Topic Title: HD 7770 VGA SCREEN WAVES
Topic Summary: Only if vsync is off - weird
Created On: 02/06/2014 05:10 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/06/2014 05:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
atiuser123
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/26/2012

Sry for bad english, i hope this is understandable.

 

My old 6750 died and i got new 7770 as a replacement.

At first everything seemed to be working fine, until i started to play some games. I noticed that there are screen waves all over monitor, not very noticable on bright areas only in dark areas. (like an old movie)

I did some research, and i think there is something wrong in the catalyst software for vga displays.

When i turn vsync on, problem goes away. So my guess is that ingame fps has something to do with it.

For exapmple in Far Cry 3, i have vsync enabled, and the problem only occurs at loading screen, after entering the menu problem is fixed  (my guess is that vsync gets enabled later).

And very insteresting detail:  higher fps ingame = more waves on screen.

This is a issue for me becouse i play some games (cod2, cs go) where i need higher fps, and these waves are very annoying.

 

Rest of pc:

Amd Fx 6300

4GB RAM

Asrock 970 Extreme 3  (latest bios installed)

Win 7 Sp1 32 bit ( latest updates installed)

 

I like amd graphics cards, and all other amd products and i hope if issues persist that it will get fixed.

Any suggestions are welcome, except for changing vga to dvi (i have cheap monitor atm)

 



Edited: 02/06/2014 at 05:20 AM by atiuser123
 02/06/2014 06:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Are you sure you're not seeing screen tearing? Vsync was invented to circumvent that, so turning it off means you'll see it. Hoever, I'd vote for screen tearing over input lag anytime.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/06/2014 07:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
atiuser123
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/26/2012

Might be screen tearing, but looks like some frames are black and causing waves?

Usualy tearing looks like someone used a scissors on game, not this wave like. Maybe HD7XXX series changed that in some way?

 

 

 02/06/2014 07:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

You propbably should post a video about it, it's hard to imagine it.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/06/2014 08:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
atiuser123
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/26/2012

Cant record gameplay since it is not visible on screenshots, dont have a decent quality camera either (and probably would get even worse after uploading on yt)

You can imagine it like some parts of the image are brighter/darker forming a "line". That "line" is horizontal, about 2cm in size and moving from top to bottom.

EDIT: Found a nice picture, almost the same

http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/img/clockphase-wrong-1.gif



Edited: 02/06/2014 at 09:19 AM by atiuser123
 02/06/2014 12:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Now I see. That's analogue interference and can easily be solved by buying a decent VGA cable instead of the crap that comes with most monitors.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/07/2014 11:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
atiuser123
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/26/2012

You are right, sometning was interefring with signal.

Whatever it was, it stopped now. lol

Statistics
88952 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.