Topic Title: My Windows won't start properly after I install AMD Drivers
Topic Summary: help!
Created On: 02/26/2014 07:35 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/26/2014 07:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bulbasaur91
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/26/2014

Hello!
I did a quick format to upgrade from 32bit to 64bit. I installed my modercard drivers, internet etc. When I got to my graphic card I got stuck. Whenever I install my AMD drivers and restart the computer, I get into Windows but no icons are shown, neither are start menu. Basically I can't do a thing.
I've tried to do it all over again 3 times and I've even tried older drivers.
I've got an AMD Radeon HD 7XXX (something, not sure... probably 7950 or something).
I could really use some help...
Thank you in advance!



-------------------------
AMD Radeon HD 7XXX
 02/26/2014 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

When that happens, hit ctrl+alt+del, open the task manager and check which process or service is stuck. That gives a clue what's wrong.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/26/2014 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bulbasaur91
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/26/2014

Thank you for the reply but I've already tried ctr+alt+del. The screen goes completely black. :<



-------------------------
AMD Radeon HD 7XXX
 02/27/2014 05:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Do you have HDD activity?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/28/2014 02:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bulbasaur91
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/26/2014

Not sure what you mean? What's HDD ?



-------------------------
AMD Radeon HD 7XXX
 02/28/2014 11:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

HDD = hard disk drive. You know, the little box that stores your data when you turn the computer off... There is a LED on most PCs that shows HDD activity. If the HDD is reading or writing data, the LED turns on and/or flashes.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/28/2014 12:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 339
Joined: 11/27/2012

Do you have more than one monitor hooked up to your video card?

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

Statistics
88947 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.