Topic Title: [SOLVED] Catalyst Control Center crashes at startup
Topic Summary: CCC Problem
Created On: 03/01/2014 07:43 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/01/2014 07:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MCMXC
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/01/2014

Hi, since drivers 14.1 (And 14.2 has this problem too), every time I boot windows (8.1 x64 with Radeon HD 7950) I get the popup "Catalyst Control Center has stopping work" and if I try to restart it later, it says:"Catalyst Control Center: Command Line Interface has stopping work".

Any ideas on what to do, please? 



Edited: 04/30/2014 at 09:03 AM by MCMXC
 03/01/2014 08:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4865
Joined: 12/27/2008

Error details, please.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 03/18/2014 11:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MCMXC
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/01/2014

It does not give me any more details, Windows just says it

I have installed the new 14.3 beta drivers, and the error is still present

 03/18/2014 12:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDisPC
Peon

Posts: 28
Joined: 02/24/2014

Its probably linked to .net framework.

 

Try uninstalling all framework and install the one from win update.

 03/19/2014 05:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4865
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: MCMXC It does not give me any more details, Windows just says it I have installed the new 14.3 beta drivers, and the error is still present

 

Then let's see a screenshot of the error message. It will be obvious wether is's a .NET type error message or a system message by its looks.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 03/20/2014 04:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MCMXC
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/01/2014

After installing the latest beta drivers, the error message becomes this: CATALYST CONTROL CENTRE: COMMAND LINE INTERFACE HAS STOPPED WORKING

Error

 03/20/2014 04:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4865
Joined: 12/27/2008

There's a System.IO.FileLoadException there (that's the error details I asked for by the way). You either have a corrupted .NET assembly somewhere (CLI.implementation.dll itself or one of its dependencies) or you have a file system/permission error somewhere.

You may want to run Red Gate .NET reflector or NDepend on this file to find out its dependencies.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 03/20/2014 07:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MCMXC
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/01/2014

I'm sorry, I don't know how to use those tools, so I tried with AMDisPC's suggestion to remove and reinstall all the NET frameworks.

 

Unluckily, doing it in Win8.1 is not easy at all... while 3.5 can be removed and reinstalled with not many problems, versions 4 and 4.5.1 are steadly integrated in the system, and even using the well know "dotnetfx cleanup tool" they cannot be removed(Or, the tool says that the remove was successfull, but at the next reboot they are "in place" again), so the problem is still on

 03/25/2014 12:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDisPC
Peon

Posts: 28
Joined: 02/24/2014

Unfortunately this is the direction all the big PC companies with monopol are taking...making it "userfriendly" at the expense of usercontrol. Kinda like what the governments are trying.

 

Microsoft is sneaking closer and closer towards this type of OS with every new version...

 

Blindshot:

Use this to uninstall ALL the ATI display drivers and the try to install the drivers again with a reboot inbetween:

http://www.wagnardmobile.com/DDU/

 

And obivously make sure net framework is fully installed. Either google it and\or try to run the win update or net framwork installer.

 04/30/2014 09:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MCMXC
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/01/2014

A TOTAL uninstall and reinstall of the drivers solved it, thank you!

Statistics
84848 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.