Topic Title: Catalyst control center will not launch, can't play minecraft either
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/11/2014 01:16 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/11/2014 01:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rhody
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/11/2014

I have an HD6800 on Win 7 64 bit.  My son went to play minecraft and was presented with this error

http://i.imgur.com/RHu5eD8.jpg

 

I then noticed that my Catalyst Control Center does not show up in my system tray and will not open if launched from the start menu.  I've tried uninstalling my drivers and reinstalling several times, tried versions from 13.9 down to 12.4.  I have used driver sweeper as well as the AMD clean uninstall utility but I still have the problem.

If I look in my services area I don't even see a service for CCC listed.  If I go into the C:\Windows\assembly folder I don't have any keys that start with 90

 

Any ideas?

 

 04/11/2014 02:57 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Practikill
Grinding Levels

Posts: 133
Joined: 08/07/2009

Did you get all the .Net updates from Microsoft?

It is required for CCC to function. I may be mistaken, but I think it needs to be in place before installing the drivers.



-------------------------

Asus P5Q-SE+ / Core2 Duo E7400 2.8GHZ / 4GB DDR2 / HD6870 1GB / Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Ultra 650watt PSU / Windows 7 X64

 04/11/2014 03:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rhody
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/11/2014

I have .net 4.5 in place.

I tried removing then reinstalling it but still no dice.

 04/11/2014 04:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rhody
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/11/2014

minecraft uses OpenGL so I started looking at what version i have.  It says I'm running opengl 1.1???  Isn't it up to like 4.4 now?

 

I have the newest graphics driver for my HD6800, how do I get a newer version of OpenGL

 04/11/2014 04:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

All the symptoms you mention say the same thing: You don't have Catalyst installed at all.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 04/11/2014 05:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rhody
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/11/2014

But it shows up in the start menu and it shows up in the right click menu on my desktop.  When I uninstall the drivers those options go away then come back once it's reinstalled.

I don't get it, I've tried so many different driver versions

 04/12/2014 09:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

I'd put a temp windows somewhere to check out if the system is f....ed up. Probably it is.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
86407 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.