Topic Title: Why do i need to reinstall Catalyst 14.1 every day to keep high fps
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/06/2014 12:47 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/06/2014 12:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Epstein1122
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/06/2014

I am running windows 8.1 and a Gigabyte R9 290 OC. 

My problem is that sometimes my fps get really low. This happens in all applications, so it is not directly connected with Mantle. I'm hoping this is a beta-problem, but i'm concerned because I cant find anyone who has the same problem as me.

I play mostly Bf4 and Mantle is giving me a great performance increase. I hardly get below 65 fps. I typically gets 85-105 fps on most maps. I can play like this all evening and i can even restart my computer or turn it off for a short periode and it's fine.

When the computer has been shut off for a long periode (at night) the trouble starts... I now get 30-55 fps.

Only solution I have is to reinstall the 14.1 package and everything is good again. So if anyone know what is wrong with my setup I would be very happy!!

 

-and yes I have tried a lot of fixes I have seen on the web, reinstalled windows, turned off Superfetch/prefetch, updated Bios on gpu, used Rammap to empty standby lists and my card is not running hot or throttling.

Gpu is running at 1040 Mhz even if the frames are low.

 

Hope someone has a solution for me?

 

Win 8.1

I7 4770K (Stock speed)

Gigabyte GV-R929OC-4GD-GA

Corsair Vengeance 1600 (8-8-8-24-1)

Aoc Q2963Pm (2560:1080p)

 

 

 02/06/2014 02:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stresskiller
Peon

Posts: 25
Joined: 01/30/2014

if reinstalling 14.1 solves the problem, how do you reinstall it exactly ?

 

and when you say : When the computer has been shut off for a long periode

do you mean sleep mode or power down ?



-------------------------

 02/06/2014 02:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Epstein1122
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/06/2014

Originally posted by: stresskiller if reinstalling 14.1 solves the problem, how do you reinstall it exactly ?

 

 

 

and when you say : When the computer has been shut off for a long periode

 

do you mean sleep mode or power down ?

 

 02/06/2014 02:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Epstein1122
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/06/2014

It seems like the problem is when I powerdown. Not restarting...

So maybe it is something windows do with the configuration of the drivers??

I'm quite new to win8. 

 02/06/2014 03:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Epstein1122
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/06/2014

 

I use remove program in windows control panel as described on AMD's beta install site.

I have disabled fast-boot from the power menu..

 02/06/2014 08:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lmlim
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/14/2008

when sitting on desktop, doing nothing, Is your GPU registering high clock rate, high temp, and 0% GPU usage? (i'm using MSI afterburner for those)

if yes, it may be your catalysts infected by bitcoin miner trojan. i also got this... read my post on "bitcoin miner trojan infecting catalysts" for temporary solution...

 

 02/06/2014 09:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Problem is, the computer has no idea if it was shut down for a short or long period of time. The only difference it makes is temperature, hardware has more time to cool down.

However, if it was hardware and heat, a driver reinstall should have no effect on it.

So what you experience is either placebo, or "luck", chance whatever. Statistical anomaly. I'm not talking about the low fps situation, but the effect of the time period the system was shut down.

You should investigate a bit more I guess. Check how the clock speed and voltages move while the issue happens to you. MAybe the card is downclocking for a strange and unknown reason, and reinstalling the driver on the fly lets it go back to 3d speed again.

 

lmlim:

Catalyst has a digital signature on it. It cannot be infected as it would break that signature. That's why it was invented in the first place. You get the malware from somewhere else. As said in your thread, stop downloading porn...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/07/2014 03:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Epstein1122
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/06/2014

Thx, for your answers.

Imlim; I read your post, but I have a reinstalled windows and there is no sign of the card doing any work when its not supposed to.

I have made about 20 logfiles with gpu-z running in the background and I am quite certain its has nothing to do with temps. Card is running at max 85 degrees celsius. Powerlimit is set to +35% and the core speed is almost steady at 1040, as it shoud be. - fans run at around 85% max.

So with "fresh" drivers everything is fine when i do a restart of the computer. It's when I "turn it off" with the windows shutdown function this happens..

I discovered finally yesterday night, a tread at the overclockers forum about the same issue. So I'm not alone anymore

I think I will rest my case untill the official version of Catalyst 14.x is out...

Hopefully that is the solution as Catalyst 13.12 is working fine..

 

 02/07/2014 08:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
maximes778
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/07/2014

i have the same problem do you have a link to the forum thread? i have a reference xfx r9 290x

 02/07/2014 09:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Epstein1122
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/06/2014

Search for AMD mantle Discussion on overclock.net (-half speed)

It's several users who mention the issue....

There is apparently no answer for our problem.. I was just calmed about the fact that I'm not the only one with this problem... I hope its fixed in the official release. I have sent message to AMD Issue Reporting. Maybe you should do the same, so they look into it.. :-)

Statistics
85488 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.