Topic Title: Simple question
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/27/2014 01:43 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/27/2014 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
qz2026
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/27/2014

I use AMD Catalyst software.  I can set the brightness within the Control Center.  When I reboot, the brightness went back to it's old state.  I put the Control Center in my start up (CCC.exe) and now when I boot the brightness level is where I want it.  The problem is that the Control Center Application comes up every time I boot even though I have unchecked the box "Show this page at Startup".  Is there another program I should be running at startup or a way to keep the splash screen from appearing?

 

I don't know if this forum notifies me via email for responses or not.  If there is an option, you can email me because I won't probably visit this support forum very often.  Thanks.

 03/07/2014 08:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
masterx1234
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 07/21/2013

just click on start, then search for "msconfig.exe" and go to the startup tab and uncheck it from the startup

 03/07/2014 09:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
qz2026
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/27/2014

If I remove it from msconfig, then it won't run and, thus, my brightness won't be set the way I like it. It seems that in order to set my brightness I have to execute ccc.exe.  When I do this, the brightness automatically changes and I don't have to set any new parameters.  I thought originally that Windows would automatically use Catalyst but they don't.  I just put Catalyst in the system tray.  Will see if that helps.

 03/07/2014 09:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

The usual case when the user skipped the "read before posting" thread so we dont even know what device we're dealing with...

Case #1: laptop --> use manufacturer drivers which are customized for your machine, including proper brightness handling

Case #2: desktop --> use brightness settings on the monitor/tv

 

Simple.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
85329 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.