Topic Title: 14.1 Sleep Mode Issue
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/06/2014 10:28 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/06/2014 10:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
steveo581
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/06/2014

Every time I wake up my pc from sleep mode I get a display error and the driver has been recovered. I don't notice any issues when surfing/gaming but this just started happening. Any ideas what to do?

 02/06/2014 10:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4865
Joined: 12/27/2008

Control panel -> power options -> your power profile -> change advanced settings -> PCIe whatever settings are there... Try changing them.

Also open device manager, find your video card, double click it, go to the power management tab (if you have any) and untick the box that lets it being shut off during sleep. You probably won't have a power management tab here, as it's controlled by the above mentioned control panel setting instead.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/06/2014 10:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
steveo581
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/06/2014

No power management tab under device manager. From control panel the power options for PCIe are Link State Power Management: Maximum power savings. Not sure this is the fix since I have never changed it and this just occured after 14.1

 02/06/2014 11:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7215
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: steveo581 No power management tab under device manager. From control panel the power options for PCIe are Link State Power Management: Maximum power savings. Not sure this is the fix since I have never changed it and this just occured after 14.1



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 02/12/2014 12:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GUNNER1
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/12/2014

Originally posted by: steveo581 Every time I wake up my pc from sleep mode I get a display error and the driver has been recovered. I don't notice any issues when surfing/gaming but this just started happening. Any ideas what to do?

 

I have the exact same issue as you. With a fresh install of windows 8.1 64bit. I have tried and checked everything. All the other old Catalyst drivers work perfect. I have 5 computers in my house and the only one that acts up is Mine with dual displays.

 02/13/2014 11:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

Huh!...?  People are still using sleep mode on gaming computers?



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 02/13/2014 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GUNNER1
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/12/2014

I dont play games. I also do not want tourn my monitors off and on every time I want to use my pc. My bad I should have said "turn off the display" causes the problem with driver crash.

 02/15/2014 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4865
Joined: 12/27/2008

If you don't play games, having the latest drivers is not needed. (Most of the time it's not needed even if you do play.) So just go ahead, install what works for you and use the issue reporting form to inform the driver team about the version specific bug.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
84844 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.