Topic Title: AMD Cataylst detects wrong graphics card
Topic Summary: CCC detectswrong GFX card
Created On: 02/24/2014 07:41 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/24/2014 07:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zh.harry
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/24/2014

I have a HP Pvilion 500-189 with Amd Radeon HD 8570 GFX carf and A10-6800K 4Core Processor (With Radeon HD 8670D), running Windows 8.1.

When i try to install the latest CCC (13.12) it tells me i have the Radeon R7 200 Series which is wrong. Then after I uninstalled CC and re-installed the oriniginal drivers from HP my graphics performance got lowered.

How can i get the latest drivers from AMD.com for my grpahics card? Is it safe to get drivers from AMD.com or do i have to get them from HP support website, because HP only gives CCC 13.09 drivers.

Does the beta version work? Will it bring my performance up again and tell me i have the right GFX cards?

Much thanks in advanced.



-------------------------

- Harry


 


 

 02/24/2014 08:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

The card name is only a text string in the driver inf file. It doesn't affect performance or any functionality. You can even edit that file and rename your card to whatever you want to.

Though using manufacturer drivers for laptops is strongly encouraged, use what gives better results for you. And not talking about the displayed card name here, that doesn't mean anything.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/24/2014 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zh.harry
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/24/2014

Where is the driver inf file located?

I'm just curious to know so I can change it because it bothers me to see the wrong things. If you need the information I'm running Windows 8.1 Core (not proffesional) x64bit, and i installed CCC 13.12 in "C:\AMD\Support\13-12_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql".

 

Thanks,



-------------------------

- Harry


 


 

 02/27/2014 08:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slimmy427
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 10/26/2012

It would be nice to know how to change it. Considering that this miss label also affects other programs that use it. Exp. Radeon Pro.

Also, this benign glitch crashs my games using msaa. Is that resourses being allocated incorrectly? Considering the structure of my card 7950 is much different then any available R9 200 series, which is what my card is reported as.

 02/27/2014 05:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Have you tried double-clicking it? It's a text file and opens with your default text editor.

Once you have it open, you can locate your card (CTRL+F --> your hardware ID) and you can edit the name as you want. Then save the file.

Note that you'll get a signature warning on install as saving the file makes it unsigned. Don'T worry, it's not a malware, it's just you edited it a few minutes before. So proceed and after install you have the new name. Consider giving your card a nice name, like blablabla or anything...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/27/2014 05:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zh.harry
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/24/2014

But where is the file located on the system?

And, my problem is sort of solved because after two system restarts, CCC no longer shows the wrong graphics card.



-------------------------

- Harry


 


 

 02/27/2014 07:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

It's not on the system. It's in the driver package. You'll find it once you extracted it where you extracted it. E.g. C:\AMD\blablabla... But you can also extract it with 7-zip without running it if you really want to.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/27/2014 07:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ceraf
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/09/2014

AMD likely rebadged a bunch of their Radeon HD 8000 series cards (which were OEM only) and decided to sell them to the public under the new naming convention (R# 2##).

Statistics
85751 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.