Topic Title: 14.2 & 14.1 reporting 7950 as r9 200 series
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/26/2014 08:19 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/26/2014 08:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slimmy427
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/26/2012

When I install the new mantle based drivers, my 7950 boost is being reported as a r9 200 series card softare.

I'm no sure if this issue is well known, I have seen a few other users who have this problem. 

It is causing set backs in RadeonPro...I cant imagine that it would effect to much since the driver itself allocates resorces for the game but, if the driver is treating my card like it has more or less nodes, that could be a problem right?

Also, I am experiencing problems with AC black Flag and msaa. Its causing the game to crash. I'm not sure if this is all msaa usage but, I assume it has to do with the R9 200 series mis-label.

Does anyone have a resolution for this glitch in series reporting? Has AMD recognized the issue or is this some glitch in the uninstall/install process?



Edited: 02/26/2014 at 08:27 AM by slimmy427
 02/26/2014 12:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slimmy427
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/26/2012

Wow....viewed 40 times and not one response. I guess this issue is a bit on the side of acknowledged problems.

 02/26/2014 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Viewed 40 times while there is a very recent thread about the "issue" I answered properly I guess. Look around a bit, currently it's on page #2.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/26/2014 07:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 947
Joined: 09/11/2008

 shows 7950 on my system.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 02/27/2014 08:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slimmy427
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/26/2012

Good for you! Glad to see you could make the effort to be arrogant. 

For sake of any one who uses the search feature to locate help for your particular problem, which most of us know can be difficult with the diluted way most post present and maintain themselves.

Look no further, I have the quickest solution for you. Just look for  user Eydee!!!! His knowladge is so vast that he has mastered to synical and jaded pseudo answer.

Be sure to stoke his ego before you ask for help though....round of applouse for Eydee!!!

** Keep it civil **



Edited: 02/27/2014 at 10:30 AM by AMD Support and Game Moderator
 02/27/2014 11:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Agente Silva
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 02/26/2014

@slimmy

LoL, joined in 2012, 6 posts and all the atitude... I bet you get better results in other foruns right?

Eydee is basically answering according to any forum rules, being that, avoid replicate thread/posts... I guess you don´t even know what´s that all about, since you are here to be served, right?

 



-------------------------
 02/27/2014 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slimmy427
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/26/2012

I see, so thats what he does around here.....its certainly not trying to help his fellow AMD brothers. Also, where does it state in the forum "guide lines" that you must act like a pretentios know it all?

When 14.1 released I would have never known that there was a mislabel of my card if not for radeon Pro having an issue with it, telling me that my version of Pro was not compatable with the R9 200 series. Battlefield 4 worked great with Mantle...seen huge improvements. Unfortunetly, my other games suffered with random crashes and msaa issues.

Did some searching and only found a few comments burried in hundreds of posts that made mention of the issues I had. The only response was 1. try to reinstall clean 2. It doesn't matter, the 7900 is basically the same card.

Well the 280 isn't released and my 7950 does not share the same architecture...having a mislabel could cause issues. The only solution I have is to roll back to 13.12 driver and wait...Then 14.2 came out with the same issue. 

Proceed to search for new posts with the new beta driver and found nothing. Dissapointed that I couldn't use mantle without ruining my other games, I desided to ask for help.

Seeing as I visited the other thread that he so easly recalled and it appeared his concern with help was trumped by the OP's second request for help. Sorry but, it appears Eydee is more concerned with a delusional sense of knowledge. With the lack of response to  that thread, I selfishly hoped that a new one with a different label would draw more attention...

Sadly it didn't...I got the same "I like to hear myself talk response" truely offering no help at all.

I certainly didn't mean to distract everyone from following forum "LAW" with my request for help. I shall join the rest of the people who found only closed answers and stand offish help here in this forum. I'll walk away now with my tail between my legs and let the incredible few here have at each other.

Off to have real human interactions where Empathy and courtesy are needed to keep your teeth in your mouth

 02/27/2014 05:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

What really is a sad thing that you don't know how a computer works and are allowed to use one...

Funny thing is you start bitching about search and you did find that thread as you posted in it. So...

 

Originally posted by: Agente Silva Eydee is basically answering according to any forum rules, being that, avoid replicate thread/posts...

To be honest I don'T really care about rules (shhhhh, don't tell the mods...). i care about not writing the same thing 1000 times a day because someone wants me to.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/07/2014 11:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BEBlair
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 03/19/2014

That's messed up to treat people that way that just ask for help. I don't see the logic in acting that way. What is the goal here? To be the king snide comment maker of a forum? If that's all you live for pal you may as well visit old Dr. Kevorkian. Because the quality of life is just not there.

 

But I get the same problem using MSAA X4 in black flag, If I find a solution I will help you, Because apparently it's not looking like many others want too.



-------------------------

Intel i5 3470
Mobo: Biostar TZ77A
Ram: 8GB G.Skill Ripjaw 1600
GPU: HIS R9 270 iPower IceQ X² Boost Clock 2GB
PSU: Corsair CX600

 06/07/2014 08:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 947
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: BEBlair That's messed up to treat people that way that just ask for help. I don't see the logic in acting that way. What is the goal here? To be the king snide comment maker of a forum? If that's all you live for pal you may as well visit old Dr. Kevorkian. Because the quality of life is just not there.

 

 

 

But I get the same problem using MSAA X4 in black flag, If I find a solution I will help you, Because apparently it's not looking like many others want too.

 

I think you are 4 months too late! but I'm sure you knew that.

Kevorkian's dead! 3 years ago actually. but i'm sure you knew that as well.

TY come again!

 



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/09/2014 09:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alostx
Peon

Posts: 43
Joined: 06/02/2014

Test the Drivers 13.5 Beta 2 (The Best) Any say 13.9 others 13.12 and others 13.11 beta 4... And Never the Catalyst 14.1 in forward .... 14.2...14.3...14.4... and 14.6... Never) Drop Fps and problems and only support to the Series R7 and R9.

The best drivers for Catalyst is: 13.5 Beta 2, Good Luck for me work ultra fine.

Look here:

http://www.ngohq.com/?page=Files&go=cat&dwn_cat_id=18 

Statistics
88912 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.