Topic Title: Why is the crapware raptr installed without permission?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/15/2014 10:53 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/15/2014 10:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M2D
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/15/2014

When I use the update utility why is the crapware raptr installed without my permission? This is the useless piece of garbageware I have ever seen, please at least make it optional instead of me having to manually uninstall it.

 02/15/2014 11:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12542
Joined: 04/17/2008

It is an optional installation, a simple untick of the box next to Raptr is all it takes during installation to prevent it.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/15/2014 11:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Always start with self criticism. Making redundant threads about the same thing is also useless and crapware.

To give you a proper answer as well: Never use express mode. That's how you get the ask toolbar and stuff like that. I wonder how you avoid those.

 



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/15/2014 11:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M2D
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/15/2014

You are both wrong... I'm talking about just clicking on amddriverdownloader.exe it automatically searches for new drivers... problem is, it also automatically installs raptr which it never used to.

 02/15/2014 11:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Also never use automatic downloaders. You'll also get ask toolbar, mobogenie etc. Just one example: java.

No express mode, no automatic stuff. It's your computer. If you want full control over it (you complaining probably means you do), then control it, don't let auto/express stuff do whatever they want to.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/16/2014 12:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M2D
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/15/2014

It doesn't automatically install anything (until now with raptr) it just checks for an update and then you choose from there... sorry I asked... sheesh.

 02/21/2014 12:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kubinder
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/21/2014

Originally posted by: M2D It doesn't automatically install anything (until now with raptr) it just checks for an update and then you choose from there... sorry I asked... sheesh.

 

I came here because I was wondering the exact same thing.

I don't know what those posters above you problem is.

There was no option on whether to install this raptr garbage or not.

I simply went to "automatically detect and install" the way it used to be in the past and the next thing I saw was a crapware window for this raptr trash.

 03/10/2014 07:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cougie
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/10/2014

The Auto detect (amddriverdownload_installer.exe) definitely automatically installs Raptr without permission and with no option to prevent it. And it has never auto installed anything in the past.

I just ran the auto detect. A box comes up saying that I have the latest driver. The only option is to close it. Then BAM, a few seconds later an AMD gaming thing pops up.

It doesn't even tell your it's called Raptr so you had to work that out. A total fail in every respect.



-------------------------
 03/10/2014 07:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7253
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Cougie The Auto detect (amddriverdownload_installer.exe) definitely automatically installs Raptr without permission and with no option to prevent it. And it has never auto installed anything in the past.

I just ran the auto detect. A box comes up saying that I have the latest driver. The only option is to close it. Then BAM, a few seconds later an AMD gaming thing pops up.

It doesn't even tell your it's called Raptr so you had to work that out. A total fail in every respect.

Use something like Revo to uninstall "Raptr"..it's a piece of caca and the people who use "automatically install" are the dummy's. Use 'custom install' and choose not to have it.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/11/2014 05:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Cougie The Auto detect (amddriverdownload_installer.exe) definitely automatically installs Raptr without permission and with no option to prevent it.

If you don't know your computer well enough and have to resort to the autodetect utility, you probably also don't know how to turn UAC off, so you have it on. UAC should catch it unless you blindly click yes, so it installs not only with your permission but you also give it full access to yor computer willingly.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
85711 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 9 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.