Topic Title: Windows 8.1 task bar flickering
Topic Summary: After installing Catalyst 13.12 my Windows task bar flickers
Created On: 01/19/2014 11:41 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/19/2014 11:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nicholas Green
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/19/2014

Issue
The Windows task bar on my primary monitor flickers, whether the taskbar is visible or hidden. (This did not occur prior to upgrading to 13.12).

It does not flicker constantly, if I do nothing, there will be a flicker of the task bar every 10 seconds or so.

Some things that cause more frequent flickering are:
Scrolling a web page,
Moving the mouse pointer from one window to another (I don't have to select another Window, just hover over it.)
Having Catalyst control center open and the active Window.


Steps to reproduce:
Install Catalyst 13.12.
Start Windows 8.1
Go to desktop.

 

Has anyone else seen this?



-------------------------

 


MoBo: ASUS M5A99X EVO (BIOS 1708) | CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T, 3200 Mhz | RAM: Kingston 2 x 8 GB PC3-10700 (667 MHz) | GPU: HIS H777F1G2M Radeon HD 7770 GHz Edition | Displays: Primary, Acer E211H (DVI), Extended LG W2361 (HDMI) | OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 01/20/2014 03:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4272
Joined: 12/27/2008

What hardware do you have?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 01/20/2014 10:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nicholas Green
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/19/2014

Err, yes, good point, sorry:

MoBo: ASUS M5A99X EVO (BIOS 1708)

CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T, 3200 Mhz

RAM: Kingston 2 x 8 GB PC3-10700 (667 MHz)

GPU: HIS H777F1G2M Radeon HD 7770 GHz Edition

Displays: Primary, Acer E211H (DVI), Extended LG W2361 (HDMI)

OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64



-------------------------

 


MoBo: ASUS M5A99X EVO (BIOS 1708) | CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T, 3200 Mhz | RAM: Kingston 2 x 8 GB PC3-10700 (667 MHz) | GPU: HIS H777F1G2M Radeon HD 7770 GHz Edition | Displays: Primary, Acer E211H (DVI), Extended LG W2361 (HDMI) | OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 01/31/2014 10:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
whitewarrior11
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/31/2014

Hello,

I have the exact same problem:

Gigabyte X58A-UD3R

Intel i7-920

Powercolor Radeon 7870

16 gb RAM

DELL U2312H display

Windows 8 x64

 

Anyone has an idea of the source of this problem? Driver? OS?

 

Thanks!

 01/31/2014 11:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4272
Joined: 12/27/2008

My guess is it's a problem with clocks or voltages, especially that we're talking about multimonitor configs. I'd start playing around with these (using Afterburner or anything) and if the theory is right, it's a BIOS problem and the manufacturers should be contacted for an update.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 02/04/2014 09:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nicholas Green
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/19/2014

Found the solution to the problem on another forum http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=382496

Turns out that scaling was enabled on my secondary (HDMI)monitor. Set that to 0% (My Digitall Flat Pnaels -> Scaling Options) and the flickering went away on my primary monitor.

I am not sure how having the scaling on my secondary monitor set to 8% Underscan causes the taskbar on my primary monitor to flicker, but it did. (Another benfit is that the text on my second monitor is finally crisp and clear.)

 



-------------------------

 


MoBo: ASUS M5A99X EVO (BIOS 1708) | CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T, 3200 Mhz | RAM: Kingston 2 x 8 GB PC3-10700 (667 MHz) | GPU: HIS H777F1G2M Radeon HD 7770 GHz Edition | Displays: Primary, Acer E211H (DVI), Extended LG W2361 (HDMI) | OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64



Edited: 02/04/2014 at 10:29 PM by Nicholas Green
Statistics
80972 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.