Topic Title: Corruption on Desktop after installing 14.2 Beta 1.3 Driver
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/27/2014 04:43 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/27/2014 04:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DerekZ10
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/27/2014

I built this entire PC about a year and 3 months ago during a winter break.  All tweaking was done in the first month, settings havent been touched since because after school resumed, I need this thing to work reliably.  

Graphics Card
HIS IceQ Boost Clock H795QC3G2M Radeon HD 7950

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
14.2 Beta 1.3 coming from Catalyst 13.12, I think...

Operating System
Win7 Professional 64 bit

Issue Details

Just on the regular desktop.  Happened after installing Catalyst 14.2 beta 1.3 and rebooting.  Upon reboot, I noticed F.lux was messed up, there wasn't a disable button so I uninstalled it and rebooted again.  Now I am getting corruption.  

The corruption seems to flash in sync with the cursor and hang around Windows Aero elements.  It is happening consistently on areas of the screen that are not currently in focus.  For instance, if I click the window, some of the corruption will disappear. And if I move a window over the corruption, it goes away.  

Running CGMiner Amplifies the affect.

Here is an album I made showing the corruption. Screenshots don't capture the corruption.   

http://imgur.com/a/YNmMr

EDIT:  I removed them from this thread because they were way to damn big. 

Here are direct links:

 http://i.imgur.com/x9f84tq.jpg

  http://i.imgur.com/lMSX4FY.jpg?1

 http://i.imgur.com/4KD1EZS.jpg?1 

http://i.imgur.com/gOoOsJt.jpg 

 http://i.imgur.com/LP3E2mF.jpg 

 

Motherboard or System Make & Model
ASRock Z77 Extreme 4

Power Supply

RoseWill Capstone 550W 80 Plus Gold Modular

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used

3 Dell U2412M monitors.  From left to right the connections are: DisplayPort, DisplayPort, DVI.


Applications and Games

I haven't tried a game yet, this is happening in windows.  

CPU Details
Delidded Core i7-3770k @ 4.2Ghz.  Temp doesn't go over 60C.  

Motherboard BIOS Version
I'm half way through this message and not restarting.  But I'm pretty sure it's the latest one.

System Memory Type & Amount
Corsair Dominators 2x8GB 1866mhz 10-10-10-27-1T

Additional Hardware
SoundBlaster Z PCIe 1x

Hauppauge TV tuner

An optical drive I don't think I've even used since buying

RoseWill Card Reader Bay with a lot of different connections.

Crucial m4 256GB

Mushkin Chronos Delux 120GB

Samsung SpinPoint F3 1TB

Samsung SpinPong F3 500GB

2.5Inch Western Digital 5200RPM 320GB Laptop Hard drive

6 Fans.

Here's some more detailed stats

 



Edited: 02/27/2014 at 01:58 PM by DerekZ10
 02/27/2014 05:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Looks like a broken card to me. i suggest you try it in another computer.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/27/2014 05:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DerekZ10
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/27/2014

It worked fine until I installed the drivers. I don't have a computer I can test it in. 

 02/27/2014 06:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

You may try reverting. If it doesn't help, it is broken, no matter how it happened.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/27/2014 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DerekZ10
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/27/2014

I'm going to try that later today. Since this is a beta driver, I thought it important the developer knew. 

 02/27/2014 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: DerekZ10 I'm going to try that later today. Since this is a beta driver, I thought it important the developer knew. 

The developer won't know unless you submit a "Issue Report Form" which is located several places.

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 02/27/2014 12:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DerekZ10
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/27/2014

I did that too. I haven't seen any similar forum posts though, and hopefully it's not my computer but a driver bug. If it is a driver bug, then anybody else googling about this problem may actually discover something useful or at least another person with a similar issue. 

 

If later I find that it is my computer, and still someone else finds this post with similar issues, it will help them diagnose the problem. 

 02/27/2014 01:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DerekZ10
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/27/2014

I fixed it and it is definitely the drivers.  Reason I put off so long to fix it is I figured I'd have to run driver cleaners and all sorts of other things.  Windows Restore did the trick. '

I restored to the point that the driver installer created and now everything is working fine with no glitching.  

Now that everything is working, I've saved a DxDiag.txt diagnostic file. Here's the link to it so yall know what kind of setup and drivers I am using.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/106878694/DxDiag.txt

 



Edited: 02/27/2014 at 02:16 PM by DerekZ10
 03/02/2014 06:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
masterx1234
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 07/21/2013

I had an issue very similiar to yours and i have a 7870ghz edition, i was getting complete screen corruption when attempting to watch netflix and amazon prime videos, goign back to the original 13.12 drivers fixed it.

 03/03/2014 07:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
guy66
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 02/10/2014

I had screen corruption after the 14.2 update on the welcome screen/login for Windows 7. I moved the GPU card from one PCI x16 slot to the other, driver cleaned, reinstalled 14.2 beta. Made sure all connections were sound from power to card in m/b - that was five days ago and no more crashes, no corruption, ran swarm overnight with no issues. Possible left over stuff from 14.1 beta, clean out and now working. Always an issue with Betas but it works!!!

I did think, like you, that the card had failed as  it did look like memory corruption on the card for a while. Clearly not hardware but a driver issue



Edited: 03/03/2014 at 08:04 AM by guy66
 04/03/2014 10:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DerekZ10
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 02/27/2014

Update April 3rd 2014:

I've installed the 14.3 beta yesterday and have not experienced any issues yet.  Seems to be fixed or last install was somehow corrupt.  

I haven't tested the card by playing a game though.  I did have a friend play through Outlast using all 3 monitors about 3 weeks ago (On the old drivers) without a hickup.  So I'm sure it was never a problem with the card.  

I rarely play games.  Got the card for it's ability to run 4 monitors with displayport.  

 04/03/2014 11:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: DerekZ10 I fixed it and it is definitely the drivers.  Reason I put off so long to fix it is I figured I'd have to run driver cleaners and all sorts of other things.  Windows Restore did the trick. '

I restored to the point that the driver installer created and now everything is working fine with no glitching.  

Now that everything is working, I've saved a DxDiag.txt diagnostic file. Here's the link to it so yall know what kind of setup and drivers I am using.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/106878694/DxDiag.txt

 

Just my 2 cents..but sounds like a installer error...or 'somehow the "last install was corrupt".



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/08/2014 10:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brianthesnail
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 10/20/2009

i had problems after installing 14.2 drivers... my windows aero stopped working so reverting back to 13.12 fixed this... what is it with drivers these days ... ati drivers are becoming problamatic and are freinds in the green corner have had problems for the last 12 months ... sooner or later there wont be any reliable driver updates ( and i never thought i would say that about AMD drivers )

           that said driver updates are not required ... much like bios updates if your pc ( or laptop ) is running ok then you dont need to update your drivers ... however some games ( such as wolfenstein new order ) require the latest drivers to actually work ( and many other new games will also )

            i wont start ranting as hopefully this is just a glitch in one driver ... lets hope it is !

Statistics
85377 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.