Topic Title: radeon driver keeps blowing up
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/10/2014 12:29 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/10/2014 12:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tunage
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 03/29/2014

I have 2 coin mining rigs with 4 cards each, one works perfect, the other does not.

Both are using an ASUS maximux extreme VI mb with PCIe settings of gen2 for all 4 ports and onboard video disabled. Each has it's own 1500 watts p/s with identical memory and identical chip. 

The sapphire r9 280x rig run win8 and I can max the card out with max intensity and they run for days without a flaw.

The radeon r9 290 are a complete nightmare. I have tried Linux, Win8 and now win7. Without even getting close to maxing them out, the driver explodes to a level that I have to shut down all my pcie slots (board level, thank goodness for onboard pcie dip switches) and bring them back online 'one at a time', and then I can finally boot and then windows wants to break a few times. I have had to reinstall the driver a few times just to get to a desktop. We are talking no less than 20 steps to get back to a desktop with all four cards running.
Brand new OS (everytime), fully updated with the latest drivers.

why are these r9 290s so nasty and how can I stablize them for coin hashing? 



Edited: 04/10/2014 at 12:36 PM by tunage
 04/10/2014 12:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tunage
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 03/29/2014

fyi, same behavior with all OSs

 

the setting I hash with on the sapphires are :
cgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://anc.cryptotroll.com:3338 -u tun -p 1 -I 13 --thread-concurrency 8192 -w 512

^^ which scream with the cards at about 85 celcius

 

Settings user to run the r9 290

cgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://anc.cryptotroll.com:3338 -u tun -p 1 -I 13

^^ If I can't run it at least -I 13, it's a trash product. The cards have additional cooling and run at about 76 celcius. So heat is not my issue. I have an air conditioner directly on the cards to ensure heat is not the issue.



Edited: 04/10/2014 at 12:54 PM by tunage
 04/10/2014 02:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tunage
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 03/29/2014

same issue with just one card.

 04/10/2014 03:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tunage
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 03/29/2014

Actually, it breaks at half intensity. The driver dies with minimal load on just one card.

 

Only error I get  http://i.imgur.com/Y31NVkn.png 



Edited: 04/10/2014 at 03:30 PM by tunage
 04/10/2014 03:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tunage
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 03/29/2014

Here is a little bit better error showing the driver choking to death   http://i.imgur.com/yJCRiXG.png or  http://i.imgur.com/nQNNLU5.png

 04/10/2014 08:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tunage
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 03/29/2014

Actually, it is much worse than I thought. with one card only, zero intensity modification (basically pathetic hashing), after about 10 min the machine will lock up and reboot. Fortunately with only one card I don't have to reset the board everytime, but it is still a pathetic waste of time and money, the card that is.

 04/11/2014 12:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

...heat...



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/11/2014 03:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tunage
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 03/29/2014

Originally posted by: UcouldBrong ...heat...

 

It is definately not heat. I have the card/cards suspended in the air via PCIe 16x extention to 16x, under an air conditioner, with additional fans and the cards never get above 72 degrees celcius. I have actually found reference to critical not until 94 degrees celcius.

I am a full 20 degrees below anything critical.

 04/11/2014 11:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

Apparently you enjoy having a dissertation with...yourself...please let us know when you find a solution.

Have never seen a driver "explode"...learn something new everyday!



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/13/2014 06:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tunage
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 03/29/2014

Explode means it completely breaks and takes many things down with it.

We, it's boiling down to complete trash engineering in the drivers. I switched out the board, the memory and the ps, still blowing up.

It will run for a while and then one card will get sick, then the driver will break (knocking out a few other items like network) if I don't kill it in a hurry.

These cards never get above 76 celcius, I am very watchful.

My 4 sapphires that are clustered together because I have been busy on this one machine, run at 92 to 96 celcius and run 100% error free, with tweaked out settings.

Intern level engineering.

Where do I file a bug report?  This is DEFINATELY a bug.

 04/13/2014 07:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Some people collect bugs, mostly butterflies. You can file a bug report to one of them...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 04/13/2014 08:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1469
Joined: 07/13/2009

So file a bug report with AMD. 

You're not going to find a lot of sympathy from users here, because it's people like you (those wasting real money to create fake money) that are driving the price of AMD cards above what they should be.

 04/13/2014 09:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

Mark my words...the only things that are going to "explode" in that computer build are the motherboard or the other components in the case.

Read tfm!

ADDRESS THOSE HEAT ISSUES.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/14/2014 02:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

Was referring to your cpu temps.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/14/2014 02:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

Perhaps your local "Computer Repair" professional may solve all your problems in configuring your computer properly.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/14/2014 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tunage
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 03/29/2014

@UcouldBrong  standard running temp is 95 celcius. No WAY 76 is too hot  

http://techreport.com/review/25509/amd-radeon-r9-290x-graphics-card-reviewed/4

http://superuser.com/questions/374274/whats-the-maximum-safe-temperature-for-a-hd-radeon-6870

http://www.legitreviews.com/amd-radeon-r9-290-4gb-video-card-review_127216/11

 

And here are sapphires running normally ->  http://i.imgur.com/l2Z9HN0.png

 

Heat is DEFINATELY not the issue with these other pieces of junk. Where do you report bugs? Engineering needs to fix their trash.



Edited: 04/15/2014 at 06:43 PM by AMD Support and Game Moderator
 04/14/2014 06:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tunage
Peon

Posts: 27
Joined: 03/29/2014

there isn't even a load on the cpu. what the heck are you talking about n00b?

all the processing is done on the graphics cards and NIC. 

 04/14/2014 06:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Master Looter

Posts: 366
Joined: 10/14/2011

Name calling? Tsk Tsk.

 



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 133/Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Pro


GA-P67A-UD7-B3 /i7- 2600k , CM V6GT
8 gig G-Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 /Asus GTX680 DC2T2GD5
Corsair AX 760i /Logitech Z-5500
Win 7 x64 Ultimate(SP1), Antec DF-85 case.

 04/14/2014 09:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

Recommending computer repair professional take over configuring the build in question as the original poster has been unable to resolve his issue.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 04/14/2014 10:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: UcouldBrong Recommending computer repair professional take over configuring the build in question as the original poster has been unable to resolve his issue.

 

No wonder, the OP is the issue here...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
87668 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.