Topic Title: AMD Driver Removal
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/22/2014 08:21 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/22/2014 08:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pbniel
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 05/08/2010

While this has not caused a problem for me yet it really bothers me that the AMD driver uninstall utility and the standard driver uninstall utility that is part of the AMD Catalyst install manager both say they will remove "ALL AMD" drivers including chipset drivers. Since I have an AMD MB this definitely puts you on edge when you want to replace drivers for my GPU. This never said this kind of thing when we were working with ATI. I have used the Catalyst install manager to remove a driver and it really did not remove the chipset driver, but why does AMD do it this way. Can't an uninstall utility target Catalyst software for the GPU only. Why should one have to roll the dice on this one.



-------------------------

Asus M599
AMD 8350
HIS 7850
32 Gig Corsair DDR3
1 480 G Sandisk Extreme
1 Hitachi 1 Ter. HD -
LG Blu Ray Burner-
External card reader-
Avermedia 180 HDTV card-
Coolermaster V8-
Antec 1000watt PS.-
Antec 1200 Case-

Windows 7 X64

 03/22/2014 09:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7177
Joined: 11/13/2009

Yes, you are right...why would they release a tool that only fully works with Intel processors? And will screw up a AMD system?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/22/2014 11:33 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12336
Joined: 04/17/2008

The standard tool does not remove all software unless you click Express Uninstall, which you should not do.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/22/2014 11:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

Have never had ANY problem with it.

You don't need to use it to remove your drivers properly as has been noted many times previously.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 03/22/2014 11:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7177
Joined: 11/13/2009

This is not the point. If you have a AMD processor...then you can not use the new "uninstall tool' offered by AMD. You can not use 'express uninstall' using the computer 'uninstall a program' feature. Both remove things that should not be removed. However, if you have a Intel processor, you can use either one with no issue. That's the point.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/22/2014 07:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AliasOfMyself
Overclocker

Posts: 706
Joined: 02/11/2011

been a long time since i've been around on here, updated my specs in my signature a little since i've had a couple of hardware changes since my last login ^^

 

Regarding the driver uninstaller by AMD.. i find it a little silly that they'd release something without even testing it on a setup featuring an AMD cpu, and since i really do need to do a reinstall of my OS(it's been installed for a year and 3 months) i'm willing to give it a go on my setup in a few days or so, and if it borks my install, AMD will be getting a rather scathing email from me

 

the last years worth of driver updates, i've done custom uninstall with the catalyst install manager, rebooted, then installed the updated drivers, and that said, i only update when there's a feature, fix, or speed increase added

 

Nat



-------------------------

CoolerMaster Storm Scout
MA785GT-UD3H
Phenom II 965BE
Corsair H70 Scythe AP-15 Push/Pull
12GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600mhz
MSI R9 270 Gaming 2GB Twin Frozr
2TB Seagate Barracuda
Corsair 750TX
Windows 7 64bit Ultimate

 03/22/2014 09:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7177
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: AliasOfMyself been a long time since i've been around on here, updated my specs in my signature a little since i've had a couple of hardware changes since my last login ^^

 

Regarding the driver uninstaller by AMD.. i find it a little silly that they'd release something without even testing it on a setup featuring an AMD cpu, and since i really do need to do a reinstall of my OS(it's been installed for a year and 3 months) i'm willing to give it a go on my setup in a few days or so, and if it borks my install, AMD will be getting a rather scathing email from me

 

the last years worth of driver updates, i've done custom uninstall with the catalyst install manager, rebooted, then installed the updated drivers, and that said, i only update when there's a feature, fix, or speed increase added

 

Nat

Even if it does bork it up (which has already been reported) then installing the AMD chipset drivers should put everything right.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/22/2014 11:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

Hmmph!  What "issues" are you referring to?  The driver package I'm installing replaces all driver components that have been uninstalled with the AMD Removal Tool !  System has never performed better!



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 03/23/2014 12:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7177
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: UcouldBrong Hmmph!  What "issues" are you referring to?  The driver package I'm installing replaces all driver components that have been uninstalled with the AMD Removal Tool !  System has never performed better!

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=443&threadid=172453&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/23/2014 12:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 326
Joined: 11/27/2012

If you boot off an AMD RAID array and run the un-install utility, you run a good chance of never getting back into windows.  I did it as a test the other day, and I am sure I could have worked out how to get back eventually, but it was taking far too long so I just installed an image from a few weeks earlier.

 

Use this tool very carefully

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 03/23/2014 12:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

Potentially.

Just because ANY software has the potential to wreak havoc on someone's system doesn't mean it has no benefit for the rest of us.

RAID is of little benefit these days for gaming and more useful for enterprise applications.  You can RAID SSDs;  but, games don't really require FTL performance...so far.  With the advent of SSDs, PCIe SSDs and Samsung's RAPID as (one) example, RAID is becoming obsolete at least in the gaming application.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 03/23/2014 12:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 326
Joined: 11/27/2012

Well that is sort of true...  unless you RAID two Samsung 840 Pro's like I do...  It's stupid fast.

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 03/23/2014 12:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

Well, true as I alluded in my edited post above, but the 840 PRO (RAPID) I'm using is getting 1209/1083 seq Read/Write rate already (or faster).  Unless you are benchmarking...what benefit do you see??

Note that you will only be able to RAPID one of your 840 PROs!

BTW, did you update your firmware?



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 03/23/2014 01:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 326
Joined: 11/27/2012

I get slightly better 4k reads and more than double the 4k writes (the key Windows metrics)...  and overall the system is snappier. 

As far as RAPID goes...  can't run it under RAID (along with may other features of the Samsung), but that has always been a factor when using RAID, and the loss is not something I ever missed or worry about.

And yes...  before RAID'ing the drives I ran them under AHCI and did the full updates (I have Win 7 AHCI installed on a 10 year old 120 SATA I with  over 40,000 hours on it that I slap into the docking station just for this... I can't believe it still runs...  gotta love WD)

*side note...  my 4 500GB Caviar Blacks are also approaching 40k hours (I used to have all 4 in RAID0, but decided it is time to just use them for long term storage of Movies and TV and use my two Muskin Chronos 60GB in RAID0 for working on encoding and ReMuxing

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 03/23/2014 02:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

Thanks for your reply, but that was my point...you can exceed those results with RAPID using just ONE of your 840 PROs.

Dear readers,

Highly recommend the AMD Uninstall Utility OR Driver Fusion OR using BOTH.

When installing latest drivers, check "Custom" and SEE what you will be installing with the driver package.

Remember, when in doubt about your computer build and its components...read the FM!



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 03/23/2014 06:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 326
Joined: 11/27/2012

Hmmm...  I'll keep that in mind when I upgrade next.  But done is done, I wanted the bigger size (went from two Mushkin Chronos 60 GB to these bad boys) and there is no returning the two to get one 256 GB at this stage.

Pretty impressive technology.  I wonder how it works outside of windows?  I like using Acronis to restore images of my system and go from one RAID array to the other...  nothing like rolling back your 20+ GB OS in under two minutes 

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

Statistics
84726 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.