Topic Title: Catalyst 14.1 single 290x
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/02/2014 10:45 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/02/2014 10:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kane
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 02/02/2014

this is really weird not sure how to put this

after the first install of the new drivers 14.1 it works AMAZING i gain literally 50 fps in BF4.... then if i turn off my PC and come back and try to play the game ether works at half the FPS i use to get or not at all and just crashes

but if i reinstall the drivers it will work fine.... till the next time i turn off my PC

and yes i did a clean install every time and used driver display uninstaller in safe mode

ill ether have to roll back to the old drivers or just not turn my pc off till the next update lol

 02/02/2014 11:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12865
Joined: 04/17/2008

Or just not use them until they go WHQL. Surely with a 290x you have no issues getting 60fps.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/02/2014 11:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Sounds like registry corruption, misbehaving UAC, misbehaving security software etc. as settings don't seem to stick. Or are you in sysprep mode? Placebo maybe?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/02/2014 03:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kane
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 02/02/2014

Placebo haha... i highly doubt it i have my fps on screen and when working i max out at 200 and when its not it drops to 40 then crashes after 30 seconds...

 

i turned off all my security software installed the drivers as admin done registry checks nothing works

little update if i go into BF4 and turn off mantle then restart and turn it back on it works fine agian



Edited: 02/02/2014 at 04:55 PM by kane
 02/02/2014 11:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pretelethal
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 02/02/2014

Oh my god dude I have been having the same exact problem...I have a R9 290x and when my computer restarts the drivers go haywire I cant play any games unless I complete fresh install and when I do it works fine until I restart my computer... Every game freezes on me. And I tried that mantle turn off and turn back on but that didnt work on BF4 for me. 

If you find a soulution please tell me haha This sucks for real. 

 02/03/2014 07:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kane
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 02/02/2014

Originally posted by: Pretelethal Oh my god dude I have been having the same exact problem...I have a R9 290x and when my computer restarts the drivers go haywire I cant play any games unless I complete fresh install and when I do it works fine until I restart my computer... Every game freezes on me. And I tried that mantle turn off and turn back on but that didnt work on BF4 for me. 

 

If you find a soulution please tell me haha This sucks for real. 

 

 

sorry man no soulution and my one thing i thought worked turning off mantle only seemed to work once i tryed it a couple more times and it started to happen agian

 

i just hope they fix this with the next update because i had to go back to 13.12 and now i dont even feel like playing BF4 anymore because i know what im missing out on

 

im in the perfect situation for mantle to give me the most benefit, i have an older CPU i7 920 and a highend 290x and the gains were mind blowing... my lows were around 70 with DX and with mantle i never went under 120 fps... and with 144hz monitor you really can notice it hehe

 02/04/2014 12:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gren77
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/03/2014

Just reported this issue:

 

BF4/3 would perform at half FPS on cold boot.

Restarting will bring back the performance.

Reverted to 13.12 and issue disappeared.

Reverted to 14.1 and issue was back.

I am sticking to 14.1 (about 5-10 FPS better than 13.12 @ mantle) and I'll just restart the damn pc when I'm going to play.

Silly driver.

 02/04/2014 01:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Anyone checked clock speeds? Maybe your cards are not going up to full 3D speed/voltages properly.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/04/2014 02:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kondorasGR
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/20/2013

i have 7870 and mantle makes bf4 smooth very smooth but there some random huge cpu spikes,3 or 4 per game, can anyone tell us if there will be a new driver release this month?

 02/04/2014 06:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gren77
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/03/2014

Clock speed and memory speed at max. 

 

Haven't checked voltage. 

 

I reverted to 13.12 and the problem is not going away even after reboot. Will repeat procedures again to see if it resolves itself. 

 02/04/2014 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kane
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 02/02/2014

i use msi afterburner and load my settings and also have cpuid and nothing changes in clock or memory speed the card is the same

intrsting about the cold reboot and then a second restart to get it working agian i might have to try that, maybe thats why i worked the one time when i turned off mantle because thats what i did powered down loaded the game turned off mantle then did another restart hmmmmm

update: thank you gren77 i think that workaround did the trick

if i do a cold power down and power up the drivers are broken but if i do a restart right after a cold power up they work agian!



Edited: 02/04/2014 at 11:23 AM by kane
 02/04/2014 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gren77
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/03/2014

You're welcome kane

 

Oh lord, had a shtty time reverting to 13.12.  Switching back and forth between driver versions gave me the same half speed problem, even AFTER rebooting.

It was so bad that it went slower by half as much again (50>25>10), and this was BEFORE VSYNC was turned in in-game (BF4).

Turned out that my clockspeed was throttled down to half My bad, the only time I did not think of checking my clockspeed it turned out to be the culprit.

Now all's well and I'm back to 13.12.  I'm messing around with OC settings and it's yielding pretty much the same amount of speed boost (10% oc = 10% frame up).  Not bad, all things considered.  Might not resort to this for fear of long term issues.  Will go to 14.1/Mantle when it's less... buggy.

God help me, NVIDIA was this bad but this card is soooo fast

 02/04/2014 02:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kane
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 02/02/2014

Originally posted by: gren77 You're welcome kane

 

 

 

Oh lord, had a shtty time reverting to 13.12.  Switching back and forth between driver versions gave me the same half speed problem, even AFTER rebooting.

 

It was so bad that it went slower by half as much again (50>25>10), and this was BEFORE VSYNC was turned in in-game (BF4).

 

Turned out that my clockspeed was throttled down to half My bad, the only time I did not think of checking my clockspeed it turned out to be the culprit.

 

Now all's well and I'm back to 13.12.  I'm messing around with OC settings and it's yielding pretty much the same amount of speed boost (10% oc = 10% frame up).  Not bad, all things considered.  Might not resort to this for fear of long term issues.  Will go to 14.1/Mantle when it's less... buggy.

 

God help me, NVIDIA was this bad but this card is soooo fast

 

my issue is i have a old i7 920 and mantle is the reason i bought a 290x, i wanted to play BF4 but didnt feel like building a whole new PC to do it 

im truly getting amazing results now that im no longer being bottlenecked by my CPUi really did get a 40% boost in FPS so its worth the extra trouble to get these drivers to work

 

 

 02/04/2014 02:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gren77
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/03/2014

Oh, that was what I was using before I upgraded to a 4670k.  40% is amazing indeed; I only managed 10% better compared to dx11 but this includes minimum FPS, so the difference is noticable.  

Hopefully the hiccups will be sorted out and we'll see less stuttering.

 

my issue is i have a old i7 920 and mantle is the reason i bought a 290x, i wanted to play BF4 but didnt feel like building a whole new PC to do it 

 

im truly getting amazing results now that im no longer being bottlenecked by my CPUi really did get a 40% boost in FPS so its worth the extra trouble to get these drivers to work

 

 

 

 

 

 02/04/2014 07:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bgames1
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/04/2014

I also have the exact same problem. Its driving me CRAZY. A single r9 290x. I installed the 14.1 driver, first time it works great. Then I shut down and when I start back up all of my games will freeze immediately to 10 seconds after I load.

 02/04/2014 09:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gren77
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/03/2014

Something similar happened when I booted up this morning: Bios > Windows Loading > Desktop > Black screen.

I started in Safe Mode and disabled Overclocking utility. Everything was fine afterwards.

You might want to set your card's overclocking utility to set clocks at default, since this problem has to do with clock speeds on occasion.  Not sure if this really is the case but it might help.

 

Originally posted by: bgames1 I also have the exact same problem. Its driving me CRAZY. A single r9 290x. I installed the 14.1 driver, first time it works great. Then I shut down and when I start back up all of my games will freeze immediately to 10 seconds after I load.

 

 02/05/2014 10:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kane
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 02/02/2014

Originally posted by: gren77 Something similar happened when I booted up this morning: Bios > Windows Loading > Desktop > Black screen.

 

I started in Safe Mode and disabled Overclocking utility. Everything was fine afterwards.

 

You might want to set your card's overclocking utility to set clocks at default, since this problem has to do with clock speeds on occasion.  Not sure if this really is the case but it might help.

 

 

 

Originally posted by: bgames1 I also have the exact same problem. Its driving me CRAZY. A single r9 290x. I installed the 14.1 driver, first time it works great. Then I shut down and when I start back up all of my games will freeze immediately to 10 seconds after I load.

 

 

 

 

 

that also happen to me i OC my 290x little to high went to 1130/1500 and id get to the desktop and just blackscreen, so i went in safe mode turned off afterburner then i was fine now im back to 1100/11450 and no issues

ps. thanks again for that workaround day 2 using mantle and no problems hehe



Edited: 02/05/2014 at 11:14 AM by kane
 02/08/2014 03:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gren77
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/03/2014

I'm running stable on with 13.12 drivers and I'm loving BF4 again  Things are so much easier with consistent frames!  Overclocking to 1150/1500 also yields massive frame rate improvements and it's quite addictive

Can't wait for Mantle-ready drivers to be stable once again; I'm not too comfy running my card 10-20C hotter when overclocked.

 02/15/2014 02:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kane
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 02/02/2014

well it seems like the BF4 update fixed alot of the problems for everyone but mine is still alive and kicking so i think we can assume its still a driver issue

 

but.... it did kinda change, before it would drop to 40-50fps and then just crash now its actually up to 100 fps on test range and no crash. then i do a restart and i can get over 220 fps if i take off the fps cap, so it seems to now only limit my performance by 50% where before it was totally unplayable

 02/15/2014 11:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WarGasimXD
Peon

Posts: 21
Joined: 07/20/2013

Dam they still ahvent came out with a update for you guys on there *****driver?? hahahhahahhahahah My 290 was sold and loving my new 780ti , ***** on amd

Statistics
87405 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.