Topic Title: Drivers wont install - autoupdate doesnt work - catalyst wont update
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/21/2014 10:33 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/21/2014 10:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sokotep
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/21/2014

I have black bars surrounding my screen (sides, top & bottom). I have installed AMD catalyst but i have no option to resize my screen.

catalyst wont resize

I know the drivers of my video card are out of date. I downloaded the latest ones here. I run the installation. I am asked to restart the computer. I do. It completes the installation as it restarts. I check the driver info through device manager and it still lists the 9.2.0.0 driver from 9/27/2012


I am thinking that by updating my software AMD catalyst will allow me to resize my screen but I can’t figure how to do it.


I downloaded AMD Driver Autodetect. I get a http 416 error when i try to use it

autoupdate

Here is my machine: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883229367


Graphics Card

- HIS Radeon HD7850

- no overclocking


AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History

- AMD catalyst 2014.0312.1131.18796

- Driver 9.2.0.0


Operating System

-64-bit; Windows 8


Issue Details

- I have black edges all around my viewable window

- My AMD catalyst does not allow to resize my screen. the option to do so is not present

- links to videos or pictures that may demonstrate your issue


Motherboard or System Make & Model

- MSI


Power Supply

- 800W


Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used

- Samsung S22C300HS

- HDMI cable


Applications and Games

- Black bars all around the screen in every game but “the binding of Isaac” (I think it s a flash game)


CPU Details

- AMD FX(&trade-6100 Six-core processor

- No overclocking


Motherboard BIOS Version

- American Megatrends MSI 08/10/2012


System Memory Type & Amount

- 8GB Ram


Additional Hardware

- Toshiba DT01ACA100 ATA


Additional Details

 

N/A


 03/21/2014 10:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13076
Joined: 04/17/2008

Download the drivers directly from here: http://support.amd.com/en-us/download

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/21/2014 11:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sokotep
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/21/2014

I downloaded and sintalled these beta drivers. After the installation, device manager still shows my drivers as 9.2.0.0 dated from 9/27/212.

The other option on that page is to download Catalyst software suite. I did and it still shows the same drivers.

 03/21/2014 11:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

Don't Auto Update. 

Use AMD Clean Up utility to remove current drivers.  Optionally, use Driver Fusion (free) and follow prompts after using AMD Cleanup Utility. 

BEFORE windows tries to install any graphics drivers---install latest 13.12 OR beta drivers.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 03/22/2014 08:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sokotep
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/21/2014

I disabled the windows 8 driver autoinstall.

I used the amd clean up utility.

I installed the beat drivers.

Upon finishing installing these drivers and satrting amd catalyst I get the following message:

amd3

 

 

It is telling I do not have an amd driver installed. I thought I had just installed one

 03/22/2014 12:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

Try again.  You should see 11 tabs on the left side of CCC.

 

 



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 03/22/2014 12:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7852
Joined: 11/13/2009

A warning message will appear stating that the AMD Clean Uninstall Utility will remove ALL AMD driver and application components.???



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 03/22/2014 01:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sokotep
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/21/2014

I tried resintalling the drivers and the same window telling me that "amd's desktop manager is being unloaded because an damd display driver is not currently running" is showing.

 

It's as if I run the driver/catalyst. they install. no error message appears. everything shows me it s successful but when i start amd catatlyst it tells me there s not driver installed (and this even after I had did the amd cleanup to make sure the catalyst was freshly installed).

 

I don;t know what is happening

 03/23/2014 12:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sokotep
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 03/21/2014

I restarted the machine in safe mode.

The bars were gone. I tried to install catalyst then but got an error message "could not load detectiion software"

 

restarting without sfae mode brough back the black bars...

 03/24/2014 12:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

Repeat uninstall procedures.

Get CCleaner from Piriform (free). 

Install.

Click "Registry".  Click "Scan for Issues".  No.  Click "Fix selected Issues".

Reinstall AMD drivers...  ONLY click Install, Next, Install, Express (if you don't want "Game Evolved" software, use "Custom" instead), Create AMD File?  Finish.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.



Edited: 03/24/2014 at 12:13 PM by UcouldBrong
 03/28/2014 04:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chimpo48
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/28/2014

I'm am in the same boat as this guy was. and i did/tried everything up to last post. which was the cleanup. so i did that. i dont get the error anymore. but i still dont have the update. its not taking. plz reply with another possible answer

 03/28/2014 09:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WizarDru
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 03/09/2014

After installing the beta drivers, I got an error message that AMD would not run because no AMD hardware was detected.  Doing a clean uninstall did not fix the problem and worse, I got the error after reverting.

The issue, it turns out, was that AMD apparently did not digitally sign the beta drivers, so I needed to run in Windows 7 test mode.  However, even the clean uninstall utility did not remove the source INF files, so Windows 7 wouldn't install the older drivers, because it thought it already had the latest and greatest.  

The way I fixed it was to go manually into the device manager, select my Radeon HD 5870 and tell it I wanted to manually select a driver for it, browse for one, then specified an older driver I'd downloaded.  Massive pain, frankly.

Statistics
88921 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.