-S (AzureWave AD-SP400)...Cooler=Corsair Liquid Cooler HD60
Monitor=ZR24w
Sapphire R9 270X 2G DDR5

Statistics
84974 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.