Topic Title: [BSOD] 14.4 whql Driver (R9 270X)
Topic Summary: everything fine with 13.12 tho
Created On: 04/19/2014 04:48 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/01/2014 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1038
Joined: 11/14/2010

The thing is, if you clean install properly gpu drivers, especially after a windows installation, and freezes/ bsod/ crashes/ artifacts occur and persist, then it is highly possible there is a hardware issue.

 

Assuming no oc, driver conflicts or latencies affect the stability of your system.

And even then, an outdated BIOS or ssd firmware can add issues on the mix.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, sapphire HD 6990 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.6 RC2 june23

 07/01/2014 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Grinding Levels

Posts: 197
Joined: 06/10/2014

These issues do indeed reek of being hardware problems.

Motherboard BIOS update needed maybe? Just a thought.



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 07/03/2014 02:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimmyjjohn
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/26/2014

Apparently i can now play crysis 3 with a higher oc than state of decay (!?)

 

There's a lesson to myself right there.

 07/03/2014 04:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1038
Joined: 11/14/2010

jimmyjjohn:

It is not cool to copy paste another user's words to post to a topic for advertisement reasons.

That shows how lowlife some people are and it's just sad.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, sapphire HD 6990 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.6 RC2 june23

 07/03/2014 04:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7030
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: backFireX64 jimmyjjohn:

 

It is not cool to copy paste another user's words to post to a topic for advertisement reasons.

 

That shows how lowlife some people are and it's just sad.

 

It's a spammer....and your right about lowlife scum.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/04/2014 11:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eye-opener
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 11/25/2009

funny how you guys cannot read.
amd is doing a bad job with these new drivers.

 07/05/2014 08:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1038
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: eye-opener funny how you guys cannot read. amd is doing a bad job with these new drivers.

 

 

No need to offend other users mate just because you are frustrated.

Eveyone is entitled to his/ her own opinion on this forum.

Funny how you assume that anyone with the card of yours have the same exact issue and it is related only to the specific drivers.

I personally know people that do not report the issues mentioned on this topic.

Are they just lucky ?

If it is indeed a driver issue, then stick with the driver that works for you and report it again and again if needed directly to AMD:

http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D25AD12B5A

I remind you though, that not all users have problems with the same browser.

Or the same drivers.

Or, the same plugin.

What is it then ?

A browser issue ?

A plugin issue ?

A driver issue ?

A user error issue, perhaps ?

 

Try the beta drivers as well.

Thanks.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, sapphire HD 6990 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.6 RC2 june23

 07/12/2014 04:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OdinsPath
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/12/2014

I am also getting blue screens since update to 14.4, exclusively when watching videos.

 

Thank god they keep older revisions available. is 13.12 stable? I updated straight from 13.9 I think.

 

To be honest I think ATI and Nvidia both have their issues, if you keep using either brand long enought you will get issues, just change drivers or whatever you need to do and be happy .

 

Problem signature:

  Problem Event Name: BlueScreen

  OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48

  Locale ID: 1033

 

Additional information about the problem:

  BCCode: 1000007e

  BCP1: FFFFFFFFC0000005

  BCP2: FFFFF880111A1DBB

  BCP3: FFFFF880079E9368

  BCP4: FFFFF880079E8BC0

  OS Version: 6_1_7601

  Service Pack: 1_0

  Product: 256_1



Edited: 07/12/2014 at 04:35 AM by OdinsPath
 07/13/2014 10:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerking
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/13/2014

Getting this on my new R9 270x with the 14.4 drivers. Watching youtube causes a bsod in a few minutes. Updated to the beta drivers and it seems to be stable now (so far)

 07/13/2014 12:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Floppies
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/18/2011

You're not alone.

I reverted to the 13.12 set and no more BSOD on my HD7870 for me.

 07/13/2014 08:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
agent911
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 12/28/2013

Most of BSODs if Firefox using html5 player ,some UI glitches if hardware acceleration turned on. Some nasty crashes if sandbox for flash enabled . All that obviously not a hardware ,motherbord,psu,etc, issues. Funny to read

Crappy Win 8 + glitchy Firefox + hit or miss amd drivers = BSOD

Everything is more stable on Win7,and useless to wait for any improvements for Win 8 , M$ working fast to give us new Win 9 very soon.. and new nightmare has begun lol



-------------------------

Poker Style - Tight Aggressive

 07/13/2014 10:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Slayerking
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/13/2014

Originally posted by: agent911 Most of BSODs if Firefox using html5 player ,some UI glitches if hardware acceleration turned on. Some nasty crashes if sandbox for flash enabled . All that obviously not a hardware ,motherbord,psu,etc, issues. Funny to read

 

Crappy Win 8 + glitchy Firefox + hit or miss amd drivers = BSOD

 

Everything is more stable on Win7,and useless to wait for any improvements for Win 8 , M$ working fast to give us new Win 9 very soon.. and new nightmare has begun lol

 

Yep, I'm using the HTML5 player too in firefox 30 on w7. Thought my card was dodgy, Then realised it only happened when watching youtube. Working fine now so far with the 14.6rc drivers.

 07/17/2014 04:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
igguy
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/17/2014

Hi guys,

I can confirm I had the same problem:

0x7E atikmdag.sys BSOD while using FF ussualy watching youtube.

It always happen with running fishbowl and youtube.

I tried all your suggestions, but none of them worked.

It was happening only in Firefox. In chrome / opera / IE it never BSOD.

Solution:

In Firefox go to:

  • Tools -> Options
  • Advanced Tab (first right) -> General Tab
  • Uncheck "Use hardware acceleration when available"

I hope it helps you guys as well.

Please let me know

 

 07/19/2014 08:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nightkc
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/19/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64
Originally posted by: eye-opener funny how you guys cannot read. amd is doing a bad job with these new drivers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

No need to offend other users mate just because you are frustrated.

 

Eveyone is entitled to his/ her own opinion on this forum.

 

Funny how you assume that anyone with the card of yours have the same exact issue and it is related only to the specific drivers.

 

I personally know people that do not report the issues mentioned on this topic.

 

Are they just lucky ?

 

If it is indeed a driver issue, then stick with the driver that works for you and report it again and again if needed directly to AMD:

 

http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D25AD12B5A

 

I remind you though, that not all users have problems with the same browser.

 

Or the same drivers.

 

Or, the same plugin.

 

What is it then ?

 

A browser issue ?

 

A plugin issue ?

 

A driver issue ?

 

A user error issue, perhaps ?

 

 

 

Try the beta drivers as well.

 

Thanks.

 

 

Well, he is not alone.

I have a HD6970, after updating to 14.4 (also 14.4 beta), I get frequent BSOD while playing games. Now I'm using the old driver as well, no problems.

I agree AMD is doing a bad job with these new drivers.

 

Statistics
84136 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.