Topic Title: [BSOD] 14.4 whql Driver (R9 270X)
Topic Summary: everything fine with 13.12 tho
Created On: 04/19/2014 04:48 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/03/2014 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Emopunk
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 04/21/2014

Originally posted by: streetwolf Have you tried running with a new profile to see if you still get a BSOD?

 

I also read somewhere that disabling Hardware Acceleration in the Flash settings cured some peoples BSODs.

 

 

 

Running without HW acceleration in flash was of no help. I didn' try the new profile option? How do I do that?

 

P.S: Did you have a look at my about:support page I uploaded?



-------------------------
We need to concentrate on more than meets the eye
 05/03/2014 03:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
streetwolf
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/17/2013

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_new_Firefox_profile_on_Windows

 05/03/2014 04:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Emopunk
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 04/21/2014

Originally posted by: streetwolf http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_new_Firefox_profile_on_Windows

 

Thank you for the link. Just tried but still BSOD with the usual procedure.



-------------------------
We need to concentrate on more than meets the eye
 05/19/2014 05:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eye-opener
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/25/2009

pretty sad that this is not fixed yet.

 05/20/2014 05:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FragilViper
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/19/2014

Originally posted by: SGAN

...

PC crash before starting Windows, so, i can't see any error message. If I disable CrossfireX before installing the new drivers, anyway, Windows doesn't start after installing the Catalys 14.4 rc v1.0 neither

Using Catalyst 13.2 it works perfectly, without or with CrossfireX enabled.

It looks like my problem - just do not install AHCI driver

 

 05/28/2014 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Emopunk
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 04/21/2014

I just wanted to share that the BSOD problem with Firefox, the one I've been describing earlier in this post, seems to be solved with beta 14.6.



-------------------------
We need to concentrate on more than meets the eye
 06/09/2014 09:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alostx
Peon

Posts: 43
Joined: 06/02/2014

Test the Drivers 13.5 Beta 2 (The Best) Any say 13.9 others 13.12 and others 13.11 beta 4... And Never the Catalyst 14.1 in forward .... 14.2...14.3...14.4... and 14.6... Never) Drop Fps and problems and only support to the Series R7 and R9.

The best drivers for Catalyst is: 13.5 Beta 2, Good Luck for me work ultra fine.

Look here:

http://www.ngohq.com/?page=Files&go=cat&dwn_cat_id=18 

 06/10/2014 01:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

And Never the Catalyst 14.1 in forward .... 14.2...14.3...14.4... and 14.6... Never) Drop Fps and problems and only support to the Series R7 and R9.

 

 

 

I am compelled to strongly agree with this statement, but it's always like that anyway.

I mean, you buy a new gpu, have good support for 1.5 - 2 years, then 2-3 generations ahead of you, you start scratching your head.

It's normal. It's the cycle of cyber life.

Most of all, its called Marketing.

 

I do miss the monthly crossfire application files though, because an HD5000 or HD6000 user could catch up to today's performance (more or less). Maybe a compatibility issue between different gpu architectures ?

 

Thanks for the feedback.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12



Edited: 06/10/2014 at 07:21 PM by backFireX64
 06/23/2014 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ruipalmeira
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/23/2014

Same BSOD while consuming flash content, namely videos. I don't use Firefox, it happens in Chrome for me, so I'm willing to be my money that the problem relies on some flash player file/codec, wtv. Gonna revert to 13.12 cause I've never had issues with the thing before... I've also noticed that my card is running hotter in 14.4...

Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 - fully updated;
AMD Catalyst 14.4 for XFX HD7870 Black Edition;



-------------------------

pc: i5 4570, 8GB 1600mhz DDR3, XFX HD7870 Black Edition.

 06/23/2014 05:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Emopunk
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 04/21/2014

Originally posted by: ruipalmeira Same BSOD while consuming flash content, namely videos. I don't use Firefox, it happens in Chrome for me, so I'm willing to be my money that the problem relies on some flash player file/codec, wtv. Gonna revert to 13.12 cause I've never had issues with the thing before... I've also noticed that my card is running hotter in 14.4... Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 - fully updated; AMD Catalyst 14.4 for XFX HD7870 Black Edition;

 

Strange enough, I had the feeling my card was getting hotter too with since 14.4. It would be wise to do a more precise test to state this thing, though.



-------------------------
We need to concentrate on more than meets the eye
 06/23/2014 05:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ruipalmeira
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/23/2014

 

Strange enough, I had the feeling my card was getting hotter too with since 14.4. It would be wise to do a more precise test to state this thing, though.

 



It is strange, yes. I won't entirely blame the 14.4 drivers, but one year ago, when i assembled this rig, IN SUMMER PEAK, i was running at max 50ºc/60ºc playing BF3 on Ultra @max resolution with the 13.12 drivers ... Last week was really hot and dry where i live, 30~38ºc all day, 25-27ºc at night, and i noticed, while playing dota2 (not the most demanding game at all) that i was having really hot air blown to me (guessing the card was running at 70/80ºc, since with 50/60 you can't really notice that much "hotness")... I've changed my desktop arrangement so i don't get hot air blown to me anymore, but also, 5 minutes ago, i had a BSOD as i stated above, and promptly uninstalled 14.4 and installed 13.12 right away. I'm going to check my temps real close with the older drivers and post here if it stays the same. MSI afterburner or is there better software for that?

Oh and btw, I try to take care of my system and i try to clean it every 2 months or something like that. just to rule out dust cloging my card's fans and stuff.. 



-------------------------

pc: i5 4570, 8GB 1600mhz DDR3, XFX HD7870 Black Edition.

 06/24/2014 09:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Oh and btw, I try to take care of my system and i try to clean it every 2 months or something like that. just to rule out dust cloging my card's fans and stuff..

 

Yes, that's the way to go.

 

Are you using a custom fan profile for cooling the gpu ? Try afterburner or ccc.

Is your case airflow good enough ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/28/2014 09:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Capt_Jeans
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/28/2014

Hi everyone!

I have the same problem here with my R9 280 fresh out the box. I was having random BSODs every couple of days. Trying EmoPunk's HTML fish tank and youtube was an instant BSOD.

So i've been trying out beta 14.6, this solves the issues with firefox and the BSODs but.. i'm now getting this (see link) once every week or so when playing games/watching HD movies:

http://s3.postimg.org/aoels2wkj/20140628_204546.jpg

 

I'm going to try 13.2 now



-------------------------

Core i7 920 @3.8Ghz, 6GB Corsair Dominator, P6X58D Premium, Radeon R9 280, Windows 7, Fully water cooled.

 06/28/2014 11:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Capt_Jeans Hi everyone!

 

I have the same problem here with my R9 280 fresh out the box. I was having random BSODs every couple of days. Trying EmoPunk's HTML fish tank and youtube was an instant BSOD.

 

So i've been trying out beta 14.6, this solves the issues with firefox and the BSODs but.. i'm now getting this (see link) once every week or so when playing games/watching HD movies:

 

http://s3.postimg.org/aoels2wkj/20140628_204546.jpg

 

 

 

I'm going to try 13.2 now

 

 

I recently saw that exact pattern on my screen after i overdid it with my gpu overclock settings .......but not completely ruled drivers out either cause i didn't check the crash log.

Do you have any oc ? And if so, is it stable ?

Are your temps good ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/29/2014 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ruipalmeira
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/23/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64
Oh and btw, I try to take care of my system and i try to clean it every 2 months or something like that. just to rule out dust cloging my card's fans and stuff..

Are you using a custom fan profile for cooling the gpu ? Try afterburner or ccc.

Is your case airflow good enough ?

I'm using afterburner, mostly to check temps and what not, I'm leaving the fan control to the card (it's in auto).

As to the airflow, I mean I've setup a decent cabling management (my psu is modular) and I currently use a corsair carbide 200r with my hardware, I'll probably scavenge some of my old rig's fans, and check if I can increase air intake, at least on the portion affecting the GPU. 

I bought the card, in part, due to it's double dissipation cooler, I thought I'd be safe with it it's running stock everything, forgot to add.



-------------------------

pc: i5 4570, 8GB 1600mhz DDR3, XFX HD7870 Black Edition.

 06/29/2014 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

ruipalmeira:

 

Try to raise the power limit and target temperature (do you have that option ?) in CCC. And make a custom fan profile that maintains temp to max 75-78° C on intense/ demanding games.

That way, you make sure no gpu power or heat issue throttles, ctd or bsod your system.

 

Then, make sure you properly clean install the drivers (read the sticky) you want to use.

 

There are usually three possibilities:

1. either you have driver installation problems

2. specific drivers can create specific issues or conflicts

3. or you have a hardware problem



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/29/2014 07:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Capt_Jeans
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/28/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64
Originally posted by:

I recently saw that exact pattern on my screen after i overdid it with my gpu overclock settings .......but not completely ruled drivers out either cause i didn't check the crash log.

 

Do you have any oc ? And if so, is it stable ?

 

Are your temps good ?

 

 

No overclocks as i wanted to solve the BSODs first. Temps are 40C Idle and 55C under full load. Also have a case side fan blowing directly onto the card.

When running Furmark it brings the card up to 55C in around 10mins, after 30mins there are still no crashes/artifacts. As far as i can tell the crashes are random.



-------------------------

Core i7 920 @3.8Ghz, 6GB Corsair Dominator, P6X58D Premium, Radeon R9 280, Windows 7, Fully water cooled.

 06/29/2014 07:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Capt_Jeans:

 

How do you cool your gpu ?

I am asking because Furmark can be quite stressful and raise temps all the way to 90°C +

Are you sure you are putting some real stress to that card ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 07/01/2014 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Capt_Jeans
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/28/2014

backFireX64:

 

Its all liquid cooled, everytime i upgrade the gpu i buy the EK water block for the card too. Those temps are actually high, My last gpu (HD5870) never got above 45C on full load. I also actively cool the card with a 120mm side fan drawing cool air from outside the case.

When using 14.4 BSODs used to happen around twice daily. Since using 14.6 all BSODs have stopped, i just get the "colour full" screen freeze. The last one was 2 days ago about 3 hours into game play on Dead Island 2. Had a couple on different days when playing MKVs and also when playing 7 days to die and The Witcher 2. Much less often than the BSODs though, just one every couple of days.

One was straight after booting the pc and opening an MKV, So i'm fairly sure this can't be heat related.



-------------------------

Core i7 920 @3.8Ghz, 6GB Corsair Dominator, P6X58D Premium, Radeon R9 280, Windows 7, Fully water cooled.

 07/01/2014 04:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

I've got to get me some waterblocks...............

 

Yea, unless you reinstall the os, you won't be 100% sure, will you ?

I sense gpu/ vram hardware failure, system RAM issues or PSU power distribution issues.

Have you seen your psu rail voltages yet ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

Statistics
84698 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.